We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$397
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Palmas Hotel(San Felipe)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
34
45
29
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
45
29
23
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016

The hotel has one of the best views of the town of San Felipe, the beach is very nice & clean. The rooms are pricey for what you get. We paid $100 US dollars. The beds were comfortable but the sheets looked stained. Thankfully we had taken our own sheets. The bathroom looked like they don't clean them that well. The air conditioning was great it work really well and there was plenty of space in our room. The antenna on the TV worked terribly, could not watch TV at all the 3 days we were there. Not only our room had this problem but we went with a big group and everyone else had the same issue. We went to the front and they said they would fix it, but they never send anyone over to fix it. No phone in the room either. We had a great time at the beach & pool because we were a big group but the facilities need a lot of work to get anything higher than a 2. The food in their restaurant was not good either. Also there is no elevator so if you get a room in the second floor you have to go up a long set of stairs. Five minute walk to the Centro where there is plenty of restaurants with good food.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are better & good location
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Been trying to get to San Felipe for the past 25 years and finally made it there for spring break '16, or the week after during "semana santa". The motel wasn't so bad in retrospect compared to the town. or the beach for that matter. The motel building is on the beach but behind a walk and the swimming pool, bar and restaurant. to get to the beach you have to walk all the way around, yet to get into the water it is sooo far off from the beach, the tide here is the strangest thing ever, it rises and falls to the extremes, in the morning the water is so far off, you're left walking on mud or silt for quite a distance, on your way there you will come across abandoned underwear, trash, beer cans and all kinds of waste, the water is not clear whatsoever, and during our stay, the weather for spring was more like winter, much warmer in San Diego, it was so windy and cold that kids, even our kids chose to leave the pool in search of warmth. At 84.00 a night?....well it was the only "motel" on the beach, with direct or semi-direct access to the beach, needless to say I will not ever return to San Felipe, Puerto Penasco at Rocky Point in Sonora is way the he#* much better, cleaner and resort like particularly the beaches, those are clean, the water clear and much more welcoming, honestly, I don't know why so much hype about San Felipe, its tired, worn down, dirty and unwelcoming. Never go there.

Room Tip: main building rooms are very big most have two queen size beds.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AllAccessSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We go to San Felipe 4-6 times a year (drive from So Cal), and although we now have a small house in nearby Club De Pesca, we have stayed at El Cortez in the past, and we regularly eat at the restaurant and drink at the bar. The rooms are a little dated, but adequate and comfortable, and the bar is a perfect laid back hangout. It can be very quiet at times, but if there are a lot of people in town it can get pretty crowded and fun. The restaurant has a really nice outdoor patio overlooking the beach - great location for dinner. The food is USUALLY good, although I've had a couple of so-so meals there in the past, luck of the draw I guess.

One last point, on March the 12th they will be having the annual Paella festival/competition there - a very fun event with restaurants and individuals cooking up huge paellas and vying for the top spot! We've entered a couple of times (my wife is from Spain so a paella afficionado) - we haven't won but it's a blast cooking up a big paella and a great party.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Dave451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Had a pleasant stay at Hotel El Cortez. Our hotel room was cleaner and a lot larger than we expected--we had a single room on the second floor with a king size bed. We were a little concerned that the door didn't have a deadbolt, so we did put a chair in front of the door when we went to bed each night in hopes that if anyone entered it would wake us up. That said, we didn't leave valuables visible in our room at any point during our stay. No, it isn't a 5-star resort, so if that is what you are looking for then you should look somewhere else. Didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but enjoyed a few cervezas at the Barefoot bar. They do have WiFi but the signal only works when you are in the bar. Short walk or drive to the Malecon (downtown area). Hotel is right on the beach and has Palapas and plastic chairs you can use. The pool area has lounge chairs & umbrellas.

Booked through Expedia and when we checked in at the hotel we were told that they no longer worked with Expedia and didn't have our reservation on file. They were able to find us a room and we paid there at the hotel and later were refunded by Expedia. Would stay here again but would book directly with the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Do not waste your money or ruin your stay by booking at El Cortez. I stayed there for 3 nights and I have bed bug bites all over, 12 in just my left arm. It ruined my weekend. Honestly I would prefer camping next time over staying there. Also the management is no good. Our neighbors were blasting a stereo and could not sleep, we ended up leaving at 3:00 AM feeling very frustrated and restless. I am still super itchy from the bites. A friend who stayed in the same hotel during the same time as us got broken into. We kept the do not disturb sign on at all times and it seemed to help. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank Blanca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews