We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best resort ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somkiet Buri Resort
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 17 October 2012

After Staying in a rather awful resort in Railay Beach this was a pleasant surprise especially for the cheap price. Large, modern, clean rooms. Most amazing pool area ive ever seen. And extremely friendly staff, a huge buffet breakfast. I would recommend a longer stay at this resort, a relaxing week.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed 3nights in September in the superior room. The room was spacious, equip with small safebox and free WIFI (however the connection was not very strong and stable). Walking distance to Aonang beach, and easily reachable for food all around, McD, starbucks, subway, just a few steps away.

The pool was nice and big. Room condition was OK - however night time when walking from the outside hotel to the room was a bit dark , becareful of gecko (lizards) and frogs at surrounding - which is not so comfortable, but its their natural habitat.

Breakfast was at standard.

Try it if you love natural habitat and greenery, a jungle feel hotel :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eileen730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This beautiful hotel is run by Thai Muslims and alcohol is not sold in the hotel so if you enjoy a cocktail round the pool or a few bevys over dinner, this hotel is not for you. However if you would like an amazingly relaxing place to stay, then I highly recommend Somkiet Buri
The front counter staff are very helpful and always smiling and nothing is to much to ask of them.
The rooms are very clean n spacious and nicely decorated.We had a pool view room on the second floor. Very comfy beds and lots of space to store all your goodies. There is a fridge in your room which you can fill with your own alcohol/drinks. A lovely touch was we received a platter of fresh fruit every day...it was lovely
Breakfast was included.........it was served in an open air gazebo....we enjoyed it immensely
You have a choice of eggs cooked how you like them and then a selection of other dishes to compliment your eggs. Cereal n toast was also available and help yourself coffee/tea .
The rooms are set amongst tropical gardens that are truly magnificent and a lovely pool with a spa can be found in the centre of the complex. The Somkiet is set back off the main street of Krabi so you get all the convenience without any of the noise.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again
My only critisism would be the hot water. We didn't really have any....it was only ever luke warm.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so request a ground floor room if you have any disability/ injury All rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sulliy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 2 kids and 4 other couples. The 4 couples all got deluxe rooms pool access and my family took the 2 bedroom suite. Great little hotel very quiet and hidden away. Was great for our weekend as the staff were happy to let us do what we want. Breakfast is good and we had dinner one night. then all 3 nights we were back on the terrace of our suite for drinks. The resort itself does not sell alcohol but this is fine because you can bring your own from 7/11 across the road (which is cheaper). Overall we had a great reunion weekend here and would be sure to stay here again on our return. Value for your bath unbeatable.

Room Tip: For extra space the big suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConorOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in a pool access room, i think 2202 was the room number. We found the hotel perfect for our 3 day stay, where we just needed to rest after our visits to BKK, Samui and Phuket. The hotel is beautifully set out, you really do feel like you in a lush tropical jungle. It also has an amazing pool, sunbeds are not a problem if you have a pool access room because 2 are provided on your patio.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped, we did find the bathroom a little dark though, but all in all the hotel is fantastic value. We booked on sawadee.com.
The breakfast selection i found a little thin, the usual suspects made the list minus pork products as the hotel is halaal, which wasnt a problem as we knew this before booking.
The location is fantastic too, just off the main road and a easy 5 minute stroll to the beach. There is free wifi in the rooms too, but i found the signal strength very weak in our room. I had to go outside to get some signal.
Because of the tropical surrounding expect lots of mozzies and insects. So keep the repellant handy day and night.
I would definitley recommend this hotel to friends and families, great stay at a great price!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 km away
Ava Sea Resort
Ava Sea Resort
#78 of 111 in Ao Nang
33 reviews
5.6 km away
The Nine Thipthara Klongson Resort
0.8 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Aonang Orchid Resort
Aonang Orchid Resort
#59 of 111 in Ao Nang
535 reviews
2.1 km away
Krabi Aquamarine Resort
Krabi Aquamarine Resort
#43 of 111 in Ao Nang
224 reviews
2.7 km away
Baan Habeebee Resort
Baan Habeebee Resort
#14 of 111 in Ao Nang
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: €35 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing