We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 15:00
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent boutique distillery tour

We did this tour with a group of friends, including some kids. The older kids enjoyed it too... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2019
eener
,
Dublin, Ireland
via mobile
Best distillery tour!!

The distillery is a bit of a drive but worth it. Eoin has so much knowledge to impart and makes the... read more

Reviewed 22 April 2019
Susan H
via mobile
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2019 via mobile

We did this tour with a group of friends, including some kids. The older kids enjoyed it too because it was very interactive. The smelling area for all of the gin ingredients made for a very enhanced tasting. I'm not a gin fan, but this gin is something special. Delicious, and you can really taste all of the different flowers and herbs and spices (some of which is picked right around the grounds of the distillery for an added local bonus). This is a very inspiring story - they had a dream and here it is in reality. Eoin is a great tour guide and has so much knowledge and humour. The tour was excellent and I can't recommend it enough!

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank eener
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2019 via mobile

The distillery is a bit of a drive but worth it. Eoin has so much knowledge to impart and makes the whole process of distilling very interesting.
Great to see the a small business in its infancy and the story told with genuine passion. This is manifested in the quality of the product.
Super host and very enjoyable tour.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 April 2019 via mobile

Called into the Distillery on the mountain side overlooking a beautiful loch Measc -Liam was on hand to explain everything and show us about and offer samples-the Gin and Vodka that they Distill and sell there has a unique taste and is so mild and very pleasing to the pallet! Well worth a visit and the local scenery is captivating

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank cathrynee2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

We loved the tour! We were looking for something to do on a rainy afternoon in the area and this was perfect. I'm a big fan of gin and my partner is a whiskey lover so this was a great way to spend the afternoon, sample some of the local products and learn about Irish whiskey making and local history. Our guide was engaging and knowledgeable and the gin is my fave I've tried in Ireland! Can't wait to come back in a few years and try the whiskey!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Josh_and_Kate_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochMeasc, Front Office Manager at Loch Measc Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Thank you very much for your positive words Josh_and_Kate_abroad! It was wonderful to meet you both and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in County Mayo! We look forward to seeing you in a few years for the release of the Whiskey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

Wonderful distillery in a fabulous location! I was part of a group of seven from all parts of the world here to experience the wild atlantic way. Of course, when in Ireland, one MUST sample the local delights, so a distillery tour was just the ticket! Come for the scenery, stay for the gin, vodka and craic! Our tour guide was lovely, funny and knew her stuff! The distillery is located on the shore of Lough Mask - Loch Measc in Irish (hence the name of the distillery) - and is very well thought out. The one thing stopping it from getting full stars would be the lack of heating! Ok, we visited in December and were hardly expecting tropical weather but we were freezing! The tour was good fun and the vodka helped warm us up so we didn't mind too much, just some constructive criticism!

Would recommend to anyone who is visiting the west of Ireland!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank basilm1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochMeasc, Front Office Manager at Loch Measc Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Thank you for your kind words basilm1994! We are a new business so appreciate the feedback and the constructive criticism! Unfortunately the heating has been a bit temperamental over winter and while the cold is conducive to good whiskey we hope you and your guests weren't too chilly!

We hope you enjoyed your time in Mayo and do come back to sample the whiskey in a few years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews