We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in Loreto!”
Review of Sukasa Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loreto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sukasa Bungalows
Reviewed 5 July 2010

After meeting Joyce while in Mulege, we soon decided to stay at Sukasa while on a small trip down to Loreto. This was definitely one of the best decisions we made on that trip! The casita was nice and cozy with a roomy bathroom and little kitchen. We loved lounging in the garden and looking out at the malecon which is right in front of the bungalows. With Joyce's help we were even able to set up a surprise birthday party for a new friend in the garden complete with a mariachi band. Though the internet seemed to not work on our laptop other people staying there were able to pick it up. Overall, we had a great time at Sukasa and even stayed an extra night because we didnt want to leave. Thank you so much for a wonderful trip. We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

After closing up our home in the East Cape of Baja, we were looking for
a place to relax before our long trip north. Thank you Joyce, you provided
just that! We enjoyed the grounds so much as we lounged around the
gardens.

We were not disturbed by the malecon noise of the tradition weekend cruisers.
With the bedroom, bathroom door closed and air conditioner going, we
were undisturbed.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank benjamin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stayed 5 nights and loved it. Joyce is a great hostess-(by the way, we left for the airport in a big hurry and didn't have time to say goodbye, so this is our thank you and goodbye, Joyce!). Our first night was in the front unit and a bit noisy- Loretanos like to drive up and down the Malecon with radios blaring on Sat and Sunday nights- so on our trip back we asked for a quieter unit. Joyce was great, left us earplugs in case we didn't have them but they were not needed. Our first night must have been an abberation b/c our 4 nights were just great.
The Casita is clean and cute, video player and a nice selection of videos. It is the perfect place to relax, as the photos show. There are bikes for the shopping trips to pick up supplies. There is a full (tiny) kitchen. Carmen keeps everything clean and tidy, Joyce made us a connection for a great snorkle trip with Rosa and Tito. We saw 11 whales on the way out- 6 fin and 5(!) blue whales. Very unususal but wow!
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Beth & Joyce have managed to provide those extra little touches that make any town an enjoyable place to stay. Though Loreto is a cool little oasis on the Baja our stay at the Sukasa Bungalows was as almost as perfect as we could ask for. The only detracting factor was the occasional noisy nights on the malecon, which seems to be a local tradition and not to be trifled with.
Our hats off to the ladies and we wish them the best of success. My plans are to return to Loreto and to spend more time at Sukasa as I sure felt at home there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We arrived in Loreto spur of the moment and based on the reviews on TA went straight to Sukasa and were not disappointed. We booked the Yurt for a night and before the day was over we already told them we would be staying two extra nights. It was just that lovely. Joyce, Beth and Carmen are a wealth of information and helpfull to boot! Joyce arranged a (discounted! awesome!) fishing trip for us and overall just made us feel so welcome.
The Yurt is quaint and comfortable, books, dvd's and wifi are freely available and although it does become noisy all along the Malecon in the evening (we spoke with another couple who were staying in a hotel just down the road who experienced the same thing) the location is brilliant!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loreto hotels
34 km away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa at The Islands of Loreto
9.8 km away
Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
1.4 km away
Hacienda Suites
Hacienda Suites
#12 of 20 in Loreto
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#9 of 20 in Loreto
152 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Plaza Loreto
Hotel Plaza Loreto
#11 of 20 in Loreto
64 reviews
0.1 km away
Las Cabanas de Loreto
Las Cabanas de Loreto
#3 of 20 in Loreto
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukasa Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukasa Bungalows

Address: AV. Lopez Mateos S/N | Centro, Loreto 23880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Loreto
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Loreto
Price Range: €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful property is located on the malecon in Loreto, Baja with a seaside view of the Sea of Cortez. The grounds are tastefully landscaped with native plants, hammocks for relaxation and palapa-covered private patios. The main house (2100 sq. ft.) is fully equipped with kitchen, living room, dining room, 2 large bathrooms, upstairs master bedroom and Upstairs is a house-wide terrace with full view of the palm trees and Sea. Casitas #1 & #2 are complete with dining area, living area, bedroom, kitchen and full shower bathroom. The Mongolian yurt hosts a queen bed, table and chairs, small refrigerator and coffee pot with full shower bathroom attached. Cabana #1 is perfect for privacy with a private entrance, dining area, living area, bedroom, kitchen and full shower bathroom. TV and wifi included. All units include wifi and airconditioning. Long-term rates are available for those wishing to assimilate into the kind, Loreto culture. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing