We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cisnadioara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Secret Transylvania Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Cisnadioara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2017

I found Secret Transylvania on Trip advisor having searched for a holiday where I could see bears in the wild. We were not disappointed. We went for the inclusive option where we were taken out on a different excursion each day. On the bear day we saw 10 bears (from a hide), including a mum and baby. The day was finished off by a meal cooked and served by a Romanian lady in her own home - her warmth and kindness was wonderful. I think the accommodation holds a total of 10 guests, so most days you are with other people though on a couple of days we were on our own as the others were doing different trips. We were fortunate to be with a good crowd. We ate our evening meals out about half of the time. We would have preferred an extra one or two at home as Sue's cooking is really, really good. There is a good mix of excursions some of which involve a long drive. These were usually broken up by stops at other place on route. We particularly enjoyed the rural day which was closer to home. In short we would definitely recommend staying here and seeing some of Romania. Bob, Sue Jez and Di are excellent hosts and went out of their way to make our holiday memorable. It was our wedding anniversary while we were with them and they went out of their way to make it special. Many thanks to all of them and they have our unreserved recommendation. Thanks Bob and Sue.

Room Tip: Pool room was good. Sometimes got wifi in room but free wifi is available in the bar.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ageinghippy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Secret Transylvania Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

We booked a week with Secret Transylvania after a recommendation from friends. We were not disappointed. Our initial contact was with Di via e-mail and she couldn't have made the booking process more simple or flexible. We booked Casa Verde as we were two couples and wanted the facility to spend time on our own if we wanted. It is an easy 10 minute walk from the main house and is comfortable with plenty of space in the bedrooms and en-suite facilities.

On arrival in Sibiu, we were met by Bob and hosted by him and Sue. Bob was our driver every day and we had great fun with him, he has a mischievous sense of humour and is full of interesting information about Transylvania and the sites we visited. The flight from Luton to Sibiu gets in after midnight so it was great to be met and whisked straight to the house. Sue provided some really good home-made soup with rolls and a cake, which were all excellent and very welcome.

Our itinerary was agreed with Bob and was full on - I can't believe how much we crammed in. That was our choice and they are flexible so if you want to spend a day or two lounging by the pool it isn't a problem. The excursions were really good, although some of them are quite a long car journey (up to three hours for the furthest). This wasn't a problem for us as the journeys are broken up with stops for refreshments or for visits to other places of interest. You may also spend time with their other guests on excursions or during meal/pub times and we were lucky that all the other guests we met were really good company. Speaking of meals, Sue's cooking is excellent and the meals we had out were all good which is a testament to Bob's local knowledge. Highlights for us were the bear watching trip, the beautiful lush Transylvanian countryside and seeing lots of Storks nesting.

If you're looking for a tailor-made tour of Transylvania with excellent hosts, good food and drink and stress free excursions look no further. As hosts Bob and Sue can't do enough to help and when we left it was like saying goodbye to old friends. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MrFun239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

We booked the trip through Secret Transylvania with whom we had visited during the summer and had found to be excellent hosts.

During the summer, we had driven up the Transfagaras Highway but during the winter it is impassable due to the snow.  This time, we did the journey by cable car and had a fantastic view of the beautiful scenery.  The contrast between the seasons was stunning, we had walked round the lake in the summer and now it was frozen solid.  There were various snow related activities to do, we opted to be pulled round on an inflatable boat by snowmobile which was great fun.  We also travelled through the closed off road tunnel to get some superb views from the other side.

The food was excellent with either an option to eat at the cabana or the ice hotel itself.  The rooms in the ice hotel itself were beyond what I could imagine.  Each room contained themed ice carvings, we had the Passion of Christ room, other themes included Jaws, Harry Potter, Smurfs etc.  The separate igloos were brilliant and ice church was stunning and we couldn’t believe the attention to detail.  It truly was a special holiday for us and it was nice to enjoy some mulled wine before settling down to sleep which was surprisingly comfortable.

What really topped the trip off were the excellent guides.  Secret Transylvania is a family run business who really know how to look after you.  Sue, Bob, Di and Jez really go the extra mile to help you choose the activities that suit you.  The cooking is absolutely superb and they have excellent local knowledge and really helped us get the most out of the experience and remain safe on the mountain.  They also supplied us with really good waterproof clothing which was essential in ensuring that you remained warm and dry in the snow and ice.

Secret Transylvania also allow you to do a range of other trips to add on to the holiday such a visit to Bran Castle or a day of skiing.  They always do the trips with a small number of guests allowing you the freedom to customise your experience.  They truly make you feel like a welcome friend rather than a guest.

We are looking forward to another trip with them at the end of the year for the Christmas Market in Sibiu.  Sibiu is the closest airport and Bucharest is about 6-7 hours away.

Stayed: February 2017
2  Thank cidervampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

A massive thank you to Bob and Sue for an amazing weekend, we had so much fun up the mountain doing all the activities. Tunnel trek was very informative and hard going with the weather but well worth it, still can't believe we were walking on the lake... Glad we did the Ice Hotel experience and managed to stay there the whole night. Highly recommend anyone to try this, the whole area was truly breathtaking. Sibiu is a very quaint city with lots of restaurants and can highly recommend the Italian in the small square. Sue's Banana Cake is to die for. Overall a wonderful weekend away.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank michelle26ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Having been to the Ice hotel in 2016 we decided to take our children and grand children on a snow break. We found Secret Transylvania on a web search WHAT A FIND!! From start to finish they, Di, Bob & Sue could not do enough . The booking was handled by Di and was quick to, almost taylor make, the break for us,even when we had to change our plans it was no problem. But the main thing is the Welcome you get when reaching the guest house. There is a very cosy little bar exclusivley for guests and is "self-service" so open when you want it to be.
The guest house we were staying in was a few minuets away from the main house and consisted of two large bedrooms both en-suite and a fully functional kitchen , it was very cosy, clean and warm.
We stayed on an inclusive basis , which brings us to the food.Served in their main house. The food , lunch , dinner and breakfast was clearly home cooked and plentiful, it tasted delicious and was served by Bob and Sue who are the real stars of this story. We have travelled the world and never had such natural and convivial hosts as Bob and Sue, nothing was too much trouble. Bob escorted us up to the ice hotel and took care of everything and sue stayed at the guest house looking after us there
We took their Bronze tour @ £195 pp , what we got for that was exceptional value for money. If you are thinking of going any where in Transylvania go straight to the Secret Transylvania web site and book now , you will not be disappointed, we certenly were not, and plan to return soon Thanks from all the Chalk family XX

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 8brian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cisnadioara
0.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
0.0 km away
House of Dracula Hotel
House of Dracula Hotel
#5 of 16 in Poiana Brasov
140 reviews
0.0 km away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 55 in Brasov
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Pensiunea Ana
Pensiunea Ana
#1 of 7 in Bran
78 reviews
0.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Sighisoara - Cavaler
0.0 km away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#12 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Transylvania Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Transylvania Guest House

Address: Str Biserilicor 15, Cisnadioara, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Cisnadioara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cisnadioara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Secret Transylvania accommodation is in traditional Saxon houses, renovated to a modern standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Secret Transylvania Guest House Hotel Cisnadioara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing