We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
12
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
5
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Sitting in nearby Pie de la Cuesta village, some 8 kms west of busy Acapulco, this large homestead is nestled between a quiet and beautiful lagoon and the Pacific Ocean. You can stroll around the magnificent extension of the Quinta or swim in its cosy pool, or head directly to the beach (open and a bit imposing).
Breakfasts are huge and tasty and the buildings have been restored in line with local tradition. The owners are friendly and ready to help with any need. I stayed in a separate bungalow a few meters away from the main building, next time I think I would prefer one of the rooms in the middle of the property, closer to the reception and the hotel facilities.
You can explore the lagoon or the friendly beaches nearby, and of course you can drive ten minutes to hectic Acapulco to enjoy its touristic attractions... but that was not my plan.

Room Tip: You can go for independence in the separate bungalow, or closeness to the owners and other guests in the main building (which I would prefer for next time).
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jesús Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here as a get-away birthday weekend and it was like we were in another world. We we're surround by beautiful trees, accommodations were supreme and complimentary breakfast was what we looked forward to every morning. Erika and her dad make the stay very comfortable and made us feel like a part of their family! The ocean is just across the street, and we were able to paddle around lagoon. A little pricey but this is where I will return to when I'm older, place for memories

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Between the violence and the tacky, expensive high-rise hotels, Acapulco these days is a place we wouldn't DREAM of staying. But, Pie de la Cuesta just down the road is a world away. We first stayed here New Year's 2011. What brought us back: the not to be missed experience of waking up before sunrise and sipping coffee from adirondack chairs on the adjacent lagoon as flocks of birds whooosh by us. Then, across the street to catch the crash of Pacific waves followed by a delicious and generous Mexican breakfast in the courtyard. Over 20-plus years, Mexico City-based Helmut and his late wife Coco created a lush, fantasy-land jungle retreat, now run by friendly Helmut and his gracious daughter Erika. Think quirky, but efficient German hospitality meets the tropics. Fountains, orchids, coconut trees, a grotto-like pool, a shaggy horse roaming the back of the property, a cherub who squirts you if you come within range -- make me chuckle just remembering the details. You can hang out all day drinking and eating or head up the road for fresh red snapper/huachinango at an almost always deserted strip of beachfront palapas where the road ends. This is a low-keyed, relaxing place; we have had friends for whom it has been too rustic. But, for us, Quinta Erika offers a unique experience we highly recommend and are ready to return to next time we hit Guerrero's Pacific coast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catepoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I have been to Quinta Erika several times.
It is always the same:
The cleanest rooms you can find in Guerrero.
The service and breakfast are awesome!
This hotel is not in the beach but you walk 8 minutes and you have the beach all to yourself.
Helmut, Erika and Coco (R.I.P) have allways been the most amazing hosts!
Yes, there are some minimal kind of wild animals...
If you don`t like nature and peace... don`t go to Quinta Erika!

Room Tip: Every rooms are good but we like the ones upstairs
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

If you’re looking for typical 5 stars, catered to, 5 star resorts like they have in New York City, then go to New York City. If you prefer loud speakers vibrating the items off your end table at 4 am, then go down town Acapulco. But for those who prefer a very nice relaxing vacation in a clean and beautiful setting, and without a personal butler, then Quinta Erika is for you. It is located about 20 minutes outside of down town Acapulco, on Barra de Coyuca, 8 km from Pie de la Cuesta, now on a much improved costal highway. Taxis are available to Acapulco for around 140 pesos, 5 - 6 pesos on a very interesting yet efficient public bus system. Small public vans can be taken to the end of the Barra or Pie de la Cuesta all day long for about 6 pesos, just go to the side of the road and raise your arm. Yes sometimes other passengers have a live chicken or a bag full of fresh fish on their lap, (seldom seen in New York).

The property has the nicest grounds on the entire Barra and is located on the lagoon side about half way down the Barra. A very short walk across the road brings you to an endless and very private beach, although swimming is not recommended due to he current and high waves. The B&B has 4 nicely appointed rooms, plus a fully functional, fully furnished, self containing bungalow. While in the rooms, you will enjoy a fantastic breakfast every morning. Las Panchita is about a 10 minute walk and is one of the finest and extremely clean restaurants in the area. There is also a nice, natural stone wading pool located amongst the palms with several loungers for relaxation. At the lagoon is a large patio over-looking a million dollar view. Half has a shaded area, and half is for sun bathers. This is the number one place to enjoy your first cup of morning coffee and watch the sun rise over a small mountain near Acapulco. This is also one of the best spots to enjoy a cuba libre (although every place is a good spot for a cuba libre). The hosts live on the property and are eager to assist you or answer your questions. Safety and security is never an issue at the Quinta Erika.

Room Tip: The bungalow is by far the best for families with a couple children.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews