We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Todos Santos
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We had lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

But didnt stay in the hotel. But I can say the lunch we had was worth the drive from Cabo. It was outstanding and worth the trip. What a great place!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcm9131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    205
    73
    22
    12
See reviews for
115
279
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just returned from 5 days at the Hotel California.If you are looking for a modern, trendy or cookie-cutter hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want a true Mexican feel, with the nicest staff I have ever encountered. The restoration work has maintained the original charm and the decor adds a modern, quirky twist with treasures around every corner. The rooms were a bit dark, but immaculate and spacious. My room overlooked the main street, so was a bit noisy, but I had no problem sleeping. Everything was quiet after midnight. Private patios are delightful, and the candlelit atmosphere every night is magical. There are plenty of places to find both sun and shade , and places to relax and just read, look at the view, or sun by the pool.

Don't expect hair dryers and tv's in the room, but the WiFi worked very well while I was there to keep in touch. I didn't miss having a tv, since the Todos Santos Music Festival was in full swing, and there was great entertainment every night.

La Coronela bar and restaurant have great Margaritas, delicious, easy food, and FABULOUS service! Don't expect to be rushed through your meal...take the time to relax with a drink, and when your meal arrives, enjoy! The crab cakes were light and full of flavour, and the enchiladas with green salsa were to die for. The servers and bartenders were fun, friendly and made sure you were well looked after (Jorge even brought my drink to me, on the dance floor, so I wasn't without it)! Be sure to have dinner in the main restaurant, where fine cuisine is the order of the day. Chef Danny himself, will talk to you about the menu, and suggest wines. The flank steak was so tender and beautifully flavoured, and the yellowtail was fresh, with a delicious sauce of your choice. Finish with a Belgian chocolate made on site ( white chocolate and tequila inside, dark chocolate and walnuts outside). Fabulous!

Debbie( the owner), Juanita and Pedro at the front desk will help with any of your needs. Juanita made sure when ever I left to go to the beach or anywhere, that I had the hotel business card so I could call if I needed anything. If you go to Todos Santos, don't miss this place. You will be enchanted.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindajaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

HOTEL CALIFORNIA

Yes unquestionably the original hotel California built in 1950 as opposed to the song in 1969. How can you argue with that.

LOCATION:
Central to town,souvenir shops, local amenities such as banks, ATMs, liquor stores. You name it. You probably wont get a better location to stay in town. Absolutely fantastic for excursions. Everything from swimming with whale sharks to surfing lessons, quad biking, horse back riding, releasing the baby turtles back into ocean etc etc etc. ask the hotel staff for details and they will fill you in on everything. This holiday is everything you put into it and want to get out of it.

GETTING TO & FRO:
Car rental is probably best. The drive down was so beautiful with the mountain views on one side and ocean on other. Driving at night beware of any loose animals but besides that and when the new road is finished in 2012 this will be one awesome drive.
If your not sure about car rental or driving etc just speak with the hotel reception staff and they will guide you with your best and alternative options. The airport is also full of options.

HOTEL:
Uniquely decorated by past owner. Leaving it truly eye catching and inspirational for those quiet times out. During the day you will find great peace about the hotel and the nights are what you make of it.
Wifi available. Beautiful swimming pool for cooling down on hot days. Surrounded by a well looked after garden with tropical and Mediterranean plants which provide excellent shade during the day and making the place very photogenic. I hear they get some famous photo shoots down there and i can see why. The photos on the website or trip advisor don´t do the place justice. You need to feel it to see the true beauty. There is a small water fountain in the terrace which is very relaxing to listen to whilst reading a book or just sun bathing in the courtyard.
I saw various bedrooms and each was different from the other. All as beautiful as the next. I couldn´t choose a favourite, depends on your needs. All provided with air con and all the necessities one could need. Nice large beds with mosquito nets and spacious terraces. I think some were shared but with the place being so quiet you always felt like you had the place to your self. Most guests are out exploring and there is lots of space around hotel to get a quiet private corner. There were robes provided in rooms, nice clean towels etc Compared to other hotels I stayed in todos this one was pretty much free from bugs. Other hotels seem to have roach problems. I think it´s because this one is in town it´s a bit more free from all the wildlife.

STAFF:
Extremely friendly and accommodating in bar, restaurant and in front desk. I didn´t have any problems at all, in fact the opposite. English is spoken better than most English speaking people i know so no worries or preconceptions needed there.

DRINKS:
Pink champagne on ice anyone. Yes they do have it. ;) ;) Experience!

Being a wine lover i was positively pleased with the full bodied red and crisp white house choices of wine to go along with meals. There is a selection of wines to suit every ones needs and explorations of Mexico bringing together flavours from all around the world.
But when in Rome you must try all four of the house margaritas and the award winning Hotel California tequila.

Margaritas: 4 flavours. Strawberry may be the safe winner but the jalapeño and hibiscus are must tries.

Hotel California tequila. Try and try again. Delicious. Beware you may become a keen tequila connoisseur after this. Not only is the proof in the drinking but the bottle is so decorative you will want to bring it home and keep it as a memento.

FOOD:
There is a range of exotic locally grown produce on offer in the restaurant served in a variety of Mexican dishes. Also pizza to pasta both suitable for the meat lover and vegetarian so there is something on offer for everyone.
I personally recommend the vegetable pizza. It came out very uniquely decorated and loaded with everything i love. I challenged the waiters to bring me out the strongest chilli they had and they brought me out not only a dish of their home made chilli sauce but a bottle of Tabasco just in case. I was pleased they passed my chilli test (understood only by chilli lovers) and even more pleased with their service.
You can organise large group meals and the service is still efficient and speedy. I had a group of 25 with me one night and even with other people being in the restaurant we were well looked after. So it´s a great birthday party or event location.
Entertainment: I experienced a Halloween party at the hotel and the ambience was exciting and magical. Bringing together both local gringos and tourists. Music acoustic was good and the general location is great for both dancing and mingling with it´s separate areas. The terrace, bar and restaurant all accessibly open to each other. i believe they have entertainment every other weekend along with various large events through out the year so you just need to keep an eye out on the website or email staff as not to miss out on all the fun.

SUMMARY:
Ok i think that is all. I have covered most things. Baja is a very relaxed place and as others have said. You don’t go there for valet parking, fast food and elevators. That is what makes this untouched jewel in the desert such a magical place. Enjoy it whilst you can. I´d say if you stay here you won´t forget this holiday. Plus don´t forget to check out the once in a life time excursions available to you at this part of the world. I got to release the turtles and i will never forget that. Priceless!

Room Tip: Check out the website: http://hotelcaliforniabaja.com/accommodations.html you can see which rooms th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Eagles left along time ago but the music is still playing. Great food and service in this little town. It is 45 min from Cabo San Lucas but it is a great drive.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TacomaSquattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Penthouse for one night at the end of a trip to BCS and loved it. It was the Saturday before Labor day and as we found out, not much goes on in Todos Santos during the month of September - several of the restaurants we wanted to try were closed for the month. The hotel only has a dozen or so rooms, and it seemed about half full at best. The Penthouse was great - a little worn and not fancy, but clean and colorful with a real character. It had two levels, the entry level with the bathroom and a couch, and the upstairs bedroom. The entry floor has a door that opens onto the second floor balcony, and the bedroom had double doors that opened onto a private rooftop with great views of the town and the ocean off in the distance (~a mile way). We were warmly welcomed by Hugo at the front desk who took great care of us. Got us ice, brought drinks to our room, gave us restaurant suggestions. We didnt eat at the restaurant this time (we ate lunch there on a visit earlier in the year - it was good), but the drinks at the bar were great. While the Eagles have said that this hotel was not the inspiration for their song, it sure seems like it could be! We'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to spend a night in Todos Santos.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishersrunner42k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Todos Santos hotels
0.3 km away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
0.3 km away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#2 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.6 km away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 9 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
Hacienda Todos Los Santos
#5 of 9 in Todos Santos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#8 of 9 in Todos Santos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 km away
The Hotelito
The Hotelito
#2 of 17 in Todos Santos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Benito Juarez e/ Morelos y Marquez de Leon | Col. Centro, Todos Santos 23305, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Todos Santos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Todos Santos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the original Hotel California.... We invite you to experience the mystique of this world-renowned hotel located in the charming colonial town of Todos Santos. Just a 45 minute drive from Cabo San Lucas along the newly paved coastal Highway 19, the hotel is now easily accessible...Rated #7 emerging destination in the world - Tripadvisor 2010. Hotel California is a HOTEL not a B&B... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Todos Santos
California Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing