We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
334
41
20
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
334
41
20
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country house halibut own garden guinea fowl pre dinner drinks sitting room course dinner open fire relaxing weekend an overnight stay county limerick tea coffee both nights porridge from start to finish stayed one night four poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We recently stayed at Echo Lodge with our dog and had a wonderful time with outstanding meals and efficient, friendly staff. We stayed in one of the Mews rooms and it was perfect for anyone with a dog.
We had heard great things about the standard of food and we were not disappointed. So good was our experience on our first night that we dined in the restaurant on three of our four nights in the hotel. John Dory with rhubarb was a particular highlight.
John and his staff were first class and catered to our every need. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finbarr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We spent 2 nights in the dog friendly mews with our lurcher and had such a lovely, relaxing weekend! The set up is perfect if you're travelling with a dog with access to a private courtyard and the food in the restaurant is fab (we ate there both nights!). Really looking forward to returning. Thanks for a lovely break!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ainegilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

The Mustard seed is an upscale Guesthouse renowned for its fine dining. Welcome to the house was very personal, we were served tea/coffee and homemade shortbread and the lady gave us a brief history of the house. Dinner in the dining room was very good, silver service, some waiting staff issues (like the chipped drinking glass, and loads of ice in my whiskey when I asked for none) however this happens. The gardens there are used extensively to grow fruit, vegetables and herbs. We spoke to the young gardener who was very pleasant and I even helped him weed a little.

Our bedroom (room 3) is in the original house, and is filled with light due to huge windows on two walls. A four poster bed and a spacious bathroom, yes, with bath! No Tea/coffee making facilities or safe, but there is really no need for that, in fact we didn't even lock our room.

Breakfast was disappointing the following day. Very little choice on the buffet and the cooked breakfast was average. Coffee was good but some of the staff seemed to want to see the back of us even though we arrived in plenty of time before 'last call'

The host/owner, John, is very welcoming and friendly and it is this that makes Echo Lodge special.

The adjacent village of Ballingarry is very interesting being built partially into a hill and has a good supermarket if you need provisions or other stuff.

Put Echo Lodge on your To Do list.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in May 2018 and had an amazing experience. The food is beyond compare and staff are exceptional. I could not rate this hotel higher. The room we stayed in was old fashioned chic and fit in perfectly with the surrounding. We have eaten here on numerous occasions but this was the first time we stayed over. We are looking forward to going back in the very near future.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Niamh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We travelled with our 2 French bulldogs for a one night stay in the dog friendly mews with dinner and breakfast. I had heard great things but the night exceeded expectations. The accommodation is perfect for dogs with access to a secluded courtyard. Dinner was one of if not the best I have ever had. However hands down the best thing is the service so relaxed and everything you want for a quality place. Feeling a bit nervous with 2 dogs who are well behaved but also excitable but we had nothing to worry about. Even when one of them ran straight into the reception!

I would more then happily return again and looking forward to our next visit! Well worth every penny!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cin0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews