We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded all our expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
The lounge with wood-burning stove and double height ceiling The lounge also boasts fabulous views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
The lounge with wood-burning stove and double height ceiling
The lounge also boasts fabulous views
Looking back from the loch
Deer are regular visitors to the garden
The kitchen with central island and up to the minute appliances
The dining room - the table extends to seat 10
The games room - pool table, table tennis top, TV, PlayStation 3, darts
Soaking up the stunning views
The house in winter with snow capped hills in the background
The master suite with views of the loch and the hills
Ready for breakfast on the balcony
Time for tea in the snug
Wonderful Scottish light
The private sandy beach on the estate
The ground floor bedroom with its own terrace
The west facing bedroom with ensuite shower room
The en-suite to bedroom 4 with Japanese-style square bath
The twin-bedded room
The first floor landing
Fabulous scenery all around
Take a sea-kayakking excursion on the loch
Enjoy the perfect day out for steam railway & Harry Potter fans: a trip on the Jacobite steam tr
Nearby Traigh golf course: one of the most scenic in the UK
A golden eagle - regularly sighted nearby
Hoping for a bite from the rocks close to the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Glenuig, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Duncan M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We fully agree with all the other positive comments. This place and its location are exceptional. All the facilities are first rate. We particularly appreciated the high quality bedrooms-all ensuite! Plenty of room for a large group; and having a separate room for kids to watch TV after a day's walking was much appreciated. Going when we did, the house's heating was very effective and welcome. The pre-arrival notes were faultless. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. We will certainly go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms and the view
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2014
We're delighted that all of you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julesmc42...
Huntingdon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing in every way”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

From the time we arrived to when we left this stay was by far thee most enjoyable ever!!! We were greeted by the lovely Rodney and Rose who couldn't do enough for us and happy to fill us in on all the local knowledge! The house far exceeded our expectations, the attention to detail was superb. Pat the owner was extremely helpful and can't thank you enough for making our New Year a truly memorable experience. There is absolutely no doubt we will be back.

Thank you again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience and the views breathtaking
Liked least: Local pub could have been a little more accommodating with more variety on the menu
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review and are delighted to learn that we were able to make your first experience of Hogmanay in the Scottish Highlands so memorable for all the right reasons. We hope to be able to welcome you back as our guests again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property and its location
Liked least: The drive back to the road from the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
We are very grateful to you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed a good time at the house. We take the feedback of our guests very seriously, so I'm pleased to report that since your stay in May 2013 we've made a few improvements to try to correct the minor issues you identified. We hope we will be able to tempt you back to the Highlands before too long. Kind regards, Pat Middleton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will take on board your comments re local walks and will warn future guests to set off properly prepared when walking in the local area. We hope you will decide to holiday at Coopers Knowe House again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Pat Middleton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coco24242
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning Sea Loch Sensation!!!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a truly beautiful house, set in a stunning setting with unrivalled views across the loch toward highlands of autumn colour!

We reserved this property sometime after New Year's Day 2013, and for months, had looked forward to spending a week at Coopers Knowe House. The exceptionally attractive website was enough to draw us to that particular peninsula, but nothing was able to prepare us fully for the exquisite beauty of the house and its surroundings as we discovered both upon our arrival.

Absolutely awesome! Made even more attractive by the charming and helpful owners and their very helpful friends.

Where to start? The design, the style, the furnishings, and the exquise artistic touches that make this architect-designed property so desirable, made it easy for us to feel at home immediately. Everything seemed to have been thought through and planned with luxurious comfort and relaxation in mind. It provided the perfect setting for this particular group of friends to relax, take in the views, and enjoy the beautiful land that is Scotland.

Every room was a joy. The panoramic window in the lounge offered the most amazing views across the loch, with a brilliant standing telescopic in place to allow full advantage of the wildlife.

The kitchen was big enough to accommodate the chefs among us, whilst the gorgeous TV lounge played host to the fans of 'Strictly'. Although there was space for everyone, we were all, like magnets, drawn to the lounge, with its log fire within its stunning setting and its wonderful panoramic views.

Where to go? It proved to be fabulous walking country, with so much more besides, had the weather been more conducive to outdoor pursuits. As it was, we decided to get wet, walk the coastline that hugged the peninsula, cut through Roshven Hall to the shore, and gaze upon the 'small isles' and the evocative Cuillins of Skye beyond.

Would I go back? Tomorrow!!! Despite the rain - purposely unmentioned so far. It was very British!!!! Nevertheless, it took nothing away from the experience of Coopers Knowe House.

Any property which, in the midst or torrential downpours, can STILL be so memorable for its sophisticated beauty, has got to go down as a little piece of heaven!!! We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Only the rain!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are absolutely thrilled that you loved the house and had such a good time, particularly given that the weather during your stay could hardly be described as wall to wall sunshine! We hope we will be able to welcome you back before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing