We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonchester Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast
Heilbronn
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Great hospitality in breathtaking environnement. Absolute tranquillity in the middle of nature.
A great base to discover the scottisch borders. Our advise: Stay at least a week !!!!!
Hein and Sabine

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heilbronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
643 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The Hawick Information Centre did a wonderful job of locating some accommodation for us late one afternoon. We are not usually B&B type-people, but we thoroughly enjoyed our farmhouse stay at “Billerwell Farm” which is a working farm just outside of Bonchester Bridge and about 12kms from Hawick.

We left Hawick around 5pm and headed to the B&B using a “mud map” that the Information Centre gave us. We drove on a little road with farms on either side – rural setting with wildlife everywhere - even saw some rabbits and a pheasant along the way.

The owners, Richard & Marion were lovely hosts - even the dog gave as a warm welcome. On arrival Richard showed us to our room and made us a cuppa tea.

Our room was upstairs and at the opposite end of the house to where the owners slept. We only took an overnight bag upstairs, rather than lugging our big suitcases seeing as we were only staying the one night.

In our room we had a king-sized bed with its own ensuite – even our own portable-sized TV set with tea/coffee facilities including bottled water. Comfort was high on the agenda as they advertised having “Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy towels and under-floor heating in the bathroom”.

The bed was quite comfortable and the doona was toasty warm!
The TV channels and programs were limited, but this is the countryside and an excellent opportunity to "get away from the world".

When we had a shower in the ensuite, the water pressure was poor (as previously warned) however this is an old farmhouse and as they have to pump their own water, this was to be expected. The towel rails were heated and the ensuite had heating under the tiles (but no heater lights).

We were given a Breakfast menu to choose from for the next day which had a good variety. You nominate a time when you’d like breakfast served and you dine in their charming dining room at a large dining room table. They didn’t take credit cards so we paid cash.

Had dinner in the nearby one-horse town of Bonchester Bridge - population around 150 - at the recommended pub, “Horse & Hound Country Inn”. Very cozy and quaint pub which began its working life as a Coaching Inn in 1701. The interior was old-style with dark furniture and crimson carpet, with equestrian and farmhouse equipment hanging off the walls and ceiling. Enjoyed a beautiful Roast Lamb.

Next morning Richard prepared brekkie. It was nice to relax and look at the scenery of the farm from their dining room. We had cereal and fruit, o/juice, and our order of “Poached Egg on a Muffin with Tomato and Bacon” along with toast and a cuppa tea. This was a substantial breakfast for us!

Very relaxing and peaceful stay :)

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I have to say, I am embarassed by the sheer extent to which we as a family have not considered the Borders in the South of Scotland as an option for a short break, en route many a time up to Edinburgh.

This farm cottage was a real find, a very well kept secret. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there for 3 days; it is perfect for quiet walks, fresh air and the hospitality is unbeaten. Truly Scottish. The couple that run the place are just wonderful and really make you feel at home. The rooms are worthy of their star rating and the beds are great, whlst the windows offer up a view toogood to be true - you really feel like you're far, far away from all the bustle of city life. However, fear not, for the place is wi-fi equipped.

A perfect getaway from a busy lifestyle, you will really return replenished. Besides the surrounding country offers up some great little outings such as Melrose Abbey, and some idyllic Borders towns to walk around and lunch at.

Nearby the hotel there are a couple of lovely pubs with great menus for vegetarians and others alike.

Highly reccomended, would serve well as a journey break to or fro upper Scotland as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk emigre in Cambs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Our room was large and well appointed, the welcome warm and friendly (from owner and dog!) and the ample breakfasts set us up for the day.

But the standout feature is the location: secreted down quiet country lanes, tucked below the hill and overlooking (and accessing) a pretty wooded river valley. So good that lots of birds take up residence too, in the eaves and outbuildings!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitt4hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stumbled on to the farm by mistake but it was great. Very very clean with a setting that couldn't have been improved on by. It is a little way out in the country but the roads there are all paved and very pleasant to drive. Our host was wonderful and, if you are nice, you can fish for trout in the pond next to the house. We wished we could have stayed longer. Probably the most comfortable spot we had stayed at in six months of travel. (We even got homemade lemon cookies with the coffee service in the room).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rangerbob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonchester Bridge
2.2 km away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
7.6 km away
Mansfield House Hotel
9.1 km away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 7 in Hawick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
The Bank Guest House
The Bank Guest House
#2 of 20 in Hawick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
9.3 km away
Bridge House Guest House
Bridge House Guest House
#19 of 20 in Hawick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Billerwell Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Billerwell Farm, Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 8JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick > Bonchester Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Bonchester Bridge
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a delightfully peaceful location, 6 miles from Hawick, this 4* GOLD farmhouse offers wonderfully comfortable and spacious rooms and delicious breakfasts using local produce. Only 1 hour from Newcastle, Edinburgh or the Northumberland coast thee are many things to see and do. Walk or cycle from the door along peaceful scenic routes. Great pubs and Bistros to eat out at night.Great hospitality and advice on your stay provided ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing