We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Very Relaxing

Had an interesting stroll around the various “rooms” of the walled garden … on a Thursday very few... read more

Reviewed 9 June 2022
G418WQkayw
,
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Tranquil

Feels like you are in the middle of the countryside, love the layout and pathways which take you to... read more

Reviewed 5 April 2022
labradorGlasgow
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Read all 115 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
46
47
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
46
47
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews for sale national trust fabulous place cakes young children surrounding woodland out of the way outdoor seating benches member picnic glasgow plants greenbank cafe courtyard space
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

As a NT member I was a bit disappointed that there was no. Scones in the cafe,this was the first NT property in 3 years that there was no Scones, the soup was hot and very tasty,toilets clean but cold(it was a cold day). In mid summer the garden will be very nice.
We will be back on a hot sunny day plenty of forest walks.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank billyclark1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 May 2019

As a NTS member for more years than i care to remember, I have visited Greenbank Gardens on numerous occasions.The latest visit with my elderly Mum & Dad was disappointing. As my Dad is registered blind and uses a walker, the access to the tea room and gift shop has always been via the side door. From our last visit, the tearoom appears to have undergone some refurbishments with bright tables and chairs and the gift area downsized. Whoever thought this plan up failed to recognise that by providing access to the tea room via the door at the front instead of the side now presents issues for disabled access. There is no ramp or rails on the new access area which meant that that i had to go in first, ask the staff how my Dad could safely enter using his walker, then direct him through the CLOSED gate at the side and and enter via the CLOSED door where the access has always been. Of note can you also please ensure that where tree roots cross the path and no slab is present on the path near the pond that this is addressed as a matter of urgency, This not only creates a trip hazard for sighted people but creates and additional hazard for blind people using walking aids.

To the NTS, I will be in touch with you to discuss this issue as its unacceptable in this day and age to create ridiculous access problems and trip hazards for disabled people.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank Scottish21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

Popped in on Easter weekend. A nice compact gardens easy to navigate with some great features, plants and topiary. Nice little café, shop and I got some bedding plants.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank GlasgowWinenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

This was such a good place for my photography project (fairytales). I had a lot of fun here and the gardens were beautiful especially because it was sunny. The cafe was very cute with a nice wee gift shop. Recommend the raspberry lemonade!! Such a nice hidden gem this garden and the prices are great (£1 admission with a young Scot card).

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank 53kirstym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 February 2019

The garden is very pretty at this time of year - snowdrops and spring flowers. Interesting to see a garden in Spring instead of the usual summer abundance! Good plant shop.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank ginny1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews