We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Transylvania Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
237
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
237
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housesecret transylvaniabran castleice hotelbear watchingexcellent hostsother guestsfortified churchcooked breakfastfantastic holidaygreat funlocal beerbeautiful countrysense of humourtailor madelocal knowledgepacked lunch
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We booked a week with Secret Transylvania after a recommendation from friends. We were not disappointed. Our initial contact was with Di via e-mail and she couldn't have made the booking process more simple or flexible. We booked Casa Verde as we were two couples and wanted the facility to spend time on our own if we wanted. It is an easy 10 minute walk from the main house and is comfortable with plenty of space in the bedrooms and en-suite facilities.

On arrival in Sibiu, we were met by Bob and hosted by him and Sue. Bob was our driver every day and we had great fun with him, he has a mischievous sense of humour and is full of interesting information about Transylvania and the sites we visited. The flight from Luton to Sibiu gets in after midnight so it was great to be met and whisked straight to the house. Sue provided some really good home-made soup with rolls and a cake, which were all excellent and very welcome.

Our itinerary was agreed with Bob and was full on - I can't believe how much we crammed in. That was our choice and they are flexible so if you want to spend a day or two lounging by the pool it isn't a problem. The excursions were really good, although some of them are quite a long car journey (up to three hours for the furthest). This wasn't a problem for us as the journeys are broken up with stops for refreshments or for visits to other places of interest. You may also spend time with their other guests on excursions or during meal/pub times and we were lucky that all the other guests we met were really good company. Speaking of meals, Sue's cooking is excellent and the meals we had out were all good which is a testament to Bob's local knowledge. Highlights for us were the bear watching trip, the beautiful lush Transylvanian countryside and seeing lots of Storks nesting.

If you're looking for a tailor-made tour of Transylvania with excellent hosts, good food and drink and stress free excursions look no further. As hosts Bob and Sue can't do enough to help and when we left it was like saying goodbye to old friends. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MrFun239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

We booked the trip through Secret Transylvania with whom we had visited during the summer and had found to be excellent hosts.

During the summer, we had driven up the Transfagaras Highway but during the winter it is impassable due to the snow.  This time, we did the journey by cable car and had a fantastic view of the beautiful scenery.  The contrast between the seasons was stunning, we had walked round the lake in the summer and now it was frozen solid.  There were various snow related activities to do, we opted to be pulled round on an inflatable boat by snowmobile which was great fun.  We also travelled through the closed off road tunnel to get some superb views from the other side.

The food was excellent with either an option to eat at the cabana or the ice hotel itself.  The rooms in the ice hotel itself were beyond what I could imagine.  Each room contained themed ice carvings, we had the Passion of Christ room, other themes included Jaws, Harry Potter, Smurfs etc.  The separate igloos were brilliant and ice church was stunning and we couldn’t believe the attention to detail.  It truly was a special holiday for us and it was nice to enjoy some mulled wine before settling down to sleep which was surprisingly comfortable.

What really topped the trip off were the excellent guides.  Secret Transylvania is a family run business who really know how to look after you.  Sue, Bob, Di and Jez really go the extra mile to help you choose the activities that suit you.  The cooking is absolutely superb and they have excellent local knowledge and really helped us get the most out of the experience and remain safe on the mountain.  They also supplied us with really good waterproof clothing which was essential in ensuring that you remained warm and dry in the snow and ice.

Secret Transylvania also allow you to do a range of other trips to add on to the holiday such a visit to Bran Castle or a day of skiing.  They always do the trips with a small number of guests allowing you the freedom to customise your experience.  They truly make you feel like a welcome friend rather than a guest.

We are looking forward to another trip with them at the end of the year for the Christmas Market in Sibiu.  Sibiu is the closest airport and Bucharest is about 6-7 hours away.

Stayed: February 2017
2  Thank cidervampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

A massive thank you to Bob and Sue for an amazing weekend, we had so much fun up the mountain doing all the activities. Tunnel trek was very informative and hard going with the weather but well worth it, still can't believe we were walking on the lake... Glad we did the Ice Hotel experience and managed to stay there the whole night. Highly recommend anyone to try this, the whole area was truly breathtaking. Sibiu is a very quaint city with lots of restaurants and can highly recommend the Italian in the small square. Sue's Banana Cake is to die for. Overall a wonderful weekend away.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank michelle26ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Having been to the Ice hotel in 2016 we decided to take our children and grand children on a snow break. We found Secret Transylvania on a web search WHAT A FIND!! From start to finish they, Di, Bob & Sue could not do enough . The booking was handled by Di and was quick to, almost taylor make, the break for us,even when we had to change our plans it was no problem. But the main thing is the Welcome you get when reaching the guest house. There is a very cosy little bar exclusivley for guests and is "self-service" so open when you want it to be.
The guest house we were staying in was a few minuets away from the main house and consisted of two large bedrooms both en-suite and a fully functional kitchen , it was very cosy, clean and warm.
We stayed on an inclusive basis , which brings us to the food.Served in their main house. The food , lunch , dinner and breakfast was clearly home cooked and plentiful, it tasted delicious and was served by Bob and Sue who are the real stars of this story. We have travelled the world and never had such natural and convivial hosts as Bob and Sue, nothing was too much trouble. Bob escorted us up to the ice hotel and took care of everything and sue stayed at the guest house looking after us there
We took their Bronze tour @ £195 pp , what we got for that was exceptional value for money. If you are thinking of going any where in Transylvania go straight to the Secret Transylvania web site and book now , you will not be disappointed, we certenly were not, and plan to return soon Thanks from all the Chalk family XX

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 8brian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

My partner , her two girls and myself wanted something different for birthday celebrations , we contacted Sue at Secret Transylvania who managed to get us booked into the ice hotel just a day before the birthday which was great .
We had long delays going to Luton Airport and missed our flight , we flew out the next morning but to an airport some 100 miles away from Sibiu . This was no problem for Sue who sent our driver John to meet us complete with packed lunch and then took us to a Salt Mine on the way back for a visit which was great .
We booked into the guest house and met Bob who was a great host throughout our stay .
We were given a room above the dining room , please beware ! the door lintle is very low and upon entering for the first time I cracked my head on it and took off a fair bit of skin.........
The two girls were in the room nearest the road , apparently in Romania there are no mains drains but cess pits , the air outside the room smelt very unsavoury , what this is like in the summer I do not know .
Our trip to the ice hotel was better than expected , great cable car ride , plenty of activities there , we had lovely clear blue skies so the views were fantastic , and Bob as usual was very accommodating and full of jokes .
The meal on the ice tables that evening was wonderful considering the cold .
One word of warning though do not think the ice hotel is warm in any way , I just could not sleep with the intense cold and at four in the morning abandoned ship in favour of the cable car warm room..........
We had a trip to Bran castle which the girls loved but it is a fair journey .
We did not meet Di or Jes but Bob and Sue certainly make you feel at home and her cooking is top class.........even had a birthday cake for us , when you go there ask Bob to show you how to open a bottle of bubbly with an Axe !

Many Thanks Bob and Sue for making the trip memorable .

Room Tip: choose room above dining hall but be very very careful of low doorway .
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank buzbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jezallen, Owner at Secret Transylvania Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear Dave, Sherill and girls,

thank you so much for reviewing us and we're so glad the holiday exceeded your expectations. I would just like to say though, Romania does have mains drains in all towns and most villages. Presently Cisnadioara is an exception but work on this is due to start this spring.
We're delighted you enjoyed the catering, cake and bubbly! Thank you for being such wonderful guests and we do hope to see you all again sometime. Possibly the girls, when they're backpacking through in just a few years :)!

All very best wishes, Sue and Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews