We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
334
41
20
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
334
41
20
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country house halibut own garden guinea fowl pre dinner drinks sitting room course dinner open fire relaxing weekend an overnight stay county limerick tea coffee both nights porridge from start to finish stayed one night four poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

From the moment we arrived - warm welcome extended to all. Food, room, log fire, tea provided during day, all added to make the occasion so , so enjoyable and memorable. Dan , the owner, was there to look after our needs, and reminded us to put "more logs" on fire and keep warm! . John was "discreetly " in the midst of the wedding party and saw that each and every one was being looked after during our two day stay. Not a sound to be heard during the night or early morning, therefore sleep assured! A visit to the "Mustard Seed" is a must for a family get together - birthday, anniversary, wedding .

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My husband and I have just attended a small family wedding in the Mustard Seed. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome. Dan, owner, did everything he could to make our stay memorable. Our room was very comfortable, with a sitting room and kitchenette. John, who looked after us on the day/evening of the wedding, was brilliant. Every wedding celebration should have a 'John'. What a man! Very helpful, cheerful and makes a very nice hot port!! Dinner on both days was top class...Michelin star quality. Great selection of game on the menu which was very unusual at a wedding but very welcome. Presentation of food was WOW....as was the taste. Can highly recommend Mustard Seed for a wedding. Very warm, welcoming, atmospheric with the most fantastic food and hosts. We will def revisit in the future . Lovely gardens.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and I (just married on the 28th) booked three nights with the Mustard seed to mark what would have been the end of a weeks hols after a very busy Christmas and wedding. It also marked the end of a trip around some fantastic hotels in the south east and south west of Ireland which the Mustard Seed most certainly stands shoulder to shoulder with.

When we came in we were met by Dan, a wonderfully helpful, friendly and very accommodating owner. He went quite out of his way to make us feel welcome and our room was very cosy and relaxed.

Some of the comments left would suggest that the decor is out of touch but I suspect that the ideal or feel of the place might have been lost. It creates a very warm, welcoming and cosy atmosphere, one which promotes guests to talk with each other and more importantly, *relax*.

Throughout our stay, Dan and the rest of the staff really did look after us (as well as making a bespoke breakfast for me, thanks again for the spinach Dan!) and the food is of the standard one would expect from a Blue Book member: High quality and very tasty.

We were pleasantly surprised at how much it all cost in the end. Great value for money.

Couldn't recommend them enough and I can certainly see the attraction of booking diner and staying over a night or two.

We most certainly will be going back.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We recently visited the Mustard Seed for dinner and an overnight stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the visit from the friendly welcome at the front door to the coffee in the library before we left. It has a wonderfully friendly and casual atmosphere, we mingled with other guests for coffee in from of a roaring fire. Dinner as always was just beautiful and thoroughly enjoyable. Would highly recommend the hotel for any sort of occasion. Cant wait for the next visit.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VR180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

The Mustard Seed is a treat and always delivers a special evening from the ambiance of the library, dining room and foyer to the friendliness and attentiveness of the people there to the creativeness of the food. The meal we had in Dec was probably the best I've ever had - Parmesan donuts with beet root mouse & a little cup of what I think was parsnip soup but couldn't remember the menu, this was followed by halibut with thyme foam. After watching master chef I was dying to see what the foam was like and it was good but nothing could detract from the halibut itself. It was divine. I had the cheese board to finish.
Looking forward to the next trip!

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FamilymumIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews