We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly formed, perfectly located”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside Crocus Cottage - south facing and sheltered, a real suntrap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Crocus Cottage - south facing and sheltered, a real suntrap.
Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Outside Crocus Cottage - south facing and sheltered, a real suntrap.
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen area
Kitchen area
Kitchen and dining area
Double bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
The view of Crocus Cottage from the courtyard.
Patio area outside Crocus Cottage, with a sturdy wooden bench and a patio table and chairs.
The view looking south from Embleton Bay, with Dunstanburgh Castle in the background.
The view looking north from Embleton Bay, just a stroll up the beach to the village of Low Newton.
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
G S
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfectly formed, perfectly located”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in this cottage located in the centre of the village. Everything you need for a self catering stay, quiet and, indeed, cosy. Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, Greys Inn and Blue Bell Inn provide more than adequate local places to eat out. Great for cycling and walking. Embleton Beach is fabulous and there are plenty of others nearby. Golf course nearby. Visit Craster, Newton by the Sea, Alnmouth, Bamburgh, Lindisfarne/Holy Island and Warkworth. Travel to Seahouses for trips to the Farne Islands to Puffin watch. Take tea at Howick Hall. I would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tremendous location
Liked least: Stairs tricky for more elderly guests
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's much appreciated. Hope to welcome you again in the future.

John
Cosy Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat - more a goldfish bowl”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Embleton is a great location - pubs, shop, post office with walks to beach and golf club. But, with the whole of the frontof the 'cottage' being glass if one wanted privacy you had to have the curtains drawn as the staff of hotel opposite used outside of the kitchen area for smokes and meal breaks. Also next door neighbours had to walk towards the property to get in. We did not take a shower (there was a bath) as shower head very uninviting. The cottage did not have a cosy feel as it had no cottage features except for the small rooms upstairs. Tight parking as often hotel guests parked in the courtyard despite a warning notice and delivery vans often stopped vehicles getting either in or out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village and surrounding area
Liked least: Dusty dark lampshades in the bedrooms and lack of privicy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Barry, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed Embleton. I am surprised at your complaint regarding the number of windows in Crocus Cottage, I would have thought that most people would see this as a good thing and I am more surprised that you didn't look carefully at our excellent photographs of the cottage before you booked - these clearly show the windows on the front.

We always try to act on credible, well thought-out feedback from our guests, which is why last year we erected a fence/screen outside the front of the cottage to help provide more privacy for our guests. However, I am sure that if one stands at the windows and peers towards the hotel, one will indeed see the hotel staff - which I can only presume is what you were doing in this case.

You are incorrect about the next door neighbours having to walk towards Crocus Cottage to enter their own cottage. They may have chosen to do so, but why, I can't explain - perhaps you could have spoken to them about it? There is absolutely no need for the nieghbours on either side to do this as each cottage has its own parking space directly in front and its own path to access its own patio which is outside its own front door.

I am sorry that you felt you were unable to take a shower. I am not entirely sure what an 'inviting' shower head looks like, but I did take the time to have it checked and I can confirm that it was lovely and clean, to the same high standard that our cleaners always leave things for our guests.

With regard to the parking situation, parking is not tight in the courtyard - Crocus Cottage has a parking space large enough for a car to have its doors open on both sides. In all the time I have spent there and from all our other guests, I have never once seen or heard that guests from the hotel have used our courtyard for parking.

Whilst I believe it is important for our guests to be able to provide honest feedback to inform other potential guests, it is also important to note that with the right of being able to 'speak your mind' comes the responsibility of speaking truthfully and I don't believe your comments regarding the shower head or the parking situation are anything other than misleading. Moreover, whilst I appreciate that some people are simply more pre-disposed to complaining than others, I don't think it is appropriate to attempt to tarnish our reputation by complaining about things that are quite simply beyond our control - for example I cannot explain why your neighbours chose to walk towards your front door, but I can assure you that I have provided them with neither a reason nor a need to do so. Related to this, I also can't control the quality of your mobile signal - which you also complained about in your voicemail, when you called to complain that you had run out of toilet roll.

We always welcome feedback from our guests and we aim to do everything we can to ensure that our guests' stays are as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Whilst the majority of the feedback we have received so far suggests that we are succeeding in this aim, we certainly don't take this for granted and always act on credible feedback to further improve the quality of the product we offer.

Kind regards,

John
Cosy Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta...
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Crocus Cottage is ideally placed in the middle of Embleton within easy reach of the shop and post office and three pubs. We ate at Greys twice and the food was excellent and the landlord and staff very friendly. Craster is nearby with its famous smoke house and superb restaurant.
We can also recommend The Horseshoe Inn at Rennington for its good food and friendly landlady.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: It was very comfortable
Liked least: Unfortunately there is no view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Marietta. We hope you can come back and stay with us again soon!

John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim T
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at Crocus Cottage for a short break. Booking was easy. The cottage was lovely. It was clean, bright and modern and had everything we needed. Taking a dog was no problem either. Very comfortable and very relaxing. Location was excellent with a little village shop and the beach was within easy walking distance and the views are stunning. The village also has a lovely little pub which welcomed dogs which was a bonus having taken our little american cocker spaniel with us on our trip. I would recommend this cottage and would definitely go back again. Excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ_1986
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hideaway”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Very comfortable little holiday rental in a quiet location. The cottage was very clean and obviously well kept. The only thing I would change is the inclusion of a wood burner.

I would also recommend a walk to Embleton Bay to catch the sunrise and a trip to the nearby Ship Inn for Real Ale brewed on site!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing