We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
282
184
56
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
184
56
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant downstairs no elevator street noise lovely little hotel centrally located hotel small pool romantic zone excellent location rooms are clean front desk staff superior room would definitely stay here again budget hotel the air conditioning restaurants and shops an older hotel balcony door
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

The staff was friendly and we got a free upgrade when we checked in. The hotel room was perfect for the two of us. It was close to the beach and walking distance from bars and restaraunts . I would recommend it

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Director de Recepción at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear traveler,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, our staff services, location and the hotel facilities.
We hope you will visit us again soon, we will be more than happy to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Ulises Arguelles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Excellent location and a very nice look of the hotel. While cheking in and out, staff was talkative and pleasant. They are ready to help in any way, when needed. I also loved he restaurant, meals delicious and qualitatively on a high level. This is a cozy place to stay, worth trying.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AskB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Director de Recepción at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for gave us the chance to accommodate you. We truly appreciate all your kind words surrounding our staff, services, restaurant and location.
We eagerly await our next opportunity to serve you as you deserve.

Warm regards

Ulises Arguelles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We stayed twice at the Hotel Rio over the past couple of weeks: Once upon arrival and once upon leaving Puerta Vallarta airport. I've stayed at most of the budget hotels in old town Vallarta over the years and Rio was my favorite. The rooms were clean and modernized with a Mexican vibe and nicely sitatued around a courtyard with a restaurant and pool. The location was fabulous- excellent for exploring the Malecon, markets, and beach. The staff were friendly and helpful, and my daughter who was suffering from a bad back at the time benefited from the on-site massage therapist (very professional and knowledgeable and reasonably priced). The real gem was the on-site coexist restaurant which was superb for both breakfast and dinner (albeit a little pricy but I'm use to prices out-side of Vallarta).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Director de Recepción at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear traveler,


We send you our thanks for sharing your review and a few recommendations for future travelers.
It is truly heartwarming to know that your stay was that good and you delighted all the aspects of your experience. Cuisine at Coexist is a very important part of this mission and it thrills us to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even better experience.

Warm regards


Ulises Arguelles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Just stayed at the hotel for 10 days and it was excellent as always. This is my 3rd time at Hotel Rio and it was a great stay. Check In/Out is fast and easy. The front desk staff is always friendly and very helpful. They are great with information and recommendations. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Brenda and Mira kept the room spotless. The Wifi at the hotel is better than some of the bigger resorts I have stayed at. The location could not be better, a short work to just about everything. If you are looking for a nice downtown hotel...Stay here. I will be back in August and look forward to another great stay

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ff1095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Director de Recepción at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful words and for continuing to choosing us for your travels. Extraordinary hospitality is one of our top priorities, and it thrills us to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay. Between location, accommodations, and 24-hour service, we want every one of your visits to be better than the last.
We look forward to seeing you again next Augusts.

The best regards


Ulises Arguelles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

This older hotel is one block off the Malecon and has two flea markets right across the street. The lobby staff were very good. The front lobby and restaurant were lovely and the food was very good. (We only took breakfast there) We booked into this hotel for 3 nights through Anoma booking site before going to another previously booked resort. We got a standard room and although we did not mind it being pretty basic, it was in serious need of updating in the bathroom which had mould in the tile grout and silicon. The hotel was full so we don't know if we were in a room scheduled for upgrade not completed or not. The price was right when we booked so we knew it was not a 5 star location and aside from the state of the washroom it was decent quality for price paid. The diesel delivery trucks start around 4 am down the road in front.

Room Tip: If we visit again - we will ask for a room upgrade from the basic hotel room to a kitchen suiteA and for a room not facing the road.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cydnicdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zvictor, Director de Recepción at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our staff's friendliness, restaurant and the breathtaking location, but we are very disappointed though, to learn that your room did not reflect what you expected. Keep in mind that we offer 3 different type of rooms, only 2 of the 3 categories are renovated rooms. In fact, we always guarantee the type of the room you have booked, upgrades are subject upon availability, we may not were able to upgraded you while your stay, since we been so busy most of the time during this year.

Thank you again for your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Rio Malecon Vallarta.

Warm regards

Ulises Arguelles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews