We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$400
View deal
Agoda.com
US$295
View deal
Booking.comUS$401
Priceline
TravelocityUS$400
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
619
58
10
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
619
58
10
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george cooper tea plantation sri lanka outdoor shower boutique hotel private pool his team cooking class sister hotel galle fort tuk tuk monitor lizards paddy fields kk peacocks jungle villa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

Already the road leading to this beautiful boutique hotel is great. Upon arrival the friendly staff is giving us a warm welcome. Our villa was just amazing, every little detail was right. Beautiful colors, the best bed I slept in for a long time and loved the couples shower. The food was wonderful and the whole vibe around the place was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this beautiful place…. If you want something really special, go for one of the villa’s with private pool

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HeidiV79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Cooper, Owner at Kahanda Kanda, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2021

Dear Heidi

Thank you for the lovely review and so glad that we met your expectations!

Wishing you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2021

Everything you have heard is true!
Such an outstanding property!!!
The rooms are magnificent, and the nature and animals and landscaping are immaculate
The yoga instructor/ masseuse is divine!
The whole staff is so friendly
It was truly difficult to leave!
Can’t wait to go back

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank michaelwinnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

Such an amazing experience in the middle of the forest, the interior of the room was unique, we had everything we wanted to make our stay comfortable and fun. The food and service were amazing. The staff was very friendly and welcoming specially aruna he was very helpful.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emanaM7444PV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2021

We stayed here after going to Yala knowing we would go to Galle to explore the Galle Fort afterward. The property was very quiet due to Covid, so we were the only guests at the time and couldn't leave the property. But we were able to keep ourselves busy as the property arranged for us to have massages and private yoga sessions daily - which was wonderful! The jungle provided plenty of entertainment with the noises of the peacocks, other birds, monkeys, and even cows!? We stayed in the KADJU room and enjoyed the private inifinty plunge pool that overlooked the jungle and tea estate where locals worked to pick tea and were very happy to see us (we waved from the pool)! Hotel staff member Ashen provided wonderfu service with a smile and was very friendly. The meals were exceptional as the food was absolutely delicous. We had wonderful food during our entire time in Sri Lanka but Kahanda Kanda stands out with some of our favorite meals. The room was clean, comfortable and stylish with what felt like a British royal/regal feel. The bathroom was huge with a wonderful soaking tub and rainshower. A few minor details were missed but likely due to Covid. During normal times, I'm sure this property exceeds expectations and would receive a Excellent score an Excellent from me.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsAndRambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2021

This hotel is special and not a typical hotel. The room felt very sophisticated with British decor yet the outside has an Asian feel. Our room had a lovely plunge pool with an amazing view of the jungle.

I was there during July 2021 so there were very few guests and few options of things to do. We did yoga and got great massages. I am not sure our guest treatment would be the same if we were there in non Covid times... as the hotel seemed very short on staff and we had very little interaction with them.

That being said, the main person Ashen planned for our meals every day and was so happy and accommodating. The chef really did make great and delicious food. (Pictures attached)

I think our experience might have been different during non-covid times. The room and the plunge pool were really nice and if you are in that area, I would recommend giving this hotel a few nights.

Room tip: Its the jungle. The Peacocks are LOUD - bring some ear plugs.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohreringTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews