We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Anita y Corona del Mar
Ranked #55 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“The view !!”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at Casa Anita for 13 nights in January 2012. We loved it. The view is just to die for, however there are lots of stairs. We were in Anita 18, and from street level to our room there was 132 stairs !! If your not fit, you won't like this place. The room was great, clean and quit large. The bed was confortable. The maids are great, our linen were changed daily. The room is well furnished, however the cookware is poor quality and the non-stick pan had seen better days. The staff is great, the Wednesday BBQ is also fun. The hotel has 2 pools, both are in the shade most of the day so the water is cool. The climb back to the hotel from Zona Romantica can be quit challenging. Lots of stairs and all uphill, plus you have to walk for about 100 feet along the main road, which is pretty "rustic". After 2 days of that, we took a taxi for the remaining of our stay, around 40/50 pesos. But we still had 132 stairs to our room.

Will I go back? No, too many stairs. It doesn't remove anything from the place. The hotel is great and clean. The staff is friendly, the view is amazing. But the stairs are a big draw back.

I scored 3 stars for the location because of the stairs. But the view !!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    179
    45
    24
    16
See reviews for
53
171
45
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Had a really pleasant stay here over Christmas. The suite was roomy, very comfortable and clean and the staff was excellent and helpful. Our balcony view was incredible and we ate all of our meals there, enjoying one of the world's real gems, Banderas Bay. Was particularly impressed in our original booking by how easy it was to contact the owner with questions while booking online. Her reply was quick and friendly. There is no denying that there are stairs to climb here, and we were a bit daunted on the first few times up and down, but returned home feeling a whole lot more fit then when we arrived in Vallarta. Nice little walk to the beach and the old town. I'd stay again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahorse_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Spacious, comfortable well equiped suite with daily maid service. Owners and staff arae friendly and very helpful. The views can't be beat. There is a semi hosted bbq on Wed. evening. Lots of fun visiting others but watch out for the margaritas! There's all those stairs after. Excellent website. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: choose a lower level if stairs are a problem. their web site is excellent and will give you excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljb2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The hotel is set beautifully into the mountain and the rates are cheap. It is actually 2 hotels side by side. The staff are warm and pleasant. It is on the main highway going south out of town so the noise level at night can be bad. Busses using air breaks etc. It's an easy walk down to town, only 4 or 5 blocks but the walk back is all uphill of course and there is about a block where there is no side walk and the traffic is always busy. When you arrive there are about 80 something stairs to the main reception and pool (which is NOT heated and doesn't get sun) which is freezing cold. They provide laudry facilities in the adjoining hotel but it's all the way down to the street level and up another 30 or so stairs. It was 115 stairs to my room and the one day I was sick I thought I would do laundry.... they changing almost killed me.

The suites themselves are quite pretty and there are book exchanges on every floor. The kitchens are complete and the views are lovely. The beds and linens are not nice, and although the look of the rattan kitchen chairs and sofa is nice, their is no padding so it's like sitting on bars.

They also sell beer for those who don't want to walk to town, but you must buy a case at a time so if you are alone, or just want a beer, you must walk to town.

Another odd thing is the tipping. They tell you how much to tip the staff and then they tell you NOT to tip the cabs that get you there. My uncomfortable couch had crumbs all over it. I tip for service. If I get good service I tip very well, if I get bad service I don't tip at all.... cabs included.

If you are allergic to pets, you may want to consider somewhere else as well. They have a large dog and a soon to be large bouncing puppy as well as a lovely parrot or two. I don't mind aniimals but I know some people would mind.

Anyway all in all a 2 star for comfort. The best thing about this place is the view and the complete kitchen. I would not stay here again after trying a dozen or so hotels in Puerto Vallarta with comparable prices, much better location, and great linens, beds etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank equinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel has much charm, great view of the city and Banderas Bay, 10 min walk to the beach and Zona Romantica. We had room 17, with king size bed and there were about 120 steps to reach it. There is no elevator. Good size room and very clean. The main road is right by it but the noise was not a big issue as it would be in hotel in the middle of the city. Has a kitchen, with limited utensils and had a microwave. Great and attentive staff. The only downside was that there were problems with getting adequate hot water and on the last day we had to take a cold shower. There were no "Do not disturb" signs to use on the door. If you order the case of beer be warned that you cannot take it you if you are moving on. We stayed for 4 nights and when we were taking the beer as we were moving to our timeshare we were told we could not take it as the bottles had to be returned. The staff had most of the 24 beers on us. We very definitely would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.9 km away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#41 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
292 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#58 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
170 reviews
4.9 km away
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and Family Suites
Puerto de Luna Pet Friendly and ...
#63 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
209 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#35 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Anita y Corona del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Anita y Corona del Mar

Property: Casa Anita y Corona del Mar
Address: Carretera Barra De Navidad No 601, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Anita y Corona del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Anita and Corona del Mar are located in the Romantic Zone in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco. Our suites are just a 5 minute walk to Playa Los Muertos beach and a 10 minute walk to the center of downtown. Casa Anita and Corona del Mar are also close to grocery stores, restaurants, hospitals, pharmacies, bus routes, and shops.We offer 28 suites that can sleep 2-6 people. All of our suites have a fully equipped kitchen (with refrigerator, stove, microwave, blender, coffee maker, toaster...) T.V. with cable, alarm clock radio, private balcony with a view of the bay and the city (except Corona del Mar #4), purified drinking water, daily maid service, telephone for local and long distance calls, a safe and free WIFI. If your reservation is 7 nights or more, you will also receive our free Welcome food and drink package when you arrive. Hotel amenities include: 2 swimming pools (Corona del Mar #7 also has a private pool), 3 patios with view and a hammock, free parking with night security, and 3 shared BBQ areas, 24 hour reception desk, trilingual management (English, Spanish & French), a tour desk and in house spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Anita y Corona del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Anita y Corona Del Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing