We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was awesome after all!!! Definitely go back ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Villas Resort
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Started off rocky but Dave the manager was AWESOME!!! Would go back in a heartbeat, our kids didn't wanna leave we went to deer island straight from the resort,Jose the waiter in the restaurant was so kind .Daniel the entertainer was so good he kept my boy busy . The pool was so warm !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Trudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

8 - 12 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

My husband and I just recently spent a one week all-inclusive stay here at this incredibly amazing boutique hotel! The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our every need. We were also given our choice of three rooms when we first arrived and were able to inspect each one of them first. This was a first for us given that we are quite seasoned world travelers. A little Spanish goes a very long way!

The location of this resort is excellent as you are surrounded by many restaurants as well as some great shopping and sight seeing. It only took us about 20 minutes to walk to the Malecon. The small yet intimate pool with a slide overlooks the soft sandy beach, which is only a few steps away. Loved this! The evening sunsets were indescribably gorgeous!

Wifi was free and reliable and was easily accessed in our room as well as everywhere else on the resort. This made it very easy for me to work as an on-line instructor on my laptop every morning and evening. I never felt the need to use the provided safe, even though it was free. Nothing was ever stolen and we felt quite safe and at home!

We also quite appreciated the suite format and large size of it, in addition to the balcony overlooking the pool and the beach. The daily housekeeping service was excellent and the drinks in our fridge were replenished daily.

The vast majority of our meals were a la carte and were located in the RESTAURANTE HACIENDA DE LA FLOR. They were phenomenal! The few breakfast buffets that we had in CAFETERIA MONTEALBAN were delicious as well. At times this venue was used by cruise ship cooking and dancing lessons. We actually were never tempted to want to eat out anywhere else as we were quite comfortable and feeling even more relaxed. The table service was also excellent.

Weekends do tend to become much noisier with many locals spending the weekends here and lots of weddings taking place. However, we rather enjoyed this aspect of our stay.

Taking the local bus into the Historical Centre was very easy and cheap at a cost of only 10 pesos or 70 cents Canadian. I would not bother with a city tour as you could easily do this on your own for a lot less money. However, the trip to Stone Island is a great idea!

Because of the wonderful time that we had, we plan on returning again in the very near future!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb-terr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

First, the staff is welcoming and always a friendly hello "Hola mi amigo"
Nice pool and easy access to the beach.
Fantastic free wifi, in the rooms, as each room has a wifi device.
Brought a laptop and watched Netflix, and local Canadian Shaw TV with ease.
Left laptop and valuables in the room without any concerns.
Free safe in the room will hold a standard laptop or Ipad if you feel more comfortable having them locked up while away.
What we loved is the ease of access to the hundreds of meal locations and shops. Local bus only cost 10 pesos (70 cents Canadian, 54 cents US)
Dinner at the nearby "Italiano" was very inexpensive compared to Canada. Many more Mexican nationals and their families on the weekends, which we enjoyed seeing.
I had an accident by steping on a stingray in the ocean. Hotel staff were very attentive and wheeled me to a clinic run by Dr Marco Verarde (GP), two blocks away. Cost my Visa Avion medical coverage USD 130 for would cleaning, dressing, tetanus injection, and pain pills in the office and a few more to take home. 24 hrs later I was excellent and new like it never happened.
The lesson, wear water shoes in the ocean.
Very inexpensive beer by the pool during posted happy hours.
Even the misadventure was an adventure.
Loved it.

Room Tip: Few King beds, so if that is important to you, book this in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hwiddows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Have stayed here many years. They maintain the property well. They have done over bathrooms with rainfall shower heads and walk in showers. Very nice. We had a 2 bedroom. Units are very large. We had 3 bathrooms and 3 balconies, one very large. Our views were just stunning.

Pool area can be a bit small if a function s happening at resort, one of the things I dislike, too many functions. No accommodations for timeshare owners during such.

Not a luxurious resort but a nice Mexican feel hotel right on beach. Staff are bvery cordial.
Jose Luis in restaurant on site really tries to please. Sadly our recent experiences with the food and all inclusive have been less than stellar. Food seemed to have gone downhill last two visits. Really too bad as AI is convenient and restaurant is lovely.
Thus we did one week AI and next went out, worked out fine.

The location is great right in Golden Zone, walkable to many shops and restaurants.

So rooms are huge, clean , and comfortable. Service is good.
Food is just so so or not.
Upkeep is good and the staff are great.
Will be back, just not sure on the AI.

Nice family resort.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bezerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We have stayed at this resort for many years and we still love it! They keep remodeling and updating the whole unit. I especially like the new walk-in showers!. I have never been a fan of showers in bathtubs. And the units are huge!

Stayed: January 2017
2  Thank diamate2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
0.2 km away
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
Costa de Oro Beach Hotel
#27 of 83 in Mazatlan
338 reviews
1.1 km away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#9 of 83 in Mazatlan
429 reviews
3.5 km away
Park Royal Mazatlan
Park Royal Mazatlan
#39 of 83 in Mazatlan
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Mazatlan
Holiday Inn Resort Mazatlan
#19 of 83 in Mazatlan
82 reviews
0.2 km away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#15 of 83 in Mazatlan
729 reviews
0.8 km away
Las Flores Beach Resort
Las Flores Beach Resort
#26 of 83 in Mazatlan
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Villas Resort

Address: Calzada Camaron Sabalo No. 500, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: €67 - €320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Villas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Villas Resort All inclusive a lacarte Description and adventages:THE UPSCALE PROPERTY ON THE BEST BEACH OF MAZATLAN Located right in the heart of the GOLDEN ZONE of MAZATLAN, The Royal Villas resort features: 125 Suites, Jr. Suites and Pent Houses All of them with: Balconies. Kitchenettes and the best beds in town, Enjoy the only Four Diamond restaurant in Mazatlan rated by the AAA : La Hacienda de la Floor Restaurant with fine Mexican cuisine, try our delicious dishes 2007 prize winners, Have fun! during our happy hours at our Lobby Bar with live piano music and a variety of rhythms: Mexican, romantic and Jazz every day from Tuesday to Sunday, from 7:00 to 11:00 p.m. For Breakfast enjoy one on the best buffet breakfast in town, every day from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. at our Montealban Restaurant, We also offer: Room Service, Acclimatized Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Fitness center with Sauna, Game room, Satellite TV, Internet access, Spa Services, daily pool and beach activities for children and adults:Other services: Game Room, Kids club, Baby Seating, Room Service, Meeting facilities up to 200 people, Safety deposit Boxes, Handicap rooms, Non smoking rooms, Beauty Saloon, Valet Parking, Direct Dial Phone System, Purified Water System, Travel Agency, Laundry Service and Laundromat .Satellite Television / Pay per view movies Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms, Money Exchange and Safety Deposit Boxes, Business Center, M.D. on call, hours, Private Ocean View Balconies Spectacular Sunsets.1.-Location.- Located right in the heart of the golden zone. At one of the best beaches in Mazatlán.2.- EP Plan and All Inclusive a la carte2.- Family suites with Kitchenettes3.-Free internet services4:-Daily pool and beach activities program: Daily beach and pool activities for children and adults• Karaoke• Aqua aerobics• Water polo• Bingo• English classes• Spanish classes• Deer island tours 5.-Meeting facilities for up to 200 guests6.- Catering service for up to 300 guests.7.-Wedding facilities ( full arrangements)8.-Free parking and Valet parking service9.-Free work out room10.-Free Sauna services10.-Spa service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Villas Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Hotel Mazatlan
Royal Resort Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing