We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marion is the best Hostess we have ever had the pleasure of meeting.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonchester Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Marion is the best Hostess we have ever had the pleasure of meeting.”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I am not easy to giving 5 star reviews. However, Marion and the bed + Goose Down duvet and pillows swayed me. Oh yes and being met by a Black Lab wagging her tail.
The breakfast was excellent and despite the weather we loved the Farm location and the area.
Melrose is a peach as is Jedburugh.

Dissapointing was the breakfast seating arrangements. One large dining table. Neither of us like eating like that and would prefer our own space. How about 3 separate square tables and push them together for family, Marion?
With the low pressure water situation at the farm the showers use a pump to supply pressure. Excellent shower but noisey. I.e when someone in another room has a shower you hear the pump clearly.


Recommended - Great experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesharksfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerwell, Owner at Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Thanks you so much for your fantastic compliments - so glad you enjoyed your stay! We're really sorry that the breakfast seating wasn't to your liking. After several years at Billerwell we have found that most guests like to sit 'farmhouse' style and meet other guests, admire the views and exchange experiences at breakfast. However, we realise this doesn't suit everyone so will always set up a separate table if needed. Following your comments,we have actually now put this into our welcome letter so the options are clear for everyone.
Re the noise from the power showers - sorry about this too - not a lot we can do despite the additional insulation we installed - but at least we are regularly told they are great showers - and you don't hear anything else through those wonderful thick farmhouse walls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Billerwell Farm is a must stay for anyone that appreciates comfort and great service

My wife and I chose Billerwell after reading reports on here, when we arrived it lived up to all its expectations and more, its location and the scenery is amazing, Richard and Marion were so friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the Rose Room and it was a very spacious room with a large comfortable bed, well decorated, the bathroom had a heated floor and large fluffy towels , just like home!
Richard gave us an impressive service at breakfast, with fresh fruit or cereals and then a large Scottish Breakfast with haggis and all the trimmings, home made marmalade.
There is wildlife everywhere, ducks, pheasants galore, deer and badgers, we were woken most mornings by a woodpecker outside the bedroom window.
Nothing was too much trouble for Richard , he even volunteered to fetch us back from the local pub so we did not have to drive.
The local pub is the Horse and Hounds in Bonchester Bridge, (Appprox 2 miles away) recently taken over by Lucy & Neil, who made us very welcome, the food is freshly prepared and cooked by Lucy and the Chef, We had Chicken Breasts stuffed with Haggis and all the fresh local grown vegetables and a home made sticky toffee pudding, 2 free glasses of wine all for under £20. All the locals are very friendly and happy to help with advice or directions.
We loved our 3 days at Billerwell Farm and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who appreciated great service, we are planning another visit to Billerwell in the Summer of 2010
If you are visiting the Borders do not miss this place its fabulous!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenBSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Great hospitality in breathtaking environnement. Absolute tranquillity in the middle of nature.
A great base to discover the scottisch borders. Our advise: Stay at least a week !!!!!
Hein and Sabine

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heilbronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
662 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The Hawick Information Centre did a wonderful job of locating some accommodation for us late one afternoon. We are not usually B&B type-people, but we thoroughly enjoyed our farmhouse stay at “Billerwell Farm” which is a working farm just outside of Bonchester Bridge and about 12kms from Hawick.

We left Hawick around 5pm and headed to the B&B using a “mud map” that the Information Centre gave us. We drove on a little road with farms on either side – rural setting with wildlife everywhere - even saw some rabbits and a pheasant along the way.

The owners, Richard & Marion were lovely hosts - even the dog gave as a warm welcome. On arrival Richard showed us to our room and made us a cuppa tea.

Our room was upstairs and at the opposite end of the house to where the owners slept. We only took an overnight bag upstairs, rather than lugging our big suitcases seeing as we were only staying the one night.

In our room we had a king-sized bed with its own ensuite – even our own portable-sized TV set with tea/coffee facilities including bottled water. Comfort was high on the agenda as they advertised having “Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy towels and under-floor heating in the bathroom”.

The bed was quite comfortable and the doona was toasty warm!
The TV channels and programs were limited, but this is the countryside and an excellent opportunity to "get away from the world".

When we had a shower in the ensuite, the water pressure was poor (as previously warned) however this is an old farmhouse and as they have to pump their own water, this was to be expected. The towel rails were heated and the ensuite had heating under the tiles (but no heater lights).

We were given a Breakfast menu to choose from for the next day which had a good variety. You nominate a time when you’d like breakfast served and you dine in their charming dining room at a large dining room table. They didn’t take credit cards so we paid cash.

Had dinner in the nearby one-horse town of Bonchester Bridge - population around 150 - at the recommended pub, “Horse & Hound Country Inn”. Very cozy and quaint pub which began its working life as a Coaching Inn in 1701. The interior was old-style with dark furniture and crimson carpet, with equestrian and farmhouse equipment hanging off the walls and ceiling. Enjoyed a beautiful Roast Lamb.

Next morning Richard prepared brekkie. It was nice to relax and look at the scenery of the farm from their dining room. We had cereal and fruit, o/juice, and our order of “Poached Egg on a Muffin with Tomato and Bacon” along with toast and a cuppa tea. This was a substantial breakfast for us!

Very relaxing and peaceful stay :)

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I have to say, I am embarassed by the sheer extent to which we as a family have not considered the Borders in the South of Scotland as an option for a short break, en route many a time up to Edinburgh.

This farm cottage was a real find, a very well kept secret. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there for 3 days; it is perfect for quiet walks, fresh air and the hospitality is unbeaten. Truly Scottish. The couple that run the place are just wonderful and really make you feel at home. The rooms are worthy of their star rating and the beds are great, whlst the windows offer up a view toogood to be true - you really feel like you're far, far away from all the bustle of city life. However, fear not, for the place is wi-fi equipped.

A perfect getaway from a busy lifestyle, you will really return replenished. Besides the surrounding country offers up some great little outings such as Melrose Abbey, and some idyllic Borders towns to walk around and lunch at.

Nearby the hotel there are a couple of lovely pubs with great menus for vegetarians and others alike.

Highly reccomended, would serve well as a journey break to or fro upper Scotland as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Billerwell Farm, Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 8JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick > Bonchester Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bonchester Bridge
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a delightfully peaceful location, 6 miles from Hawick, this 4* GOLD farmhouse offers wonderfully comfortable and spacious rooms and delicious breakfasts using local produce. Only 1 hour from Newcastle, Edinburgh or the Northumberland coast thee are many things to see and do. Walk or cycle from the door along peaceful scenic routes. Great pubs and Bistros to eat out at night.Great hospitality and advice on your stay provided ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing