We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee pub with good food”

The Castle Inn Bar & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Dirleton
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We visited the Castle Inn for a few drinks in the afternoon and stayed for food. Food is not served all day. We both had the pub Chicken Curry which was made super spicy for my husband and mine was just left regular. It was delicious with hearty chunks of chicken. It was a great portion size and left room for dessert.

The hosts were friendly and the service was great. I have seen mixed reviews for this place but the decor, surroundings, welcome and service were all great with nothing to complain about

It sits on the village green so has a great outlook. Give it a visit

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Krhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

Rang and got a tablefor Saturay night and was pleased ith our meals Pate or starters and a selection of Steak pie, Fish and Chips for mains which we all enjoyed

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely Sunday lunch with great menu and very reasonable two course kids menu. Balmoral chicken with an amazing pepper sauce. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Looking for somewhere special to take Mum on Mother's Day, we didn't have to look far. We have had a few visits here in recent years and have always been impressed by the food, the service and the value of the experience. Mother's Day was no exception. Comfortable ambience, friendly, helpful staff, and a good varied menu to choose from. The pate starter was very tasty and the smoked salmon was well appreciated. For a main course, all three of us opted for the roast beef from the specials board and we weren't disappointed. The meat was plentiful and very tender, with proper Yorkshire puddings (not air-filled shells which disintegrate at the touch of a knife!), authentic roast tatties, and real gravy. We finished with apple crumble and a cheese board. Portions were generous and the whole meal was very good value for money. We will be back!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SusieElins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We were ready for lunch after a visit to nearby Dirleton Castle, spotted this place across the road & thought we’d give it a try. Great menu, brusque & efficient service. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals - fish & chips; soup & bread; beef pie; salmon supreme. They have a children’s menu also & ours polished clean his plate of sausages, chips & beans. Satisfaction all ‘round.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank FoodRocks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn Bar & Bistro also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
 
Gullane, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to The Castle Inn Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing