We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness for the roped off fence area on Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This was our 4th all inclusive and I have to say it was the BEST VIEW FROM OUR ROOM !!! Just a fantastic view !!! We were on the 7th floor and walked the stairs almost all of the time. If we were higher and had to use the elevators it would have been a problem. The food was good, just the same all the time, so got boring.
A la cartes were good if you chose the right thing from the menu.
Staff was always very friendly.
Drinks were ok, found a great Lemon Drop Martini in the lobby bar by Edgar.
Shows OK, not every night.
Weather was great !!! Beach once you got past all the very aggressive sellers was fantastic. Mr Lionsas Playa de Brucha bar had the best Coconut Shrimp I have ever had. 2 for one everything drinks. GO HUNGRY !!
Went to Te Amos Lucy's in Mazatlan Historica owned by Tony, it was very good too.
All in all a very nice vacation. Weather was great, people were fun.
Prices very good. Can't beat that !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k0sm056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,037 of 3,321 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

We were there Nov 5th - Nov 12th, the weather was perfect, all days were sunny, no humidity, nice breeze at evening. Extremely clean hotel, stuff clean everywhere every minute, including beach area. Every morning fresh squeezed juices - 6-7 different flavours, perfect!
Stuff is very friendly!
Yes, elevators are not enough for so many people in the 20 storeys building, but we stayed at 3-4 floors, and always used stairs (some exercises).
And on the weekend there are more visitors - locals people, a lot of kids, and noisy in the restaurant and in the pools. But Sunday afternoon is quiet again.
We have a great time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elzaAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

After reviewing numerous reviews here I find it hard to believe some of the low ratings this all inclusive Riu hotel receives as they contributed to my hesitation about even booking our trip to Mazatlan. Most negative impressions appear related to misinterpretations and lofty expectations of what it means to be '5' star. First of all, if you expected an intimate and luxurious spa-like resort, no kids or families, and no locals, then booking into a 700+ room hotel is your own mistake. Try the Peublo Bonita down the road where each meal will cost $20 US and each drink $5 and up, and the room rate is perhaps three times what we paid for the entire vacation. I would say reviews of three stars or less are extremely unfair and border on vindictive. Imagine reviewing this Riu to someone who has experienced any kind of hardship in their life, or has never enjoyed the good fortune of travelling to another country to a luxury resort when you claim the food or amenities are terrible.

Due to the huge buffets featuring a lot of choice and variety everyone in our family was consistently well fed if not stuffed. Breakfast in particular was exceptional, many choices plus all the fresh fruit juice you could ask for. If this buffet was available in Calgary (and it would not have nearly the same quality of fresh fruit) it surely would cost $25/pp and would be fair value at that price. Based on the modest cost of booking a family of four at the Riu and what it offers, I would fully recommend it to other families, young couples, groups of friends that are not overly picky and those with limited international travel experience. Keep in mind that last minute specials as low as $435 CDN + tax are available to adults. This includes a decent charter plane ride direct from Calgary and airport transfers so when considering the Riu as your choice for a vacation, no resort in Canada could begin to compare to this on value, food freshness and availability, weather, beaches, drinks, daycare and kids pool, room quality, etc. My thoughts on the locals, they appeared friendly and courteous to me, I don't see how someone would be so biased against their presence at the hotel, without them and the resources they provide to the hotel the buffets would surely be much smaller.

some qualifications
elevator capacity is inadequate so avoid elevators at peak times

kids club childcare is not necessarily going to provide the sort of supervision you may feel is appropriate

mixed drinks on the bar menu are usually too sweet and syrupy, beer was dos equis and seemed fine to me, fresh and cold from taps you can pour yourself

food - many salty and unhealthy options at the buffets, easily avoided with some planning. Overall food was good always and great sometimes, far superior to what I could cook myself

it is mexico so people smoke everywhere they can (fortunately not inside the bars and restaurants however).

beds a bit hard, bring your own pillow if you have a preference

not a lot of currency or additional cost is necessary if you choose not to leave the resort so this is truly an all-in experience. tours were ridiculously expensive so we did not go on any

did not watch much of the entertainment at night as it started past the kids bed time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shenyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

The biggest knock is on the lack of elevator capacity. For a 21 floor hotel, there were always people waiting for an elevator. Especially at checkout time when travelers are anxious about getting places on time. We waited on the 14th floor for 20 minutes to get an elevator down with our luggage. Car after car opened with travelers packed in and no room for another person. We went to another bank of elevators and experienced the same thing. We waited for 4 cars to open and then had to hoof it down 14 flights with all our luggage. Should have called for bell service.

Other than that, the room was great with a great view.

We were there 3 nights, so didn't have a chance to grow tired of the food. I was surprised that the Asian restaurant was buffet. Not a problem, just unexpected. I found the wine in the main restaurant to be of poor quality, but with an all-inclusive, there are so many options to choose from that it did not bother me.

The pools were a bit refreshing - the pool bar had exceptional service and good drinks. Never had a problem finding a good lounge chair anywhere we went around the pool or at the beach and any time of the day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gruberlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We went in November and the weather was great, with this Hotel being only a year old it's hard to beat it . Beds and room very clean and lots of room. Full bar in the room and the overall service was great. I had my knap sack stolen from the lobby when we arrived and the Hotel staff didn't seem to care, I should of gone to the Manager. The food is more of a 3 star, The sports bar is open late but if you want a midnight snack your choices are to re heat hambergurs and hot dogs or chips with cheese. Yuck. The Al acarte not worth the limited space they allowed in, some nights they would have only two of the three open which you wouldn't find out till you lined up at the customer service desk to make your reservations. Overall not worth the effort so don't go for the food. great for kids, great beach, pool and pools bars, even had people going around the pool with carts to serve you drinks. out side of the food all is a 5 star. The locals go home on Sunday so not to worry too much about them, after all they need a place to relax to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjtrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.4 km away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
6 km away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
4.6 km away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#6 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,888 reviews
7.7 km away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#12 of 80 in Mazatlan
354 reviews
6.4 km away
The Inn at Mazatlan
The Inn at Mazatlan
#13 of 80 in Mazatlan
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#6 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: €124 - €225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening summer 2009 * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa Las Brujas beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 20-story main building * Surrounded by 13.500 M2 / 16.15 Sq. Yards of lush gardens * 10 km / 6.2 Miles from various shops * 12 km / 7.45 Miles from Mazatlan * 32 km / 19.87 Miles from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing