We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Felipe Beach Village ”
Review of Motel El Cortez

Motel El Cortez
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Felipe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel El Cortez
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

First and last time taking a trip to San Felipe. The place was pretty tired and rundown lots of shutdown stores and businesses the place is in shambles very dirty the beach was filthy the water tides constantly fluctuating water was filthy dirty not very enjoyable went at quite possibly the worst time the weather was cold cloudy and very windy too cold to enjoy the pool much less the beach, don't waste your time or your excitement getting there, go elsewhere instead. The motel was not necessarily acceptable but the only thing available there, at least warm water and rooftop.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2015

Stayed at El Cortez for the past 5 years, every March. This really is the typical Baja motel-although better than most, reasonably clean. Floors are always tile, beds/bedding are adequate, not great. There is always hot water, a nice perk in Baja. Their location is their best benefit--right on the beach. Bring your own soap & shampoo, theirs is inadequate. The Barefoot bar is a nice place for an ice cold beer, margarita or cocktail. They will also sell you ice. You can order food there from the restaurant, as well. You can walk about 1/2 mile & be on the Malecon. I too have had check-in problems, so be wary, if you send payment, bring confirmation of it with you. Rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: Great ocean views from upstairs rooms, sandy beach right out front. Paella festival is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Stayed 2 nights in a comfortable room that needed clean sheets. Management did send
Sheets but took rather long to communicate. This place is right on the water with beautiful views. Rooms could use updating and fixing, walls, doorways, and service.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Americanaarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This Hotel did not accept our Expedia confirmation number, we were lucky and did get our rooms BUT 2 couples did not (they had even paid when they reserved).
They seem to be in a labor dispute, fortunately we took enough cash to pay (They are not accepting any cards at Hotel, bar and restaurant). We had a good time but paid too much for what they were offering.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank vaquero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Best part of hotel is their location - right on the beach. I didn't use their restaurant or bar so can't comment on them. I did use pool and it was packed with families. Room is rather small and no remote control for TV. All TV stations in Spanish so I didn't watch. Also, the TV was about fifteen years old and small. Deadbolt was broken and I was concerned but nothing happened. I think the pictures make it look better than reality. When driving into the property it looks great with the beach, buildings, restaurant, bar, disco, etc. But once you walk around and look at your room, it's just a cheap, budget motel. Warning: cash only so don't bring a credit card. Next trip, I would probably try a different hotel although for the $80 I paid for this hotel, it was OK - just not great.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
12  Thank pinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Motel El Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel El Cortez

Address: Avenida Mar de Cortes sur 270, San Felipe 21850, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > San Felipe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in San Felipe
Price Range: €39 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Motel El Cortez San Felipe, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing