We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Wonderful! Magnificent! Splendid! Awesome! Great! Fandabidozi!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cisnadioara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Secret Transylvania Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Cisnadioara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Just returned from a weeks stay with my 17 year old son & we had an amazing time! So much to do & see & all the staff are exceptional! Alin, we miss your sense of humour! I highly recommend the bear watching, mountain ridge walking and the mud & salt lakes! We'll be back! Possibly in the winter for some skiing & the ice hotel.
A special thank you to Bob & Sue for making my son's birthday special!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

Took my daughter for a late eighteenth birthday present.....so glad that I did!! We had an amazing time in beautiful surroundings, made even more special by the welcome from Bob and Sue. The rooms were lovely and homely, with everything you needed. I have never experienced such generous hospitality form the home cooked meals, the barbeque round the pool, the restaurant on our final evening and the fantastic trips. Alin was a fantastic driver and guide, we enjoyed every minute of our days out and the company of the other guests. If you are thinking of visiting Transylvania with a teenager, I would highly recommend Secret Transylvania!! Loads to do and see, my daughter wasn't bored once!!! By the end of our stay we felt like we were on holiday with friends and were really sad to leave. Already planning our next visit!!!

Room Tip: The pool room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

If you have ever thought about visiting Transylvania I urge you to book, now!! This was by far the best place we have visited in a while. Our hosts Bob and Sue could not have been more accommodating or welcoming. The setting is stunning, the home cooked food delicious and the welcome fantastic. The tours were exactly what we hoped for - a shout out to our driver/guide Aleen!!! It was non-stop sightseeing all around beautiful Transylvania. Some of the fortresses and citadels were simply breathtaking. Travelling with other guests just adds to experience, it really is a "family atmosphere". Van Helsings bar was great fun, and we even had chance to squeeze in few hours round the pool. Can not recommend this experience strongly enough.

Room Tip: Book into the main house, beautiful rooms. Annex was also superb (especially if you like the sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 657lorrainet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

My husband and I have recently returned from another tour with Jez and Di via the Secret Transylvania Company.
This time the tour was to the Danube Delta in Romania.
As the tour was to start from Bucharest, and as we had not visited the capital city before, we decided to arrive a day early to enable us to explore the city.We were able to to catch the 783 bus right outside the airport to the Piata Romania.It was then only a short walk to our wonderful hotel The Mercure, right in the centre of Bucharest.
We spent the next day exploring this fascinating City, which could be another story in itself!
Ever the professionals Jez and Di arrived dead on ten o'clock at our hotel as pre-arranged to start the tour.
We were driven to Tulcea where we stayed overnight at the Delta Hotel, a beautiful hotel with a balcony overlooking the river Danube.
The onward journey now had to be taken by boat as there are no cars beyond this point.
We had a leisurely three hour cruise down to Crisan taking in the views and wildlife of the river.
At Crisan we stayed in a charming Pension.
The next day we hired a small, open boat and the pilot navigated us through the spectacular, narrow channels of the Delta and into the many huge open lakes..(We felt very fortunate that Jez and Di were able to organise this in Romanian, a definite
advantage in the Delta!) The Delta is a paradise for iconic birds. As we weaved our way through the narrow channels we could hear the incessant calls of the Cuckoo and many other birds.we passed tall reeds and saw many birds roosting in the magnificent trees.As we slid into the huge lake we could see the beautiful Pelicans.We also saw Cormorants, Herons, Woodpeckers,Kingfishers and many more.We were also very lucky to see Jackals and Wild Bore with her three piglets on the river bank.
You are transported to a world of stunning water lilies of vibrant yellow and pure white and the sight of a million glistening frogs watching you with their sparkling eyes as they sing on the Lilly pads.
The next day our water pilot took us fishing and treated us to an impromptu barbecue of Pike, delicious!
After lunch we were dropped off via the boat to Sulina.We visited a beach with beautiful white sand where we swam in the Black Sea and collected shells (Honestly I felt we could have been somewhere in the Caribbean!)
We stayed overnight in Sulina and visited the British Cemetry, the lighthouse and museum before catching the fast speedboat back to Tulcea.
After another night in the Delta Hotel we started our trip back towards Sibiu stopping on the way at the Pivnitele Rhein and Co Pension and Winery, which was fantastic.Jez and Di also managed to squeeze in a trip to the Peles Castle, a Neo Renaissance castle in the Carpathanian Mountains,which was beautiful.
We returned to Sibiu to one of the Secret Transylvanian flats and stayed a further week in the wonderful old town of Sibiu managing to join another couple of trips run by Sue and Bob at Secret Transylvania.
This trip was so much more than we could have expected, we did so many amazing things with Jez and Di our amazing tour guides.Jez was,as usual a truly excellent and professional driver. We would thoroughly recommend that this trip be added to anyone's bucket list!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank liddyroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed with Bob and Sue for a week and had a fantastic time. They were full to the rafters when we asked to book, so they let us stay in the "pod", which they usually keep for family and friends. The room was really comfortable and very homely.

Communication prior to the trip was brilliant. Di and Sue are very quick to respond to emails and we arranged our transfers with ease. I thought the holiday represented very good value for money considering all the activities we did and the huge amount of food we ate!

The trips with Bob and Alin were great. There are many places you will visit that truly are a "secret". There is no way you would find it or be able to negotiate your way inside without a local. Both Bob and Alin have a great sense of humour and lots of local knowledge... just don't believe what Bob tells you about the bee's knees!

We crammed so much into a week - other than bear watching, we were pretty flexible about activities as we knew nothing about Transylvania! The itinerary Bob drew up for us was great and we felt like we got a really varied mix of activities covering lots of different interests. Highlights for us were bear watching (of course), a visit to the mud baths, Honeduara, and Fagaras castle.

All of the other reviews are right: Sue's cooking is fantastic. There wasn't a single meal we didn't love. When we ate out, Bob's restaurant choices were also great. We also really enjoyed spending time with all of the other guests in the evening and on our various trips, but if you only want to spend time alone you might not enjoy this aspect and might prefer to stay in one of their flats and not take the "all inclusive" option.

Sue and Bob are super accommodating for all their guests' needs, including arranging a transfer to Cluj for us at 2am. They even sent us off with a packed supper for the journey - so thoughtful.

We'd definitely recommend this trip if you want to get the most out of a visit to Transylvania. We quite fancy the ice hotel, so we might see you again in the winter!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hettyhammonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Secret Transylvania Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Transylvania Guest House

Address: Str Biserilicor 15, Cisnadioara, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Cisnadioara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cisnadioara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Secret Transylvania accommodation is in traditional Saxon houses, renovated to a modern standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Transylvania Guest House Hotel Cisnadioara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing