We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for very well made indian food”
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
Ranked #30 of 341 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$3
Cuisines: Indian, International
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Recommended. Helpful staff, nice and clean place and the food (especially indian) was great. 150 for pizza margarita, 250 for vindaloo chicken, 80 bread, 70 rise. Everything was very tasty.

Thank Pepa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A F M Safiqur R, Owner at Maharaja, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear valued customer we are grateful for your generous comments on us thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

I loved the Indian food here, and my mom enjoyed the pizzas. A great change of pace from Thai food. We ate here twice. The staff is friendly and the portion sizes are large!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A F M Safiqur R, Owner at Maharaja, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you very much for the nice review we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We have eaten here a number of times and the food is always excellent. The staff are friendly and efficient. The restauarnt is always busy. They cater for Thai, Indian and pizza and all the options are served as good sized portions. The prices are more reasonable than many other similar restaurants in the area. I can recommend this restauarnt and will visit there again.

Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A F M Safiqur R, Owner at Maharaja, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear valued customer thank you very for choosing us a GREAT RESTAURANT. We are very delighted to dine you. Your blessing gives us more inspiration to improve our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Ate at Maharaja our last night in Ao Nang. Having eaten at the Taj Palace the night before and eaten way too much, we were a bit more cautious about what we ordered this time round. We came here for Indian food, obviously, but since we were in Thailand we decided to have a mix of cuisines since this restaurant conveniently provided it.

My boyfriend and I shared one naan, one stir fried chicken with cashew nuts, one butter chicken, one tomyam soup, and one order of plain rice. The guy taking our order was hilarious - he correctly guessed which countries we came from just from hearing us talk, I think it's a hobby of his since he sees so many tourists come in on a daily basis. That experience became a talking point of us for the rest of our time at the restaurant :)

The food came out pretty quick - all was fresh and flavourful, and we dug in eagerly as we were super hungry from our day. Tomyum soup was just the right balance of sour and spicy, something that some places struggle to get right. Butter chicken came with a pat of butter on the top - not something I've seen before but I guess that makes it legit? Haha.

We left full and happy with our decision to have Indian food for the second night in a row. The service was warm and efficient and we felt relaxed and welcome the entire time. Thanks Maharaja for giving us a good last dinner in Ao Nang!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sputnikchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A F M Safiqur R, Owner at Maharaja, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear customer we are very grateful about your generous comments on us thank you very much. And it was me who took the order for your food. Its nearly 15 years I am doing this job & I would like to have more skills to do the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

The food, the service and the value for money were all excellent. We loved the pizza and calazone and would definitely recommend this. Next time we travel to Ao Nang we will include Maharaja on our eating list. We loved to be able to have a beer with our meal - don’t let Muslims tell you to stop serving alcohol - maybe they should relax and have a beer too.
The owner and his staff are all very welcoming and gave excellent service.
Thank you.

Thank psychosusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A F M Safiqur R, Owner at Maharaja, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear valued customer thank you very much for choosing Maharaja a great restaurant we appreciate your blessing and we would like to do our best for all of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing