We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did two tours with Vista”

Vista Tours Day Tours
Ranked #21 of 54 Tours in Mazatlan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 18 November 2017

I had not been in Mazatlan since I was a little kid , lets say a long time ago. The city has changed somewhat . Costa Del Oro was the last resort on the edge of town. Now there are some 7 or 8 more km out. Not being familiar with the city we took the City Tour the first full day there and got familiar with some of the things in town, the Malecon, market, and some of the sights in Old Town. Got a better idea of where we wanted to go back and saw some things and places to make our walks easier to navigate when we did wander. These evil guys introduced us to Panama, an awesome bakery we ended up visiting a few times. Very good. First tour rating good, great introduction but you need to be in town longer to explore some of the areas in more depth with more time.
Now the second tour we took was to Durango. An all day tour and you take the highway from mazatlan to Durango. 61 tunnels, 115 bridges including the longest suspension bridge. Quite a drive. Then the tour of Durango and lunch is pretty good as well. Overall a full day experience but worth it. More time at the market in Durango and at the suspension bridge would be a thought....Great tour.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank WorldTravelsTandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"la noria"
in 10 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 22 reviews
"blue agave"
in 9 reviews
"quail"
in 4 reviews
"el quelite"
in 6 reviews
"a great mexican restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"la victoria"
in 2 reviews
"great driver"
in 3 reviews
"great tour"
in 8 reviews
"time share presentation"
in 3 reviews
"nice city"
in 3 reviews
"great information"
in 2 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 2 reviews
"historical background"
in 2 reviews
"free tour"
in 2 reviews
"bus driver"
in 2 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 3 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2017

We decided to book a tour to get an idea of Mazatlan and its features, and booked through our Nexus tour rep with Vista Tours, and it was a very good decision. We were picked up at the hotel in a unique open bus, with a very lively and well informed guide by the name of "Chili Willi". He guided us through the tour with insight and humor and a wealth of knowledge of Mazatlan surroundings, that showed he not only knew of its information, but was happy and proud to be part of it. The tour included a stop at the Golden Zone, Tequila factory, churches, markets, cliff divers, and local buildings and artifacts that added greatly to the tour. The bus had no windows, and reminded me of a San Francisco trolley car, which was excellent for viewing the sites and sounds as well as the smell of the ocean and other amenities we viewed. There was a stop at a local restaurant and the meal was well worth it, as well as some of the entertainment provided by the establishment, and everyone enjoyed the meal and good times. If you want a taste of Mazatlan with a great tour company, then this should be your choice, and hopefully you will have the opportunity to meet and have the tour with "Chili Willi"

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Snowcruiser54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

The tour of mazatlan was informative and interesting. Martin gave it a special touch by being friendly and really caring about his city.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to Mazatlan. Our tour guide “Chilly Willy” was fantastic. He is knowledgeable and has a great sense of humor. He knows the city, local people and culture very well. The tour was supposed to be about 3 hours which turned into 5 but it was well worth it. He took us shopping to reputable places (still can’t get over how good Tequila at Onikillin distillery is) and gave us just enough free time so we didn’t feel rushed or bored. His culinary suggestions were also spot on. The bacon wrapped shrimp with Kahlua sauce at Roca Del Mar was outstanding (yes we did try it Chilly Willy). The tour gave us a very good sense of directions and we were able to go back to many places on our own. Victor our driver was also very good and managed to get us through some tricky small streets without any problems. If this is your first time to Mazatlan I highly recommend this tour as you will see all of the city’s spotlights. Ask to go with Chilly Willy as a guide. You’ll have a great time!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank jacekmaciej2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We booked this at our resort as an intro to Mazatlan since we had never been here before. We were met promptly in a new vehicle and the only other people were also from our resort. Good start. We hit the Onilikan tequila factory first. It was very nice and there was no pressure to buy here. After that, it was a different story. At every single stop, there was either an additional charge to see the sight or do the activity (see the opera house, have an ice cream), or you were very highly encouraged/guilted to make a donation (at the cathedral and the high divers), or you were outright high pressure sold (at the only stall in the market we were able to stop at and at the jewelry store). As others have said, we were told this was a very reputable jeweler who, of course, doesn't employ any of the shoddy business practices of all the others. But after being pressed into several purchases, my ears cannot wear the silver earrings I bought. The prices were outrageous and I saw nicer stuff on the beach. There was no certificate of authenticity for the silver or the opals. The tour guide then tried to upsell us into buying lunch somewhere. We all wanted to go back to our resort after that and once we made that decision, he turned to the driver and spoke to him only in Spanish for the duration of the 20-minute drive back to the resort. If you think you are going to get out of this tour without being pushed to buy items worth many times the amount of the tour, good luck. If you like that kind of thing or enjoy the challenge of saying "no" to persistent sellers, it might not be too bad. I hate it and this was an unpleasant start to our holiday. Fortunately, this tour was not representative of the tours we took in Mazatlan. Other tours were great. I do not recommend this company.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank MyAnnieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vista Tours Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vista Tours Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing