We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,040)
Filter reviews
4,040 results
Traveller rating
2,327
1,117
366
149
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,327
1,117
366
149
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaside grill world cafe el patio italian restaurant fish tropical view adult pool lobby bar kids club partial ocean view jacuzzi on the balcony a la carte restaurants breakfast and lunch turn down service la crucecita preferred club ocean front
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 4,040 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

This review comes a bit late, but better late than never! It was our second trip (second year in a row) to Dreams Huatulco. It was just as excellent as the first time!

We stayed there first week of November. The weather was beautiful, ocean was warm and we had great time. This year we took advantage of the offer to go see dolphins and sea turtles with Roberto, he offers tours on the beach and it was nothing but amazing experience. He took us to the ocean and we saw so many sea turtles and schools of dolphins! It was absolutely great to see it all in a wild vs in captivity in some pool. He took us along the bays, we went snorkeling, it was really a highlight of the trip! Beautiful views! I would highly recommend Roberto, he really knows the ocean and where to look for for different sea creatures! Just to mention, it was 5 of us, 2 kids age 9,14 and three adults ages 42,67.

Since I already wrote a review last year of the Dreams, everything was just as great. What we did differently this year we decided not to upgrade and see if we notice the difference. We did notice the difference but only because of the view!That is the only thing we missed from the upgrade. We didn't miss access to the lounge, but when we had it a year before we did enjoy it! The room was very similar in size if not identical. We got partial ocean view and while it was great it wasn't comparable to the one you get from the upgraded rooms. For me, paying extra for the view is worth it!

This year the preferred section on the beach had a sign, the year before we saw the sign but it wasn't up. The best part of staying in preferred section is that you don't have an adult only pool behind with drunk guests behaving less than impressive and being obnoxious and loud. You get a bar behind you instead, which is much more peaceful :)

We enjoyed interactions with local vendors on the beach. They are very friendly and not pushy. They do sell beautiful stuff though. Gorgeous jewlerry, nice tablecloths, cover-ups, figurines and our favourite of all....fresh oysters. We had them every day, local guys at the end of the beach dive for them and then shack it for you and serve with lime and spicy sauce, if you like oysters you'll have hard time having them anywhere else after Huatulco!

Please read my previous review about the resort itself. It is really great in any possible way. Great food, service, location, entertainment, activities, amazing staff! Can't wait to go back!!!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Slava F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams H, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Slava F:

We want to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments following your recent stay with us at Dreams Resorts and Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you home and to know that you had a pleasant stay and had the opportunity to enjoy our hospitality and the effort of all of our team, making possible that you had a few memorable days in this beautiful destination with a climate spectacular.

Thanks for your preference, it has been our pleasure to attend you in Dreams Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home outside of home in a not distant future, where serving you: It’s a pleasure!

Kind Regards,
Angélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

It is smaller then any other resort I have stayed at but it has superb staff with an outstanding location. After 15 days I did not grow tired of the resort, the food or the staff. The pool temperature was a bit warm but with the daily temperature that is to be expected. The resort was very clean. Room service was great and there was no shortage of entertainment.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Game B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams H, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Jason E:

We want to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments following your recent stay with us at Dreams Resorts and Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you home and to know that you had a pleasant stay and had the opportunity to enjoy our hospitality and the effort of all of our team, making possible that you had a few memorable days in this beautiful destination with a climate spectacular.

Thanks for your preference, it has been our pleasure to attend you in Dreams Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home outside of home in a not distant future, where serving you: It’s a pleasure!

Kind Regards,
Angélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

We booked our first vacation to the Huatulco area after hearing nothing but rave reviews about both Huatulco and the Dreams resort. Over the past 10 years we have travelled to over 25 different resorts and Dreams definitely exceeded our expectations.
On the bus ride to our hotel we were pleasantly surprised to see a new highway lined with nicely groomed grass and flowers and were amazed at how clean the area was.
Upon our arrival the check-in process was unusually fast and very pleasant, we arrived at 11am and unfortunately our room was not ready, but the staff ensured us that we well taken care of until it was ready.

The rooms were very clean and up to date, our mini bar was well stocked and we were pleasantly surprised to learn that wifi was included. Although the wifi was somewhat slow during the day this wasn't an issue as we were too busy enjoying the sun and superb service at the poolside. The maids worked extremely hard keeping the room clean and ensuring our stay was enjoyable, the turn down service with chocolates and flowers on the bed was a lovely touch.

One of my wife's first stops every morning was at the coffee shop on the second floor. The pastry and coffee selection was amazing! This coffee shop was open 24 hours. We enjoyed all of the fine dinning at the theme restaurants and loved the no reservation system. The food and service was outstanding. At the Mexican restaurant, we had the opportunity to try the true local cuisines. This was an opportunity not offered at very many other resorts although this is not everyone's taste. This authentic food was a mix bag but a couple a very tasty items.

We met a woman named "Julie" at the pool on Day 1, who turned out to be the resort's "spin class" instructor. We attended her spin class the next day in the resort gym. She was an excellent instructor and my wife attended 2 more of Julie's spin class during the week.

The infinity pools along the beach had an amazing view of the 2 islands in our bay. The poolside drink service was also excellent, no complaints here.

We booked Dreams Huatulco as we had heard it was a great resort and it definitely exceeded our expectations. The staff and service at Dream's was the best we have ever encountered at any other resort.

We will definitely be returning to Dreams!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams H, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Murray H:

We want to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments following your recent stay with us at Dreams Resorts and Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you home and to know that you had a pleasant stay and had the opportunity to enjoy our hospitality and the effort of all of our team, making possible that you had a few memorable days in this beautiful destination with a climate spectacular.

Thanks for your preference, it has been our pleasure to attend you in Dreams Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home outside of home in a not distant future, where serving you: It’s a pleasure!

Kind Regards,
Angélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We expected a higher level of just about everything from this all inclusive on Mexico's Pacific coast: better food, better service, better beach, etc. But a week here in January proved to be our best winter getaway ever. First, the food was mediocre at best, but still palatable. We ate outdoors whenever possible, with the beachside restaurant being our favourite haunt to watch the sun rising and the place stirring to life. We quickly learned to avoid the theme restaurants, which were understaffed by harried waiters who lost or mixed up most of our orders, or simply forgot about out table after bringing the entrees. Not worth the hassle for this quality of cuisine. The rooms were just OK. The beach was good but got deep quickly. Pools were great, but we are beach people and learned to live with the water. Good snorkelling along the edge and great sailing in their catamarans. One tip: Avoid the commission vultures at check-in. They'll carry your bags and accompany you to the counter, then hit you with their ridiculous come-ons. What we really liked here, on the other hand, was the mature, laid-back vibe, with jazz at night in the lobby, lots of interesting fellow vacationers, the outdoor Mexican meals, the big mariachi band, and especially the locale. Head off resort to Crucecita which is a $5 cab ride away. We danced with the locals to recorded music in the beautiful town square, ate on a patio, shopped for carpets at a hole-in-the-wall textile mill, and took in a Catholic service at the colourful historic church. You don't need a tour for any of this. We did take a boat tour with Dino, a big, amiable guy with a little craft who you can find trolling for business along the Dreams beach. My wife and I, Dino and his nephew piloting, a cooler full of cold beer and three pounds of home-cooked shrimp, and some of the best snorkelling we've ever experienced, along the coast and into the nearby national park. We encountered all manner of exotic fish and veritable walls of teaming mackerel. Go early to avoid the crowds. Would we go back? In a heartbeat, and probably this coming winter. Huatulco is sparsely developed, still authentic and super safe for tourists. The weather is way better than the Mayan Riviera, with endless sun and steady highs around 31/32.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbird085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams H, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Snowbird085:

We want to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments following your recent stay with us at Dreams Resorts and Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you home and to know that you had a pleasant stay and had the opportunity to enjoy our hospitality and the effort of all of our team, making possible that you had a few memorable days in this beautiful destination with a climate spectacular.

Likewise we thank you for the comments to respect to the food quality, be sure that this will get to the corresponding area, so we will be able to take the necessary measures to improve our service.

Thanks for your preference, it has been our pleasure to attend you in Dreams Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home outside of home in a not distant future, where serving you: It’s a pleasure!

Kind Regards,
Angélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

The hotel even though older was the cleanest and nicest kept I think we have ever seen. The food delicious and so many different kinds of food. But the best was the infinity pool and all the choices of where to sit and everything was for our use without extra cost.

Room tip: Oceanfront has the nicest views
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LyndaCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams H, General Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear LyndaCliff:

We want to thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments following your recent stay with us at Dreams Resorts and Spa.

It was a pleasure to have you home and to know that you had a pleasant stay and had the opportunity to enjoy our hospitality and the effort of all of our team making possible that you had a few memorable days in this beautiful destination with a climate spectacular.

Thanks for your preference, it has been our pleasure to attend you in Dreams Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home outside of home in a not distant future, where serving you: It’s a pleasure!

Kind Regards,
Angélica Angón
General Manager
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews