We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
13
6
8
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
6
8
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach access star hotel great hotel lobby bar armando bellboy pros cons gym amenities taxi pool ocean
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We stayed at the Local for one week and the end of April. The food was just okay, left over hot dogs in the breakfast buffet and you can only have buffets for ever meals, food was all sub par. It was very busy when we were they as it the busy Easter holiday for the locals. The chairs in the breakfast buffet are quite soiled already and it just opened. Wonderful people working they, Alex at the front desk was so helpful. It seemed to me that they had too many managers walking around and not enough workers., the poor lady cleaning the entranance was so good but by herself all the time, should have been 3 devoted people doing this. Room are new and modern.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mychina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

PROS:
- Agreed with other reviews, the hotel is brand new, they just opened by December 2017. Everything looks clean and nice.
- Friendly staff
- The shower in our bathroom was not working properly. They responded to the problem by moving us to another room (ocean front view)... We got amazing pictures!!
- Nice place to stay with kids. I travelled with 2 children: 11 month old and 3 years old.
- Good drinks from the pool

CONS:
- No direct beach access, they said they haven’t got a permission from government yet for placing a beach access from the pool. If you want to go to the beach, you need to go to lobby, go outside of the hotel, walk through the parking lot and use the temporary stairs. Once you are at the beach, you need to rent your own umbrella because there are no umbrellas/chairs from the hotel in the beach, but they can give you beers, water and coke tough.
- Staff needs more training, sometimes they seem to be a little disorganized.
- No room service
- Food is no bad… but options are limited. As Mexican, I was expecting something better, more Mexican dishes and more flavor.

I only stayed 3 nights, it was OK to me...I enjoyed my stay here. Friendly staff, family oriented hotel....

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yazlechuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Overall this vacation was a disappointment for me.
My sister, mom and I have been planning to go on a trip together for a few years without kids or spouses; we were looking forward to having a fun ‘girl time’!
As far as the hotel goes it is beautiful. It is brand new, so everything is clean and shiny! Only issues with the rooms:
*other than 2 water bottles in bathroom, mini bar wasn’t restocked during entire stay
* in both our rooms the bathroom sinks take a long time to drain
* requested 2 beds in one of the rooms, only had 1 bed. After the third day of being told they’d arrange for another bed we gave up. Not sure why as the hotel was not that busy.
The staff: mostly very attentive and friendly. Shout out to Jesus at the pool...he always had a bright smile and friendly attitude! Also, to Jesus and Brandon in the coffee shop, they were so friendly, polite, and always gave great service with a warm smile! All the restaurant staff were fantastic. They always went out of their way to be attentive, accommodating and friendly!
The food choices are quite limited compared to other resorts. I believe there were 6 ready made dishes at the buffet, not including salad and dessert. The food was quite tasty though.
My biggest issue with this resort was there was zero entertainment...day or night. I called Sunwing prior to going to ask about the entertainment and was assured that they had daily activities as well as nightly shows. There was nothing. The only music anywhere was either Kenny G or some variation of that type of music. I discussed with Sunwing while still there and they said the hotel advised them the ‘disco’ was available for entertainment. There is no disco here; the only place to get a drink after the restaurant closed was a small lounge in the lobby with four tables and a few barstools. There is a nightclub down the road if that’s what you’re looking for, but we were more interested in the evening shows and fun activities that most other resorts have in the evenings. There is literally nothing to do here after you’ve had dinner.
Also, the A la carte restaurant was not open, but on day 5 we were offered to be taken to a restaurant outside the hotel. We were taken to the Agatha kitchen. The food was delicious and the service fantastic...but still no entertainment. The hotel car was supposed to pick us up from the restaurant by 8:00. Around 9, after a few phone calls we walked up to the main road and got a taxi back.
There is currently no beach access. If you’re sitting by the pool and want to go to the beach, you have to go back into the hotel take the elevator to the lobby, out the front door and around through the parkade to a set of metal stairs. If you want a drink or need to use the washroom, you have to go back into the hotel.
Overall, I feel Sunwing’s advertising was misleading. I would consider this a ‘hotel’, not a ‘resort’. If a hotel is what you are looking for, I would definitely recommend thelocal. If you are looking for a place to socialize and enjoy the activities and entertainment, I would recommend looking somewhere else.
Cheers!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank TeresaLuvsTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We arrived February 27, 2017 for 7 days. The check in was quick and efficient. The staff were very friendly at the front desk. We were assisted by the Bellboy named, Carlos.
He brought our luggage to our room on the 15th floor, and showed us all the amenities in our room. He was very friendly and happy to be working for the new Hotel.
The room was exactly like in the pictures-beautifully decorated with modern colour scheme. The bed linens were so soft! The view of the ocean was stunning. Rooms were very soundproof, as we could not hear the waves. Not all rooms have the view of the Ocean. They are still working on a few problems but the dining rooms have great potential. Very nicely decorated. They need to just work on the temperature of foods being served, because at times the food was cold. Also, more variance in food selection from day to day would be appreciated. We would like to thank the following server staff for their excellent and speedy service. They were all very attentive. Luis for the delicious omelettes, Alfarin Luftin, Jesus Trejo, Jesus Quinonez, Victor, Rafael, Sergio, Rodrigo, Armando and David who attended the lobby bar, and Diego for driving us to the Agatha Restaurant. Special greeting to Miguel,the dining room Captain. He is very nice,friendly and a caring gentleman and would always greet us with a handshake.
There are 4 pools and only the two top pools are heated. However during our stay they had the temperature of the pool too low. After bringing it to the attention of the pool maintenance man, the pools started to gradually warm up. Our pool server, Jesus Guillermo Nieto was amazing. Very friendly and attentive to our requests and spoke good English. Also special greetings to Sylvia Trejo, the pool area attendant. An extremely hard worker, very friendly and a great smile. Said hello to us every morning when we would arrive to the poolside and wave to us then she would see us in the dining areas.
A very special thank you to Alandro Carrillo who attended the Front Desk. It was obvious the he was very efficient and supportive and patient with the staff that worked with him. He was very attentive to our concerns, and went above and beyond to make our visit enjoyable.
The Hotel is situated in what they call the Golden Zone, and in a nice location which makes it easy to venture out and walk to dance clubs or other restaurants if you so choose. All within walking distance. There is an outdoor restaurant club called Gus Gus that has live band music every night. The owner told me they are open 24 hours a day 365 days a year!
We would like to thank the Hotel Management for choosing to higher such wonderful staff. As it is the staff that is a big part of making a Hotel stay a great experience and make you want to return again.
We had the opportunity to meet Joel Gomez who is the Director of Sales and Marketing. He is a very nice man and would always say hello and tell us if we have any needs to just let him know.
It is a great Hotel and we would not hesitate returning.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jlcomtrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

PROS:

Breathtaking views.
Modern rooms/decor.
Excellent customer service.
Extra restaurants outside the hotel (walking distance) Fiero restaurant has delicious food(check my review in this restaurant) make sure you ask about the outside restaurants include in the all inclusive price.-
Infinity pools with ocean view at 3rd floor
3rd floor has 3 restaurants (buffet, snacks, specialities)
Coffee shop-the market at the entrance gives 50%discount. House coffee is free.
Super clean hotel.
Pulmonía (taxi) 60-100pesos (3-5 dlls) to take you to the malecón or colonia downtown.
Manager is always around and open to listen to any suggestions or concerns (love it)

CONS:
Lobby needs to give more information about the hotel and different options for restaurants, bars and schedules. Maybe a paper with information at check in will be great.
Needs some night time entertainment(but has a lot of bars around the hotel and they are pretty cheap). Manager stated they are having a night bar open soon as well as gym and spa.
Needs easy access to beach.
Refrigerator is empty, no room service. There is an Oxxo(kinda like 7 eleven or licor store) across the street.
Summary:
The hotel is very new and still need some small things here and there but this hotel has a lot of potential and it’s beautiful inside and outside. The staff is great always happy with a big smile if you need anything they will bring it to you. Thanks to all of you, great job. Specially Cesar(lobby bar) súper fun and never leave your glass empty. The maid at floor 6 has rooms always spotless. Armando very nice.
I cannot wait to come back and see this hotel finished it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovefun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelocal H, Gerente de Reservaciones at thelocal Hotels Mazatlan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for your comments is very important for us, is a pleasure know that are you satisfied, we wait see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews