We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
334
41
20
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
334
41
20
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country house halibut own garden guinea fowl pre dinner drinks sitting room course dinner open fire relaxing weekend an overnight stay county limerick tea coffee both nights porridge from start to finish stayed one night four poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Very comfortable and well appointed B&B near Adare. Beautiful gardens for walks. Cozy couches in front of fires. Room to spread out. Guest rooms are well-appointed. Service is superior.

Dining is lovely with and the dinner menu is sophisticated and non-traditional. Good wine list, too.

The inn's owner and host has won award for his hospitality. They are well-deserved.

Loved the baking demonstration re how to make their excellent scones.

All in all a terrific country inn.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms have nice views. Specify how big a bed you like.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whizzofactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here only for one night, we wished it was longer. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Siobhan. She was so pleasant to meet. We stayed in room 11A. It's a great room that has wonderful views of the property and town. She reminded us that our stay also includes a gourmet 4 course meal prepared by their on site chefs. Out our back french doors led to a walkway leading to the front of the property. Beautiful maintaining of the grounds. Inside the hotel are fine furnishings, paintings and decor that shows the time line of the hotel. What a great place for fine dining, atmosphere and the friendliest people we have ever met on any of our 3 visits to Ireland. We were also introduced to John Edward Joyce, the general manager. He greeted us like Siobhan, with the nicest welcome. My wife likes the appletini-martini she sometimes will have in the United States. They didn't have it available but Siobhan made an apple flavored substitute and surprisingly was BETTER than the ones in the states. We felt that service like this is top notch. Our room had all the amenities excluding an in room coffee and tea service, not a big deal as there are staff available that are happy to assist in making your stay enjoyable. Siobhan and another waiter tended to our 4 course dinner. Very tasty and delicious. There are other meals available there if you don't want to participate in the gourmet food experience that we did. Either way, you're going to enjoy a great meal and service there. It was nice that we received the excellent service from both John and Siobhan during our meals, it made us feel special that they were there to provide such great service. There is a walking path behind the hotel to see all the beautiful trees and surrounding landscape. On our next trip back to Ireland, we will definitely return and make plans to stay longer. This hotel has also won many awards and reviews they proudly display at the reception area.
By far, our best stay in Ireland.
Many thanks to John and his dedicated staff.
Joe and Cheryl

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joe17crewchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived late evening, guests were sitting in the lounges with after dinner drinks/coffee. The atmosphere was wonderful with the background noise of people who were in good form chatting and relaxing.
The fires were blazing and with the beautiful furnishings it was instantly relaxing, it was like getting a big hug as you walked in.
We were greeted by John wanting to ensure that we had eaten and once reassured he provided cake and refreshments. This set the mood for the whole weekend.
John and his complete team were excellent, friendly with nothing too much trouble. They obviously get on well together and are happy in their work.
The building is a beautiful country house with wonderful furnishings and decor.
The food was sublime, cooked to perfection.
We could not fault anything, this is a truly wonderful hotel and you must visit as you will seriously miss out on an amazing experience if you don’t
Thank you to the Mustard Seed.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank michaelanthonyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived for a two night stay in the beautifully appointed echo lodge. Service on the first night was genial but the food wasn't great my wife had pigeon starter and I had halibut was only so so. I had a pasta main which was watery and disappointing, my wife had goat which was tough.
On the 2nd night there was a food transformation with both starters and Mains excellent but my salad was perfunctory and wasn't assembled by a professional.
My desert of banana ice cream was exceptional, my wife's chocolate concoction was as dense as a neutron star.
The staff were continuously pushing us to order or complete a course which behaviour I found distasteful in a fine dining eaterie, regardless of how busy it was.
The young serving staff were overly familiar which may be down to training but was strange

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ProfessorRathgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We recently had dinner at the Mustard Seed. It was absolutely delicious. We had been in Killarney and were travelling home. being just outside Adare in the village of Ballingarry, it's the perfect stopover if heading back up to Dublin etc. I particularly loved the rhubarb dessert. John Edward and his team were so welcoming. Definitely recommend it and looking forward to going back in a few months time.

Room tip: Speak with John Edward and he will be only too happy to recommend something to suit your needs.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Aoife0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews