We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
182
51
11
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
51
11
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moonshine bar natural pool rum punch fish cape santa maria columbus monument scuba diving bar lounge the north end blue hole the atlantic ocean meal plan rock pools hotel rooms are daily activities other islands laid back
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Beatiful place nice food scenery beautiful rooms nice. A lot of little things missing that would make a big difference. No coffee in our room etc. basically this place is let down by its staff who are clueless.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Eagle999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellamarisres0rt, Manager at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review and delighted that you had an good stay with us! It was a pleasure having you here and we do sincerely apologize for the day that we had no “room coffee” due to the fact that Nassau suppliers were out of stock for 2 weeks for “room use” coffee pods. We are located in paradise, and being on this fabulous remote island can also however sometimes be tricky when relying on all of our food and beverages that have to be shipped in from Nassau on a weekly basis. We did fly in the coffee pods on the second day as our pilot made a special trip into town in Nassau to locate some. Of course, we serve daily breakfast and always have coffee on hand in our restaurant that we would have been more than happy to serve you! Again, thank you for your visit and for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

My wife Bonnie and I, flew our Cessna 310 out to the island for a weeks worth of celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary.
It couldn't have been more perfect!
The resort, food, staff and accommodations are all first rate.
A magical, tropical experience
Steve Toomey
Sandwich NH

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellamarisres0rt, Manager at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure to welcome you as our Guest and we look forward to having you return again, hopefully soon!
Best regards from all of here at Stella Maris Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

This was about my 5th stay at Stella Maris. I have really always enjoyed each trip, and have no complaints about the room, service, or food! Everyone who works there is amazing, and I really love the setting. I always get Room 14 - it's the biggest in a two-story room block of eight rooms, and it has an amazing view out to sea. The resort is clean and attractive, and I always feel so welcome there and enjoy meeting new guests from around the world each time I stay there. Staff can help you arrange anything - from a rental car, to an in-room massage, to to-go lunch in a cooler!

I enjoy the bar/lounge, as well, but I can never stay in there very long because it's too hot in the shoulder months of May and November, when I am usually there. They really need to bite the bullet and install air conditioning!!

My one substantive issue is that it has become very expensive. I don't think it's their fault, as everything on Long Island costs much more than it does in the US, but it has increased in price about 35% in the 8 years I have been going there, and it's no longer less expensive than Cape Santa Maria.

That said, I would heartily recommend this resort to anyone who can afford it. It really is a magical place!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank fennelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellamarisres0rt, Manager at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you Fennell for your very kind review! It is always wonderful to see you on Long Island and have you stay with us on occasion!
You have always been a great Long Island fan and we are happy that you return year after year. We constantly strive to keep our pricing competitive in comparison with the rest of the Bahamas and other destinations and if you keep in mind that we are located on this most stunningly remote island in the very southern Bahamas where all of our food and beverage products have to be shipped in by a weekly mail boat or flown in by plane, and then transported to the Resort from the docks or airport – our prices are still very moderate. Meal and Beverages no matter where you stay in a Resort setting will always be a little higher. Our pricing is no more than any average Resort in Florida that you might visit and enjoy a meal and a drink or two.
But again, thank you for taking the time to share your views and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Long Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

My family and I have stayed at Stella Maris 8 times over the last 6 years. We fell in love with this place the first time we visited and try to make it an annual trip. I cannot say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff are. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is excellent and they will cook your fish or lobster that you catch. They will take you anywhere on the island that you want to go in one of their vans or you can rent a car. Very close to the airport and will pick you up. The resort also has a couple of airplanes you can arrange pick up in Nassau. We have been so many times now we know all of the staff: Peter, Joel, Jill, Yvonne, Queen, Beatrice, Sue, Shaun and others..,they are all great people. There is so much to do on this island you can't see it all in a week. One reason we like this island so much is the variety of terrain, hills, beaches, snorkeling and diving. Depending on weather you can always find a nice spot to go between the Atlantic and Carribean side. From Stella Maris you can see both oceans. Being on hill you always get a nice breeze. We have stayed in the Dolphin and Flamingo houses and are great for two families. They are just steps from the Moonshine Bar, swimming pool, beach and a really cool tidal pool. One of the best snorkeling spots from shore is Coral Gardens that is a short bicycle ride from the resort on this free bikes. Some of our favorite spots on the island are: Columbus Monument ( great beach and snorkeling) ,saw lots of Barracuda , lobster, nurse sharks, Black Tip Reef shark, sea turtles, grouper and snapper last time. Bird Island, ( great for shells and kids for snorkeling, saw a Nurse Shark thier last time) , Deans Blue hole , lots of fish and a nice cliff to jump off . This place is just far enough off the grid but not too far...love this place cannot say enough! Great fishing , spear fishing , snorkeling, diving , shelling, kayaking or just relaxing.

Room Tip: For family of 4 request a K unit with kitchen, for 8 request Dolphin or Flamingo house.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 724markanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellamarisres0rt, Manager at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful and in depth review that we are sure others will find most helpful.
It is always a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we look forward to many more visits of yours!
Have a great summer! Best regards from the Gang here at Stella Maris Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Cape Santa Maria and wanted to try a different place for dinner and unfortunately chose to go here. Came in the front door and the clerk didnt give us a friendly greeting, just looked up long enough to tell us where the dining room was.

Apparently, there were only two guests staying there and they had a limited menu. This would have been nice information to know when we made the reservation.

I had conch chowder which looked like campbells soup. It had a tiny bit of conch and very small cut (and a small amount of) vegetables. My wife asked for pizza with cheese only. It came out with pineapple and onions both of which she hates. Even without those toppings, it would have been terrible. The crust was soggy and just tasted bad.

Only thing that saves this from a one star was that the cocunut shrimp and guava cake were excellent.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank poly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellamarisres0rt, Manager at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We sincerely apologize for any shortcomings you might have experienced from our Front Desk Clerk and in our restaurant. We did speak to our chef on duty that evening and with the waitress and we are a little surprised by your comments. The majority of our Guests love our Bahamian Conch Chowder which is a Tomato based soup. We always have lots of conch and vegetables in our Chowder and yes, the Conch is finely chopped as not everyone likes big chucks of Conch in their soup, but we understand if this particular chowder was not to your liking. Our waitress did come to the table to inquire if everything was ok and there was no mention about the pizza or the Chowder that it was not to your liking. We would have been happy to replace or take off of your bill upon checking out. But thank you for taking the time to visit Stella Maris and we hope you had a nice stay on Long Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews