We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
501
106
27
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
501
106
27
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog friendly hotel garden suite welcome pack superior room golden retriever local walks biscuits friendly hotels dog lovers venison dogs are allowed breakfast sausage entrance hall on arrival drumlanrig castle breakfast and dinner lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely, quite quirky little hotel. Service throughout is friendly and informal and the house itself has a warm atmosphere. Breakfast was really excellent- do try the haggis. Dinner was good, if not quite top notch. Fish stew was over cooked, but the pork is good, as is the chocolate fondant. Gin and Tonics are lovely and reasonably priced. Highly individual and highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Cosmopolitan58386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year and loved every minute, so much so that we have already booked again for this year. It was the perfect chill out space, much needed after the hectic Christmas run up. The food was excellent and portions were great. Even our fourteen year old son couldn't eat any lunch after the breakfast each morning. It was lovely to find a place that is relaxed with the dog too. We were a bit nervous about having the dog with us but it was perfect and I'm sure she can't wait to get back for the sausages! Only thing is after getting her breakfast she was waiting for the same at dinner so a few little bits from our meals found their way down! We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had three rooms and they were all lovely
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VC1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderful little gem with great food service and welcome. Booked in 5 minutes after walking out of a dreadful place in Dumfries not disappointed everything was perfect from start to finish. Will be returning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank diddhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over the second chilly cold snap of the year, while visiting our son in nearby Dalbeattie and we were not disappointed. Though we didn’t bring our dog, he wouldn’t have behaved very well, the other pooches in the hotel certainly added to the ambience. A lovely 1930,s building which is tastefully decorated and staffed with really friendly and welcoming staff. The food is outstanding and the choice more than varied , catering for all needs.
Our room was very well appointed (Room 3) and though we briefly lost hot water it was soon rectified without fuss. If we are coming up in the summer we will stay again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Booked into Trigony house with our 2 cavaliers. The location is just off a main road and easy to find, but the outlook from the rooms and the hotel are fantastic. We booked into the garden spa on arrival - unsure what it was going to be like. In a word - amazing. The wood fired hot tub was just amazing in the outdoors - shielded from the main hotel - you could sit there for hours on end. There was also a sauna which was very welcome. We also treated ourselves to a treatment - and were not disappointed with our therapist.
When we retired to our room - it was very comfortable. The dogs had a welcome pack which comprised of a map of walks and biscuits. They were allowed with us to the bar where we had dinner. The food was lovely - big portions and very good. The dogs had their treat at breakfast time with a wee sausage on a plate!
The hosts were very helpful in their suggestions of things to do in the area and very welcoming.
All in all, a fantastic hotel which pampers both the human and canine guests. We hope to be back very soon.

Stayed: November 2017
3  Thank steem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews