We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
210
143
91
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
143
91
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor macro plaza historic hotel traditional hotel walking distance taxi service front desk staff paseo santa lucia downtown salon chain university barrio
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Happy to recommend. Very clean. Great restaurant. Good service from staff. 200 characters not needed. So what can I say but it"s a great hotel.So what can I say but it is really great. Why 200 characters?

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONALD O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

I thought that it will be expensive, BUT it wasn't, went accross the street the Fiesta Americana and it was the double,,silence,clean,everthing working,good restauran, close to everthing,, walking distance to 7/11 and restaurants,macroplaza

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rogelio5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Historic downtown hotel in Monterrey, Mexico. Comfortable rooms and beds. Easy access to highways and to all the downtown points of interest. Grandiose lobby and a very extensive breakfast buffet with fruit, cereals, breakfast breads, Mexican hot dishes, salmon, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maguey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Do not be afraid to go to Mexico now. We found the travel to Monterrey very safe and and efficient. The US dollar is strong, so Mexico is especially cheap right now. People are friendly and helpful to gringos. Any Spanish you can muster will be helpful though, as we found most people do not speak any English. The hotel had the best USD exchange rate we have found, so do $ exchange when you get there.

My husband and I boarded a Panamericas bus in McAllen TX for the 3 1/2 hr trip to Monterrey ($30 each 1 way), then took a taxi ($5 US) to the Gran Hotel Ancira. This beautiful hotel is located a block from the Macroplaza. The hotel is over 100 years old but has been kept up and upgraded over the years (now part of Grupo Fiesta Americana), so you get the old world charm of the architecture with current amenities. We were there 2 nights during Lent and just before Easter weekend, so it was very quiet with an excellent rate on Expedia ($44 plus tax). As we checked out Thursday, a group of hundreds arrived for Easter weekend, which enlivened the place, but we were happy to have enjoyed the quiet. The hotel restaurant is excellent and there is a very economical weekday lunch in the bar. We are looking forward to our next trip to this lovely hotel.

The macroplaza is several blocks long with lovely walking trails and parks enjoyed by strolling families. There are street vendors selling food and crafts along the way, and they are not at all aggressive. It is a very lovely scene..The gov't buildings around the plaza display amazing architecture. The plaza is surrounded by museums, restaurants, shopping. An easy walk past the church was the Old Town (Barrio Antiguo) with old world charm and off beat arty restaurants and antique shops.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

we went ot this hotel for the location so close to macroplaza experience was awesome

property is a beutiful classsic building

pillow were the most confy ever bed was amazing

the overall experience was not because of the property or the room itself

but for the incredible customer service this guys have

from the restaurant to the front desk they were alway super nice (i have to mention hotel was full due a Ironman race we were in it)

even so hotel manage to always have an smaile and be super friendly and helpful

specially a girl in the front desk (management you should always KUDO this kind of employees that make customers feel so appretiated) her name was Caro

we took more time that expented to finish the race but she was super nice and even when she was not suppose to do so she let some of my party into they rooms to have a quick shower at 2 pm i stayed another nigth so did not have this problem but she manage to leave everyone happy thanks so much

i will deffinetly return to this hotel in a super affordable hotel with amazing location and all the 5 start hotels accomodations

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zavalza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews