We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab eating and great drinking”
Review of Pooky O'Leary's

Pooky O'Leary's
Ranked #18 of 331 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$25
Cuisines: European, Irish, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a small family run business operating since 2013. Our local chef provides authentic local cuisine and quality western food. We opened Pooky's Place as a restaurant in late 2013 and evolved into a THAIRISH Pub. In late 2016 we took the opportunity to move to a bigger location and named it Pooky O'Leary's. Customers can enjoy food,drinks, music, live sports and free pool, wifi, darts. As the club house for the local D.M.F.C. team we are proud to have 2 trophy shelves. As of mid 2018 we are still growing into the new place. Last updated 24/5/2018
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Had a great night at Pookys place, burgers were fab and the staff were all amazing. We will be back tonight for a pre dinner drink and look forward to more fun.

Thank realxingbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby O, Manager at Pooky O'Leary's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi relaxingbreaks,
Thanks for helping us with a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experiences at our place. We hope to still be here and still be the same the next time you're back.
Cheers and all the best.
Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Lot of choice, we had burgers and fish n chips, which were definitely worth our money and probably the best in Thailand so far ! Then you can enjoy a nice pool or dards game.. Test it, you won't regret it !

Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby O, Manager at Pooky O'Leary's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi MatthewJ,
Thank you for your high praise. We will try to live up to your praise. We just try to do our best and hope it's good enough.
Thanks again for your review and recommendation, they help us and we appreciate that.
Hope to see you again.
All the best.
Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve been away, in SE Asia for over 2 and a half months so any sign of a good burger every few weeks is a bonus for me.

My partner and I decided to try Pooky’s in Ao Nang on our first night due to the raving reviews. The burger was nice, not sensational or the best burger I’ve ever tasted but still a very good size and tasty nevertheless. The only downfall is we waited around 55 minutes for our two burgers. Considering this is their ‘signature’ I think this waiting time was a little excessive.

Slightly more forgivable if the restaurant was super busy but it wasn’t. Just left with a bitter taste, especially without an apology from the owner. We did tell the waitress we had waited a very long time so she was aware.

A little bit of a let down really. Average given for waiting time, not necessarily food, that was good enough.

Thank Grace_123_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby O, Owner at Pooky O'Leary's, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Hi Grace_123_M,
Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't leave fully satisfied. You were generous to say that the waiting time was a "little excessive". Normal wait times for our burgers are much shorter, there's no excuse and I apologize now. I'm sure we can do better if you're ever back again, since you thought the burger was tasty you could give us another chance.
Hope to see you again.
All the best.
Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Really nice people that work here. The Pooky burger was awesome.
Many semi locals hanging around which makes a great ambience.

Thank Morten2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby O, Manager at Pooky O'Leary's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Morten2013,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your food and time with us. People help make the atmosphere and we want them to come back so hopefully we will see you again.
All the best.
Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

The burgers and sides are absolutely amazing. Prices are good and the service is outstanding. I had to go back a second time to try the burger again and I was not disappointed.

Thank chantichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby O, Manager at Pooky O'Leary's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi chantichan,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review. Now that we have the time we would like to thank all the people that help keep us going. Without satisfied customers we wouldn't have a business so we will continue to do our best to give people what they want. Our goal is to provide quality food,drink,service and atmosphere. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experiences with us.
Hope to see you again.
All the best.
Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pooky O'Leary's also viewed

 

Been to Pooky O'Leary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing