We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,845)
Filter reviews
5,845 results
Traveller rating
2,791
2,006
690
222
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,791
2,006
690
222
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snorkel beach mar section the mexican restaurant belly dancer middle beach a la carte restaurants fish main beach la crucecita el mexicano secret beach main bar bella vista club med tennis courts snack bar bird watching
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 5,845 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Premises
The hotel decor is lacklustre compared to hotels in Riviera Maya of similar star count (4+). The setting though is beautiful - it is built as villages on several cliffs with scenic paths to the lobby and beach area. We stayed in area “Puebla Nubes” and it took us around 5 minutes to walk down to the snorkelling beach. If 5 minutes walk seems like too much there are shuttles every 5 minutes or a shuttle can be called from the room. The vegetation gives an impression of local forest - just a bit manicured - I guess the hotel’s intention was to keep it as natural as possible.
The beach is a real highlight of this hotel since two (out of the three) beaches are protected from the powerful waves that pound Barcelo and Dreams on the other side of the bay - and one of the beaches has a real corral reef about 10 meters from the shore. We actually spent almost all the 7 days snorkelling around the reef observing the reef life only a few steps from our beach lounge chairs.
Entertainment
We watched a couple of evening shows - of uneven quality but always entertaining - I wish we had watched more shows:) Live music though was a disappointment - two loud for the bar lounge size and very amateurish :)
Food
After reading reviews about the hotel we were a bit concerned about the food selection. The food turned out to be one of the best experiences in the hotel since we ate the freshest seafood every day: grilled tilapia, dorado, sardines, sautéed shrimp with tequila, stewed tuna, squid, octopus, soups with crab, shrimp or other seafood. I cannot comment on meat as we never tried meat dishes but I saw steaks, burger patties and chicken at the meat grilling station.
Of course Mexican fare was also available: tacos, quesadillas, burritos - not to forget guacamole - freshly made and not from a plastic bag like we tried at some 4+ stars hotels on Rivera Maya.
Special mention on desserts - their pastry chef is an artist and knows his stuff since the cakes, flans, mousses were flavourful an not too sweet - very European in taste.
Weather
Compared to the Caribbean part of Mexico where we went previous years - also in April - the weather seems to be dryer and warmer in Huatulco than on Riviera Maya. The second week of April it was 32-33 Celsius every day and not a single rain all week. The hotel staff said it was typical for the region.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

We came here middle of April 2018. The weather was amazing. Hot hot hot. We love hiking and this resort has no shortage of paths and stairs as it’s very big. So if you don’t like walking this may not be the place for you. We only took a shuttle bus once to drop off our luggage. 3 beaches were nice and not over crowded. Always can find chairs on beach.
Room was ok. Shower leaked and one day the power was out. The bed was huge and comfortable.
The buffets were amazing. You will get 4 a la Carey dinner cards and 6 choices for restaurants. We only used 2. We used one at the La Kasbah which was really really good. The other was at La Pergola which was terrible, we actually didn’t eat our food and went to the buffet.
There are so many activities here and things to do here.
Staff is super friendly and grounds are well kept.
Walking at night was amazing. Very well lit paths and walkways. Romantic it was.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank erinchris7787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We continue to stay at the Las Brisas whenever we go to Huatulco. The staff is always great, the rooms are great and the buffet has great food. Nice clean beaches. This is an all around wonderful stay while on vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank B8561NUkatherineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Awesome vacation April 1-12. Can’t wait to go back. Beach was excellent. Water was calm and warm. Snorkeling was great from the beach Saw lots of fish and stingrays Resort was clean and great staff
Room was clean and nice. Had a great ocean view
Food was good. No complaints. Mediterranean restaurant was the best ala carte. Buffet was good no complaints at all. Staff was amazing. Yes
Loved walking around the resort including the hills and stairs Great to keep in shape
Loved kayaking from our resort
The town was a 5 min cab ride Great town and safe. A must to check out. Great restaurants there and cute shops and the market. This resort had everything you need to have a great vacation. Totally would recommend it. Loved that this resort had lots of Mexican people who loved to spend their vacation here as well.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Lori_Beach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We upgraded at the resort to room 4218 in Mar section. only $275 cdn at resort for 2 weeks. well worth it. the room was awesome. Luceli at the restaurants is a sweetheart and Tanya who stocks the bar etc is such a hard worker. We had staff members thanking us for coming here. That has never happened before. The only downside was that it was soooo hot and humid for us. The snorkelling beach was a must everyday to cool down in the ocean.I noticed across the bay at the other resorts that the waves were really rough and there wasn't anyone on the beach so this cove is well protected to have fun in the ocean.Lots of fish on the reef too. say a small octopus, and a spotted ray. so relaxing.The paddle boards were fun. It was nice to finally try it. This resort sure knows how to throw party's. There was at least 1 every night. some were for 400 people. weddings, family gatherings, business etc. Food and service at the buffet never suffered due to accommodating large party's. This is a family resort. No drunkin idiots which was nice. 1/2 of the visitors were Canadian and the other 1/2 half were from Mexico city area. It was nice to use my google translate app to speak with the locals. The golf cart shuttles were very efficient. If you had a problem with your room they came up immediately to rectify.Lots of trees and unique birds to enjoy,I highly recommend this resort. Just know that it is super hot and humid every day.. We only went to town 1 day out of 2 weeks as Las Brisas has so much to do as see to keep us entertained. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank zoe1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews