We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,821)
Filter reviews
4,821 results
Traveller rating
3,310
1,051
332
89
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,310
1,051
332
89
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barcin cinmarket cafebarefoot grillfrench restaurantspice restaurantswim up roomcastaways restaurantpreferred clubswim up barfrosted glassocean viewsugar reefhydrotherapy circuitquiet poolcoco caferose petals
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 4,821 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

This is our 3rd Secrets resort and what stood out the most here was the service! Everyone was extremely nice and helpful! They have the best pools (1 for relaxing and 1 to enjoy the activities and swim up bar). The beach was private and the food was great!!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank jackiep997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Appreciable jackiep997,

Warm greetings from Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time in sharing how wonderful your vacation was with us. It was a pleasure hosting you.

We are happy to know that your experience at Secrets Huatulco was excellent and that you enjoyed your stay with us for the amazing attention and quality of the services that were provided to you during your vacation as well as our different pools to choose from and the delicious food offered at each on of our restaurants.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home outside of home in a not so distant future.

Best regards from sunny Huatulco,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

I absolutely loved this place, ever since i checked-out I've been wanting to go back so I just purchased another trip to go again. but not before complimenting everybody from the person who offers a cold-wet towel the minute you get on property to the people who turn-down the room every single night and leave a card with the forecast for the next day and some rose petals on the bed, next to the TV remote, slippers and my PJ's. it's that awesome customer service and attention to details that have me wanting to go back. I've been to several AMResorts properties all over the country both on the Secrets and Dreams brands and this is by far my favorite (Secrets Puerto Los Cabos is a close second).
The beach is completely peaceful and there's a nice cove formed by the bay that I can only describe as a pool, almost no waves and warm water make it for the perfect place to be all day long. there is another beach on the outer side of the bay that you reach by a 5-minute walk on a tree-covered trail where not a single person was to be found, it was an exceptional experience to have that kind of lonesomeness and tranquility.
Food & service at the restaurants is superb as well as drinks at the bars, don't go without tasting Oaxaca's regional food on the Mexican restaurant, the floor tables at the Asian restaurant is a nice quirky touch.
Entertainment is very nice and a fun way to spend evenings whether is was trivia night or dance-shows at the hotel's theater.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have swim-up pool and a terrace, upper floors all have a balcony (some with a Jacuzzi on it).
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank zsunshine2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Appreciable zsunshine2018,

Receive a warm greeting from your friends and family at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing you wonderful experience with us. As well as deciding to return as it will be a pleasure to have you home!

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us for the special details our staff offers you. As mentioned from your arrival, to turn down service, to pool side service, to the delicious food, our entire team at Secrets Huatulco take pride in fulfilling our guests expectations as well as providing the most wonderful vacation experience ever. Your kind comments a true form of motivation to contiune in working and offering an amazing service to all our valued guest.

It was our great pleausre to host you and we will be looking forward to welcoming you home in a near future.

Kind regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We have stayed at all the top hotels in Huatulco and Secrets wins hands down. It truly is a luxury hotel - professional staff, fantastic rooms and attention to small details (like rose petals on the bed). Loved every minute of our stay!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank RALPHCOPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Appreciable RALPHCOPE,

On behalf of the entire team of Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on TripAdvisor, regarding your last stay in Huatulco.

We are glad to read that we went beyond your expectations and provided you with a fantastic vacation. Every detail is taken cared by our attentive staff that is always willing to go the extra mile to pamper you and make you feel at home. Thank you very much for recognizing their dedication.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Best regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Location: Quite remote. Lovely pool & bay views
Room: Building #6 . Very easy navigate to pool and around the hotel. Not so much "elevator show". Ac working very well. Very poor room insulation.
Pool: 2 - Like a lakes. Lot of space. Party & silence side. Some day you will clearly see that water was dirty. Yuck.
Restaurants: Lot of different a la carte restaurants. Swim Up bar is one of the Best.
Gym: Good equipment. Open early morning to evening.
Customers: 70 % Canada, 25 % Usa, 5 % Mexico & Europe.
Comeback: No !

Room Tip: Building # 6
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Appreciable Hobe,

On behalf of the entire team of Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor, regarding your last stay in Huatulco.

We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our spacious pools, our restaurants, gym facilities, and the fabulous view from our hotel grounds.

We greatly appreciate your valuable comments, which will help us to improve the quality of our services.

Huatulco is full of surprises and enchanting places and we hope you give us the opportunity in hosting you to redeem your confidence with our resort and amazing services.

Best regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

My wife and I returned from Secrets Huatulco last night. We went for 7 days, Saturday to Saturday, on a Volaris non-stop flight. Volaris is a very generic, small airline. It was clean and took us to a great location, so no complaints.

The airport is tiny. Short runway! You land and exit the plane in about 15 minutes. Customs was FAST. The plane will unload and load up on the tarmac. Since the airport is so small, your plane is most likely the only one in customs at one time. The return trip is much less smooth. We spent 30 minutes completing our landing...customs and luggage. We spent 2 hours leaving. There were not many people at the counters and they were in no hurry.

The hotel was about 25 minutes from the airport. We used Apple Vacations, which we almost always do. Once again we booked through Charlie at Doylestown Travel. Have use him for the past 15 years and he is the best!

Hotel...very nice! The hotel was at about 20% occupancy the week we were there. It is the rainy season. I think this means it rains at night while you are sleeping. We had great weather all week. The hotel really cut back on all aspects for the week. If you want crowds, beach volleyball and tons of activities, the rainy season is NOT the time to go here. On Tuesday, my wife and I were the only people at the quiet pool. I mean exactly that...2 people at a pool that easily holds 100+. We had a waiter to ourselves that day!

There are quite a few restaurants at this resort. Due to season, they only opened 2/3 each night. We were able to visit all but the steakhouse during our stay. We also used room service for dinner one night. The food at all the restaurants was very good. We did not have a disappointing meal all week. The buffet was NOT open once for dinner. This made sense, as they would have wasted a load of food feeding the small group.

All rooms are ocean view. The hgiher you are the better view. We were in the lowest building (5) and had a great view too. This will be one of the most beautiful places to look out your balcony at. It is located on a cove that is amazing. One thing that everyone noticed was the birds. They chirp and sqwauk all night long. We noticed it on day one. By day 2 it was soothing. It was all night. Not at 5:00AM like when you go camping. The birds you see around the resort are pretty also.

The rooms were roomy and clean. The water pressue in our room was the best I have had at a resort. Full rainshower head and power wand too. One negative, and this is true of ALL resorts lately, is the toilets. I will never understand a glass door to the toilet. It is separate from the shower and the sinks, but still in clear view of anyone. It is partially smoked glass. I never want to see someone in the crapper. A nice touch is the sliding balcony doors. They slide open, opening up the whole room to the outside. Before it got hot in the afternoon, it was nice to open this up and get a breeze and view of the cove.

The beach is awesome. It is not for long walks, but you get a workout in the sand anyway. This beach is great if you like to pick up shells. We loaded up and can easily fill a glass cannister at home with great shells, small, meduim and a few larger ones. The red flag was out most of the week. They did have some kayaks and areas for snorkeling. They have a few pople wander up to seel things. They were not any problem and not as many as other places we have been to.

We rarley go to the same place twice. This may be an exeception. We loved it. While it may have been too quiet, we read some books, drank some beer and margaritas and swam while getting a nice tan. Sound like a good week to me!I woulnt mind seeing this resort in the busier (not crazy busy) to see the "extras" that I am sure are there. We walked by the theatre one night and there were 9 people watching a show. The show went on though!

I recommend this resort and it is one of our new favorites! The area seems more "old" Mexico. Not as touristy. Last note...while at the airport on our way home we bought 2 bags of chips and 2 bottles of water for $4 USA. At O'Hare we spent $4.50 for just 1 bottle of water. We then bought 6 key chains, 4 magnets and candy bar for $25. This is NOT airport pricing. That shows you how this resort town still hhas its charm!

Stayed: June 2018
4  Thank ItWillGoBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Appreciable ItWillGoBad,

While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you for choosing Secrets Huatulco Resort and Spa as your holiday destination, as well as for the time you have invested in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

As it was a great pleasure to host you we will be thrilled to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews