We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Ranked #53 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looking a bit tired”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here with 2 kids.
This place is a 3 star pretending to be a 4 star. Maybe once was a 4 star a few yrs ago?
The entire place (besides the beautiful foyer) is all looking a bit tired.
Coming from Australia where we dont do tipping, it was awkward having the staff linger for tips. I had not come accross this anywhere else in Thailand. This just tells me that management perhaps dont pay their staff appropriately.
Never saw one guest using the hotel computers - way too expensive with plenty of other places accross & down the road offering much cheaper services. There was alot of standing around looking bored by staff. Dinner service always looked a bit sad with only one couple in the resturant one night and many nights the bar band playing to no one.
The pool area again, looked a bit tired. In Australia, we use fake grass because of our dry climate where everything dies. I have no idea why you would need to use fake grass in the tropics. Fake grass is hot too, after all, it is plastic you are walking on. It all looks a bit tacky.
The pool was over chlorinated & always seemed cloudy in appearance.
Our room looked out over a water feature that had the same bits of rubbish floating in it for the entire week. Rooms were clean.
Nothing was obviously terrible at this hotel but in saying that, nothing was exceptional and I reckon you could do better staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Ao Nang - next time we will stay at Railay Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    296
    147
    59
    36
See reviews for
145
392
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and found it to be a perfect location. Walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and the beach. The beach itself isn't the prettiest but boat rides to any of the other beaches are only about 100Bhat.
The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was a good size and had a bath and shower. there is also a fridge and safe. We only ate once in the hotel restaurant as there are so many other places to eat but the service was good and the food very nice.
The pool area is clean with artificial grass surounding it which prevents slippy floor surfaces. There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols for shade. Most days we would be out on trips or sightseeing returning to the pool at about 3-4pm. The bar staff quickly learnt our order and kept us topped up.
Just over the road from the hotel there are a couple of restaurants and a spa( feel good). The spa is much cheaper than the one at the hotel and i would reccomend trying it.
Overall we had a lovely stay. no issues or complaints about the hotel at all. It was the perfect location for us and i would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zztavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay.
The room was spacious, on the second floor. Sadlly there was little view of the pool as the exotic plants shielded the view from the balcony to the pool.
The least enjoyable part of the hotel was the lobby as not all the fans were used and we found it uncomfortably warm.
The restaurant lacked atmosphere in the evening. However the Thai Buffet was delicious and was good value for money.
We ate out at Sawasdee and Carnavore, just opposite the hotel, and one down some steep steps by the supermaket. All very good. The Carnivore offers a great alternative to Thai (even home made chips) which after rice and spice all holiday is great.
The pool areas are great, offering both sun and shade.
I disagree that breakfast was mediocre. There was a huge choice. Asiian, american, british, mediteranean. What more could you want?
We took trips over to the Islands for snorkling and swimming. Well worth the money.
The beaches are a walk away but tuk tuk transport is cheap. They aren't much of a walk. It does mean that the hotel is in a quiet location. Always a bonus at night !
A most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flurwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Hundreds of Hotels to stay in Krabi and here we have another which is just an ordinary 3 star outfit clinging on to 4 star rating.

Like all Thai Hotels the first impression is the lobby, usually large and grand with bright lighting, background music and fresh flowers everywhere.

This one too is large but oh so uninspiring, dark, dull and totally uninviting. The location is about ten minutes walk from the ocean front where all or most of the shops and restaurants are which are, in the main, just the same as most tourist shopping in Thailand, that said, the ocean front is a must to be part of with hundreds of tour options available around the fantastic islands off the shores of Krabi, Phi Phi and many others are beautiful, do not miss the fantastic sunsets from the beach.

The Hotel, after check in you reach your rooms via a mass of concrete courtyard usually set up twice a week with plastic tables and chairs for a buffet for guests to enjoy, not bad value either at around £10 GBP per head.

Most rooms are at least one level of stairs upward and all are poorly lit at night. The actual rooms are really very good and most have good views either over pool and garden or rear over forestation.

Breakfast is mediocre at best and never varies, staff were pretty scruffy and seemingly not very interested either, the Hotel also has a restaurant / bar with nightly live music but during our 7 night stay not a single sole was in it, the band played to no one, how embarrasing.

The saving grace of this place is the gardens and pool area which is brilliant, tons of room and seperate pool ares for kids etc, swim up bar is lovely but again most of the staff were scruffily dressed and uninspiring just like it was too much trouble.

Finally, BEWARE AT CHECKOUT, we got the bill and on it was a cost for a minor accident we had in the room, the toothbrush glass fell over and broke, ok accidents happen but there it was added to the bill, overpriced or what for a small glass.

The real sting is what you pay, you are not told but spot it on your credit card receipt, they charge you in a currency of their choice and apply it at there own favoured exchange rate and we all know how bad Hotel exchange rates are, appalling and underhanded I think.

Choices for accommodaiton in Krabi are endless and you can do much much better than this place on the same budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ferrarilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I was anxious having read some reviews but the hotel was great. Its a ten minute walk from Ao Nang centre ( this suited us to get away from the bustle , although not the prettiest of walks !!!)

The hotel staff are extremely friendly and the gardens, dining areas , pools and rooms are very clean and tidy. Breakfast had adequate choices ( although skimmed milk as an option would be be welcomed )

Tips : Rooms are two floors be mindful as1st floor rooms require 3 flights of stairs and no lift. The beach in Ao Nang is a working beach ... its 100 baht each way to railay beach by long boat and well worth it !!!

We didnt book trips at hotel as there were so many agents on the strip and managed to negotiate some good deals although im sure the girl at hotel would be open to negotiations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiflarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 km away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,227 reviews
0.4 km away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#16 of 108 in Ao Nang
980 reviews
0.3 km away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#21 of 108 in Ao Nang
619 reviews
0.4 km away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Property: Krabi Thai Village Resort
Address: 260 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing