We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
171
241
80
20
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
241
80
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfacing the streetsanta cruzminute walkla crucecitamexican familieshammock areamexican hotelshuttle bussmall hotelorder off the menuorganic marketlobby barclubhouse sandwichhuge terracesome tlcfishmexican foods
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and cizy rooms with fresh flowers and amazing garden. Beach club is one of the best i have visited and ala cart food is fresh and tasty. Staff courteous and very well trained. As a solo tourist i felt very safe and welcomed. If you are looking for real Mexican feel look no further.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank calgary201186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castillohuatulco, Director Comercial at Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Yours faithfully and foremost like to thank you stayed at this home Huatulco Hotel Castillo, his comments make us every day we strive to provide the best service to you and your family deserve.

See you again in these beautiful Huatulco.

Best regards.
Raul Vallín
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Great local hotel with good food, friendly staff & a nice beach club with a pool & playgrounds for the kids and hammocks for the adults. The beach at the beach club is very rough though so use caution.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castillohuatulco, Director Comercial at Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Yours faithfully and foremost like to thank you stayed at this home Huatulco Hotel Castillo, his comments make us every day we strive to provide the best service to you and your family deserve.

See you again in these beautiful Huatulco.

Best regards.
Raul Vallín
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful time and were thoroughly enjoying ourselves at this resort. On returning home our young daughter fell very ill and was hospitalized. She ended up testing positive for Ecoli and Shigella. 100% from This Resort. Whether it was caused by the food or the murky Warm over crowded swimming pool we don’t know. Very disappointed that neither Sun Wing or Hotel Castillo responsed to our concerns. This resort is an unacceptable health hazard and I would not recommend anyone going there.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SnowySunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castillohuatulco, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Receive a greeting and I inform you that we have not had any other report about another sick guest, and it is a shame that this situation had happened in Huatulco.

This is the first time we have received this information about your case, so we would like you to be able to communicate directly to the hotel to know more details about your stay.

Best regards
Luis Ramirez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We were welcomed back with open arms and huge smiles from Luis, Raphael and Montserat. The staff truly are exceptional in this little gem of a hotel. We were given a room on the second floor overlooking the street with a huge terrace (same room as last visit). It was nice to see new patio furniture including an umbrella - great additions! We were there during Holy Week, Semana Santa and the area was crazy busy but in a good way. It did not affect our holiday in a negative way at all - always seating available inside or out at breakfast and dinner. The only "hiccup" was at the beach club. A lot of new staff and they just couldn't seem to get their act together as to what was available or when. Some said the bar opened at 11am when in fact it was 10am. Last time we were able to get snacks at 11am and this time we were told we had to wait til noon. The menu was in Spanish only and available at noon while the buffet wasn't available til 1pm. Twice we were told the menu wasn't available til 1pm as well. It was annoying, but it didn't make or break the vacation. Because of the holiday, both pools were busy and quite full every day - not a problem except at the beach club. If the ocean was too rough, it was nice to cool off in the pool. That didn't happen this time - I ended up taking cool showers lol. It would be nice to see a railing added to the pool steps to make it easier to get in and out of the pool as the steps are quite slippery - or a couple of ladders. I am curious as to how the hotel plans to manage the addition of 48 rooms in November with both pools being quite small, the dining areas filled to capacity, and only 1 small bar in the lobby.
For us, Hotel Castillo is in the perfect location. I do miss being right on the beach, however, I do love the walkability factor to the markets, shops and restaurants in Santa Cruz and the availability of cabs to take you to La Crucecita or neighboring public beaches. The organic farmer's market on Saturday morning is a must see. Sitting out under the stars at Cafe Huatulco sipping an iced cappucino while people watching is fun. Walking down to Oro Negro and sitting on the patio eating a pizza made in a woodburning oven sipping ice cold beer or taking a cab into La Crucecita and eating at one of the many fun and inexpensive restaurants... all these things and more make Hotel Castillo and Huatulco the perfect vacation spot for us. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank salsamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castillohuatulco, Director Comercial at Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Miss Salsa Mama, thanks for visiting the Hotel Castillo Huatulco, are taking note of every detail that makes reference to us, also informed him that a meeting with the heads of each area and conducted to make the necessary changes.

We hope that in your next visit back to the home Hotel Castillo Huatulco.

Best Regards

Raul Vallin
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had a great time here, from check in til check out.Hotel is a little dated on the inside but the exterior has been re-done.It is around 114 rooms, small, clean, and real simple to navigate.They are currently adding a new adjoining building with 48 rooms.It didn't have any affect on our stay.

-Town of Santa Cruz where we were was small and easy to walk around. Cruise ship pier was beside public beach. Numerous mini markets,restaraunts,small vendors market and 2 banks.
Lots of excursions to choose from.Town was slow paced,little traffic and never crowded.They had nice town plaza and church.

-Food- Was basic but all round real good,service was great as well.You can sit inside with A/C or outside by pool.They had a Mexican Dinner night at hotel which was good.

-Bar-Small bar in lobby just off street which was fine.Many nights they had a small band playing.

-Front desk staff were very pleasant and accommadating, they will change CDN$ or USD$ here. 1 USD$ was 17.50 pesos,sorry, can't recall how much CDN was.The Elecktra store on your way to beach club will give you 1$ USD =17.50 pesos or 1$ CDN = 13.80 pesos. The Scotia bank in Santa Cruz (3 blocks away) wouldn't change USD.

-Rooms-We were on 2nd floor facing main street, a little noisy but with sliding door shut it was fine.A/C & shower worked well. Huge patio which was nice at end of day to have a beer and chill.
No fridges in room,you can bring drinks up from lobby bar. You can buy styrofoam coolers cheap at Market across from hotel or at the Super Chedraui, they have everything there.

-Beach Club- Was great on the beach, never crowded and always found a palapas or umbrella.Buffet type lunch and drinks were very good, great setting.There was a pool,showers,bathrooms. No loud music,only the odd vendor but not annoying.Beach service was very good.
Sand and beach was beautiful but most times there was an undertow, but once you got through it it was good,beautiful water.Not great for very young children or non-swimmers.+There is a shuttle bus every half hour back and forth or a real nice and easy 15 min walk.
*Our first friday night they had the whole beach prepped for a Mexican Fiesta night,the hotel restaraunt was shut for this event. It was a lot of fun and they put a lot of work & time in preparation into it.

-La Crucecita town-It was a typical small Mexican town with nice town plaza and things to do and see.Many restaraunts and bars, church etc.You can walk there on nice, safe new walkway from hotel in 15 mins.

-Taxis- 30 pesos ($2.20 cdn) around small town or 50 pesos to La Crucecita,very reasonable.
We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms had nice large patios and views of the small main street.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castillohuatulco, Director Comercial at Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Mr. Bruce, yours faithfully and foremost like to thank you stayed at this home Huatulco Hotel Castillo, his comments make us every day we strive to provide the best service to you and your family deserve.

See you again in these beautiful Huatulco.

Best regards.
Raul Vallín
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews