We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Mazatlan
Reviewed 30 November 2017

I went with my sister, friend and my mom and we had a good stay. A couple different pools but we liked the main adult pool with the swim up bar. All the rooms are ocean view and it is really pretty very clean. I liked the liquor dispensors too in the room. We requested to be close to each other for the 2 rooms and that is exactly what they did so that was appreciated. It is a really nice resort, and not too far from town but far enough. To the right when your looking at the ocean there is a nice area down there and a good pub. Even met a couple people in town one night that worked at the resort and they were respectful and nice and made sure we were doing okay just to check up which was a nice surprise. The night club was fun most nights, sports bar was a good place to hang out too. Good food, good selection. Resort is a nice area to walk around at night. We were here in January when it was busy, but it never felt too busy or crowded. Didn't spend too much time on the beach we stayed pretty busy since all the wonderful locals we would meet when were out would take around in town. Very friendly people, small town vibe. LOVED the catamaran ride for the excursion to a private beach. Took the banana boat ride which was pretty comical. Had a great time and when I am back in Mazatlan I will stay here again but this time I want to relax :)

Room Tip: If you want the view of the whole ocean request higher floor if you want convenience request lower v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank taren_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 3,369 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

We were so impressed by this resort, starting from as soon as we arrived via the Airport Shuttle. A couple staff members came on the shuttle to put on our bracelets! They then directed us to another area where our check in packages were waiting for us. The checking in process took no time at all!
Our room was very nice, the view was spectacular! The food and drinks were delishous and plentiful. We loved that there is an Adult Only pool, it would be nice if it was bigger. The swim up bar was great.
The one thing I really wished they had was an outdoor lunch bbq area that could cook fresh hamburgers, hot dogs etc. The sports bar had hamburgers and hot dogs that were precooked and kept in a fridge that you needed to microwave....not good at all.
The beach was kept very clean, it’s quite beautiful and you can walk for miles. The ocean, unfortunately , is quite rough, not good for swimming or playing in.
All and all it was a great vacation with easy access into town and shopping!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We spent 4 nights at RIU Emerald Bay. We got a great deal (nearly 50% off the regular rate) so for the price we paid it was an excellent value. Rooms are comfortable. Service is very friendly. Food is nothing to write home about. The best meal we had was at the Mexican restaurant. The buffets have a lot of variety, but nothing we tried stood out as being great. The cooks seem to love to use a lot of salt.

Good selection of drinks and talented bar tenders. There are enough bars around the pool are although on one day two were closed and that did create a bit of traffic jam at the only one that was open.

What you read about the elevators being slow is true at times. You need to especially be aware at peak times (check in, check out, breakfast, etc.) that you may wait a while for an elevator or for one that is not already full. Taking the stairs is sometimes a better option if you are on a lower floor.

Speaking of which, the lower floors pick up wifi from the pool area. We were on the 4th floor and had strong wifi in our room.

One thing I would recommend RIU could do to improve this resort would be to add a coffee bar or cafe somewhere (preferably on a patio overlooking the ocean). The only place that serves good coffee (espresso, latte, etc.) is the sports bar. The sports bar is not a place to enjoy your morning cup of coffee or your after dinner espresso. The lighting is way too bright, and it's way too loud. Especially with the air hockey game that makes a horrible racket when people are playing.

All arrangements, transfers, etc. went perfectly smooth. RIU seems to be extremely organised and well run.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view. Lower floors can get wifi from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

I researched this resort prior to booking and what you most commonly read is also what I found. Here are some points to note based on my stay last week:

Pros:

Beautifully kept resort with lush foliage and healthy palms, no cracked concrete or peeling paint etc..

Plenty of seating around 3 clean pools with poolside drink service as well as beachfront service after 10am
(Kids are not welcome in the swim up bar pool and bartenders make sure to keep them out)

Plenty of daily activities in/around the pool such as tequila Jenga, water volleyball and poolside Zumba!

Clean, soft sand beach whose flags were red but we were still able to swim in daily(although most of our friends did get stung by small jelly fish throughout our stay)

Friendly, bilingual staff in every department from the gardeners to wait staff to house keepers. The front desk even arranged to have a birthday cake delivered to me and my friends at dinner one night!

Tips were not mentioned or pushed like in another all inclusive resorts but were so graciously appreciated. Stick to 20 pesos on the pillow/ at restaurants and 50-100 to keep your bartenders on your side

The drinks were consistent from bar to bar and the staff were knowledgeable and able to find drinks for even the pickiest of travellers(they even use Clamato for their Caesars, not Kermato!)

They cater to Canadians as their predominant customers and even participated in our Remembrance Day moment of silence by the pool(as well as joining in on our anthem singing afterwards)

Cons:

I stayed in room 439 and the bed was terribly hard. They only provide you with 2 flimsy pillows to request more. Linens are typical of other Mexican locations and are low thread count and scratchy.

The 4 elevators that service this 22 story hotel are a nightmare to say the least. Request a lower level room and get your leg day exercises in by walking the stairs instead!(although I must say they tend to book locals in the higher rooms as they tend not to be as impatient as us Canadians so you may not have to worry about this. Inquire anyways)

Speaking of locals, the weekends become crazy busy with bus loads of inlanders. Most are friendly and somewhat bilingual. Things quiet down again during the week.

Like most all-inclusive resorts, the food became repetitive. Plenty to choose from but mostly buffet and tend to taste the same after day 4. There is an amazing lobster restaurant to the right of the resort, on the beach. Super affordable and amazing people. Highly recommend at least once on your trip as well as many food vendors in town. Short and cheap cab ride for endless food choices!

Also like most ocean front resorts, there are beach vendors that tend to get annoying after a while. They are restricted to pass the rope marking resort property but still yell until they can sell you something.

Many no smoking signs on the entire property but I'm fairly certain they are just for legal purposes as our group were always given something to ash in if we were in a reasonable area. Only no smoking in lobby, restaurants and hallways. Everywhere else was open air and pretty much fair game.

The front desk will not exchange American dollars(as of November 2017 anyways), and encourage you to bring pesos or Canadian dollars surprisingly. They will accept USD as tips/payment but will not exchange. FYI.

Feel free to comment any questions as I'm sure I left many things out but made note of so much during my stay!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
14  Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We love the big flat beach with lots of palm trees. Lovely beach to walk on. Massive waves, stunning view from 12th floor. Very clean. Very friendly staff. Food was really good but we did become a little tired of over-indulging by the end of the week. Service was great except at the outdoor dining area, where we liked to have breakfast. We returned here because the price was right and we were happy last time. Paid $1235 with Sunwing Vacations. Smooth process getting here, very organized with the transfer and the check-in. The Nexus staff (Sunwing representatives) were really very good and took care of us, even making sure we all got through the airport on our return. It was not a non-stop flight going home though, and we did not realize until after booking that we will have a stopover in P.V. Kind of deceptive as our search was for direct flights only. Direct is not necessarily non-stop so be careful of this! We had amazing massages at the Hotel Cerritos a few doors down. Sonia works there and is really good. $20 US for an hour. We requested a couples massage so she brought in Lily for us, who was also very good. A blissful hour. Call her cell to book: 669-115-3767. Massage hut on beach looked too hokey to me, and they speak no English so no idea if they are trained.
A few cons: 1. The dishes are really dirty so be sure to check them. They need a big improvement on their dish washing system. 2. There are lots of children in all of the pools which you may not enjoy if you are an adult group. We spent most of the time at the quiet end of the beach. 3. All restaurants are buffet style. 4. The wine is drinkable but really not good at all.

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean, but "oceanview" room means you will be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winterwarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mazatlan hotels
1.4 km away
Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay
4.6 km away
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan
#5 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,660 reviews
7.5 km away
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
Hotel Playa Mazatlan
#3 of 80 in Mazatlan
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
Ramada Resort Mazatlan
#9 of 80 in Mazatlan
421 reviews
6 km away
El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel
5 km away
Oceano Palace Beach Hotel
Oceano Palace Beach Hotel
#33 of 80 in Mazatlan
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Emerald Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Emerald Bay

Address: Av. Sabalo-Cerritos #3404 zona costera cerritos | Nuevo Mazatlán - Sinaloa, Mazatlan 82110, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Sinaloa > Mazatlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mazatlan
#7 Spa Hotel in Mazatlan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mazatlan
#10 Romantic Hotel in Mazatlan
Price Range: €122 - €231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Emerald Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Emerald Bay opens all year round and is located on the beautiful Playa Las Brujas beach close to the Mexican town of Mazatlán. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to General Rafael Buelna International Airport Mazatlan MZT (32 km) and Marina El Cid (10 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 716 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in our Renova Spa or get in shape at the gym. 3 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool. RiuLand Kids Club (age 4-7 & 8-12 years) for the youngest guests and for adults, day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer a live cooking station at our main restaurant, Asian, Mexican, Italian specialty restaurants, 5 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Emerald Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing