We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
47
28
21
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
28
21
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel other hotels sea view porto vecchio corsica
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

It is a very nice Hotel with good service oriented team members. It has very comfortable & clean rooms with beautiful gardens and sea view. Its restaurant and services was excellent. If you are looking for a high quality, relaxing and cozy holidays, it is a perfect place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayse583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014

La Plage is the casual sister property to Casadelmar in Porto Vecchio, but in this case, "casual" should be understood to mean "less formal" rather than lacking grace. The rooms are simply designed but comfortable and spacious. Ours faced the beach and we were lulled to sleep to the sounds of the delicate surf, and awakened to as much morning light as we chose to let in. A small patio allowed us to dine outdoors but still "in our room," which afforded a lovely privacy without feeling cloistered. We stayed at the end of September, during the very last week of the season, so there were no crowds and the tempo of the place, while still attentive certainly, was nicely winding down for a most relaxing experience. The is a single restaurant on property. The fare is diverse enough but it did effectively encourage evening jaunts to other locales. That said, there were plentiful options within a few miles, and Porto Vecchio is a hub of evening activity. Our stay was delightful in every way. It is easy to recommend this charming — though one must note, expensive -- small hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room, as not all have a beach view.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

It was a challenge to find a true luxury hotel in Corsica for under $1,000/night. We chose La Plage because it was on the beach, considerably less expensive than it's mother hotel Casadelmar (they offered a discount because we booked 30 days in advance), and it seemed to offer the service level and clean design that we were ready for after staying in various accommodations in Corsica (cute B&B's in smaller villages but did not offer much in the luxury department).

The service was good overall. The reception was nice, but I would of preferred a nice glass of champagne or a cocktail rather than iced green tea as our welcome drink. In the restaurant they are very attentive. We never had to wait for anything and our needs were anticipated (compared to all the other restaurants we dined at in France, we usually had to ask for everything and wait at least 10 minutes to receive it, which is fine if that's the norm, but it was a welcome change to have good service especially when paying resort prices). And the food was really delicious; fresh and simple yet perfectly prepared. The only complaint I have is with the beach service. They did not lay out our towels for us; they never came by to see if we needed anything, we always had to go up and order (they did remove our dishes when finished). Also, on a Sunday morning, the beach chairs were stacked and locked, and no one was around until 10:30 am! We had to go get a towel and lie on the sand until finally someone showed up - and he only started unlocking the chairs, he didn't even offer to give us chairs first, we had to approach him! It irked us but they did comp our coffees.

The rooms are well designed, clean, nothing amazing, but definitely a welcome change compared to the hard mattresses, rough sheets and bumpy pillows we decided were standards at the other hotels we stayed at in Corsica (mostly 3-stars to be fair). All the normal luxuries you expect are present. Our room, #40, was directly next to the restaurant, separated only by a fence, but I think it is the only room with both direct beach access and a view of the ocean. We didn't walk the property, however, I didn't see any other rooms with these features. I think it is the best room if you don't mind the proximity to the restaurant. We never felt like we didn't have enough privacy, although we could hear the music for most of the day (never too loud to really be annoying though).

I think it's a great choice for this area if you want a bit more luxury and don't want to pay the Casadelmar price.

Room Tip: #40 is a standard room size (I think) with both direct beach access and sea view, but it's next to the restaurant.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed during the first week of September 2012 for two nights at the hotel.

Location, hotel and rooms: The hotel has a little beach in front of it with loungers. The hotel grounds are very well-kept although this might also be the result of the very recent opening. The rooms are spacious and decorated in a minimalistic beach style. Each room has a little terrace with a table for two and loungers and some green around it. A real lawn would be much better than the articifial grass currenly in place. The hotel has no gym. Guests can use the gym at the Casadelmar but this requires a 35-40 min drive and EUR 50/60 is charged. The gym at Casadelmar is outdated and small.

Service: good. Upon arrival a porter was immediately ready to take our luggage. Staff is friendly and spares no effort to meet your requests. Only the guy at the beach was somewhat slow: just offering towels when we arrived at the beach but he did not come once to ask whether we wanted a drink. A big minor is the transport to the "mother" hotel opposite of the bay, Casadelmar. We went their twice (once for dinner at the gourmet restaurant which was worth every single penny and once for a massage which wasn't really special, mainly because of the setting/ accomodation). La Plage offers a shuttle boat for free to Casadelmar. However, when it rains or the sea is choppy due to strong winds the boat doesn't go. When we asked for alternative transport, the hotel suggested taking a taxi which would be approx EUR 75 for a single trip. La Plage should offer a free alternative if the boat shuttle doesn't operate. Note that it takes 35-40 min to get from La Plage to Casadelmar by car.

Breakfast: The hotel offer a continental breakfast for a hefty sum of EUR 32 which is fine but then you would expect at least some fresh fruits and maybe even an egg. However, these are only available a la carte against an extra charge. The second morning we just went outside to a nice bakkery.

Dinner: We went out for dinner (casadelmar and some other place closer to the hotel) but the menu at the Grill looked very good.

Overall: This is a very good hotel but unfortunately not worth the money. We would just simply expect more of everything (the rooms, better service, alternative shuttle service to Casadelmar better breakfast and a gym). The hotel is nice but no "wow" factor.

Room Tip: 41, 42 and 43 are closest to the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LBAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I visited this hotel when staying nearby to consider for a future stay. I did not stay the night or eat the food. However, I know the area well and can provide some information having visited.

Last year this was an almost derilict chalet holiday park. This year, after a refurbishment, it is one of the most expensive hotels in France! True - the setting is beautiful. And there are very few options in top end hotels in Porto Vecchio (plenty of great villas) - if any. But the prices are eye watering. Rooms start at €500-600. The grill menu has €25 for ceasar salad (starter) and €45 for steak. The restaurant is 50% more expensive than comparable nearby options. For the hotel, there is maybe no comparable nearby option. But on the Cote d'Azur you would be in a prestige property for these prices - not a converted holiday park.

So, if money is no object, and you really want to be in this beautiful part of the world, it's maybe the best option. But brace yourself....

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews