We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new favourite”
Review of Walkhampton Inn

Walkhampton Inn
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A historic quintessential country pub. We offer a rotating selection of local real ale and cider, served alongside quality, flavoursome country pub food. With an open fire and a log burner, it is welcoming to all including children and dogs. Located on Dartmoor National Park, it is within walking and cycling distance to many wonderful trails.
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

My 2nd review for here after our 4th visit. What we really like about this pub is the welcome, the service , the value , the care in the food and the fact they are trying a few creative things - Italian night etc.. . Owners with this much determination to make a go of something deserve the credit , so living fairly nearby we will be regular return visitors while it remains a place you can just trust in for a good meal in a friendly environment.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018

Wow what a great place to eat and drink. New owners have done an amazing job after this pub being shut for about 2years. We recently attended the sausage and cider festival. We had a fantastic meal, an array of different ciders and a great night listening to The Normals. I would highly recommend a meal or just a drink at this very friendly Inn. Especially the homemade Baileys ice cream!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TinaM894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Friendly, welcoming staff with fantastic food! Real handmade burgers and onion rings were a personal highlight. Chips were lovely as well as good range of ales and drinks. Very highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jakelP9358WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

The Walkhampton has recently been reopened with a new landlord, and I am highly impressed. The pub itself is a nice old building, with nice stone walls and old wooden beams inside.

The staff are friendly and the service is very good- the place has a good atmosphere and feels inviting.

There is a rotation of real ales, I believe there is usually 4 on tap. They are kept well and they seem to change a lot so always something new to try. Cider selection is very good, there is your sparkling choices and I always enjoy the local still ciders, a really good choice if you enjoy proper Westcountry cider.

Food is incredibly good, with a great fixed menu and some interesting specials. There are often themed events with some very good international dishes. All the favourite British pub classics are also there, the pie is top notch, and everything else I have tried is very good, with very reasonable prices. The 'piece de resistance' of this establishment has to be the home-made chips, the flavour, texture, everything about them is spot on. So good I often don't even have ketchup with them.

There are some really good events on, this bank holiday's cider and sausage festival had an incredibly vast range of ciders, and sausages that the chef had worked with a local butchers to put together.

I am very glad that after quite some time being closed, this pub has been reopened and with such a good team. Good luck to the landlord Frazer, the chef and all the staff, keep up the great work!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonathanG3191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We ate here twice whilst staying 1/2 a mile up the road. The pub is open most evenings, including weekends and the staff are very friendly. The food is amazing and there is always a big specials list to tempt you too. Well worth a visit. If you like nachos, they have some great combinations and flavours to try but make sure you have a big appetite!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NicLSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walkhampton Inn also viewed

Meavy, Dartmoor National Park
Dousland, Dartmoor National Park
 
Horrabridge, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Horrabridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Walkhampton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing