We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
€227
Agoda.com
€438
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Emily M

Wonderful Family Vacation During the Eclipse!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We spent 7 nights at PB Emerald Bay and it was delightful! The grounds are beautiful, the staff is top-notch, and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the resort. We were there for the eclipse and were given eclipse glasses at check-in and the staff was all abuzz with excitement. Dining was mostly very good and our experience at the spa was incredible--very relaxing. Our only suggestions involve the rooms--they could really use an upgrade. The beds are very hard and the pillows lumpy and small. It was also a challenge to fit a family of four into two double beds. The room was large, so it would have been easy to fit two queen beds in there, rather than the smaller doubles. The screen door to the balcony was broken and kept coming off the track. There was a leaky AC unit in our room that, to the staff's credit, was fixed immediately. Finally, it took about 10 minutes for the hot water to get going in the morning, so the first shower or two were chilly. But all of those issues could be fixed with a minor remodel. Overall, we loved our visit to PB Emerald Bay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for a relaxing vacation. It was super convenient to have the free shuttle to the PB Mazatlan right downtown and the free admission to the new Aquarium was a nice bonus!

A couple of notes:

1. The beach at PB Emerald Bay is one of the most unique I've ever been to. The bay seems to accumulate a lot of dead sea life. If that bothers you, might be best to not look too closely at what you're walking past. Our family found it fascinating and went down daily to see what had washed up overnight. There was a dead dolphin one day (crazy!), a ton of puffer/porcupine fish, sting rays, a needle fish, bits and pieces of spiny lobsters, crabs, fish, etc. There are a bunch of tide pools near the cliffs on the far side that are fun to explore, and that area is comprised mostly of colorful shells.

2. The timeshare pitch when you check in at the lobby is pretty aggressive, which was frustrating. We wound up avoiding the lobby for the entirety of our stay as a result of some unwanted high-pressure tactics.

All in all, I highly recommend Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay for a wonderful, relaxing stay.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Choice Hotels
€73
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    €67
  • Booking.com
    €83
3.4 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
€148
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
    €139
  • ZenHotels.com
    €117
  • Hotels.com
    €148
8.1 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
€190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €155
  • Official Hotel
    €143
  • Priceline
6.8 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
€107
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    €83
  • StayForLong
    €81
  • Hotels.com
    €91
8.7 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    €436
  • ZenHotels.com
    €232
  • Hotels.com
    €240
5.3 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free parking
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    €173
  • StayForLong
    €112
  • Expedia.com
    €173
6.8 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Beachfront
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    €81
  • ZenHotels.com
    €78
  • Expedia.com
    €95
7.6 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    €101
  • Vio.com
    €79
  • Hotels.com
    €89
6.3 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    €49
  • Skyscanner.com
    €49
  • Trip.com
    €58
5.9 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    €113
  • StayForLong
    €80
  • Expedia.com
    €113
6.4 km from Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mazatlan
Reviews (7,006)
Filter reviews
7,006 results
Traveller rating
5,251
1,009
410
182
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,251
1,009
410
182
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kelly's bar emerald bay pueblo bonito bistro restaurant la cordeliere master suite main pool adult pool jose ramon time share grounds are beautiful sister hotel free shuttle pb mazatlan golf cart shuttle service timeshare presentation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 7,006 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile



Last week my husband and I had a one-night stay at this beautiful resort to experience the total eclipse of the sun.  When we arrived at the hotel after a six-hour drive from Puerto Vallarta, due to issues with the reservation company, our pre-confirmed check-in did not appear in the hotel's reservation system. Given that it was eclipse weekend our accommodation-type (a Villa) was completely sold-out and the hotel was pretty much at maximum capacity.  It took over an hour to resolve this issue, but hotel management did everything they could to accommodate us and eventually we were checked into a Master Suite.  We very much appreciated their efforts and especially that of Jonatan at the check-in desk.  We got to experience the eclipse the following day on the hotel's private beach followed by amazing lunch at their Bistro restaurant, compliments of hotel management.  Dulce, the restaurant hostess was so warm and welcoming.  We only spent one night at the Pueblo Bonitos Emerald Bay Resort & Spa but look forward to returning for a longer stay!

Room tip: Book directly with the hotel!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank O7573FCjeffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pueblo Bonito, Director General at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jeff,

We are pleased to know that you had such a pleasant stay with us here at Pueblo Bonito. It's great to know how much you enjoyed the services. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the community; it really means a lot when someone realizes how dedicated we are to the satisfaction of our guests. Thank you again for your wonderful comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Armando García
General Manager
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024

After many years at Sunset Beach, we traveled to Mazatlan this year. The grounds are lush but no flowers in March unlike Sunset Beach. Beautiful easy to walk beach. Three pools but we only used the one at the far end of the resort which was less crowded & quieter than the main pool. Pool food was very good & staff very friendly. No problem getting chairs. We initially had the larger room which had a beautiful view but no balcony. We chose to move to the first floor with less view because of the many levels of concrete steps with no railings to get to main level. Sitting on the first floor patio it was fun to see three deer wander past. The rooms were very clean but definitely need up-dating…appliances (microwave & refrigerator) & furniture in bad shape. No stove top in unit. Breakfast & Catch Of The Day was very good at the Bistro. The International Night at the buffet was the worse food & most expensive of our week. Best meals downtown & less expensive! Fun to visit downtown Mazatlan & visit amazing aquarium . Save your money on AI & go downtown for better meals. Carts available (electric so quiet) if desire. Overall the friendly, competent staff & beautiful grounds made for a very pleasant week. Will wait for up-grading before returning to Emerald Bay. Sister resort closer to downtown recently up-graded & their restaurant looks over the beach.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgram620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pueblo Bonito, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of everyone at Emerald Bay, We want to thank you for your constructive criticism. We always aim to offer an incredible experience to all our guests and We are truly sorry that you felt we were not accommodating to your needs. Your comments are greatly appreciated, and you can rest assure we will redouble our efforts to ensure that every guest enjoy their stay with us.
We are looking forward to having you as our guest again and make every effort to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Customer Satisfaction Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024

The trip here was wonderful , relaxing and the people are so friendly!
My friend Dulce was awesome she helped me with my Spanish and with suggesting activities for me to do. Zuyali the manager was also very helpful at the Bistro Restaurant. Every year I come here and I’ll continue to do so …

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pueblo Bonito, Director General at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Judith,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the travel community. We strive to be the best and to make sure our guests enjoy coming back time and time again, so we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again for many more special moments in the future!

Kind Regards,
Armando García
General Manager
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2024

This resort is beautiful with decent food, lovely facilities, and a nice spa with high quality treatments. We were always able to get a lounge by the pool and our first choice of where to eat. It's quiet with a clientele that skews sixties and up with some families thrown in. We stayed in a villa with a pool which was nice. The villa also had a hot tub that was never quite hot enough - even though we had maintenance over several times to turn up the temperature. Which brings us to the reasons why I'm giving the resort 3 stars. The place is distractingly disorganized and does not deliver what it's trying to deliver.

1) The concierge office is who we were told to contact for everything. A concierge came to our villa the first morning to tell us how they could take care of everything. I can't stress enough how useless this office is. We asked them to help us with a discount we were supposed to get but didn't, arranging a ride into town, help with the app which was broken, and reservations to Casa 46. Except in the case of Casa 46, they just shrugged and told us to go talk to somebody else. And with Casa 46, they told us they made the reservations but didn't. We showed up and we weren't on the list. Happily Casa 46 could get us in anyway, but after several days of trying to use this service and failing I wasn't surprised at all. It is weird how completely disfunctional and useless this office is.

2) There are signs all over the resort telling you to use the app. The app did not work. We went to both the concierge and the front desk for help and both groups shrugged and said ya don't use it, it's broken. I think the resort thinks it's transitioned to using the app for things like accessing information, placing orders, etc. Since it doesn't work, the system itself is kind of broken. You have to use the phone in your room for everything and it wasn't unusual to get transferred 3 or 4 times just to order coffee.

3) We had the platinum package which is supposed to get you discounts and higher tier alcohol. Trying to get those discounts, etc always came as a big shock and was like pulling teeth. I dont blame the staff which were lovely but they aren't given any information about what each plan includes. It's clear that everyone (except the concierge office which couldn't care less) is just trying their best to wing it in an information vacuum.

4) Our plan included transport to the airport. This "transport" is a bus that stops at at least 10 other resorts along the way. If we'd had any idea we would have just taken one of the really great red trucks to the airport. If we hadn't built in an extra hour into our airport schedule, we'd be in danger of missing our flight.

5) The timeshare people. They are really aggressive and when you check in the front desk person sends you to them to "activate your bracelet." This is a lie. The bracelets are already activated.

6) The resort won't give you bottles of liquor or wine. This doesn't seem like a big deal except if you're at your villa hanging out by the pool all day and have to call room service every time you want a drink and that room service can only be accessed by phone after being transferred three times and takes a minimum of 35 minutes each time.

All told, for the same price point there are much better, less frustrating all inclusive options (TRS!). I don't see a reason to stay here again. (I'm still on that bus to the airport--over an hour ten minutes and counting.)

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeetleBailey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2024

We loved the tour and Eduardo, he was very informative and entertaining. We learned a lot about the city, what a cool city. Loved all the colors, markets, flowers and restaurants. The food at Casa 46 was great and the view from the balcony was fantastic. Thank You again

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vacation37803522425
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pueblo Bonito, Director General at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the travel community. We strive to be the best and to make sure our guests enjoy coming back time and time again, so we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again for many more special moments in the future!

Kind Regards,
Armando García
General Manager
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews