We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous place!”
Review of Barley Bree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barley Bree
Ranked #1 of 4 Muthill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We arrived soaked after a long day at a local Highland Games. We were welcomed by friendly patrons of the restaurant and then warmly by our hosts. We were running a little late, but they were most accommodating and showed us to our room. The room was stunning! Immaculate and spacious. The en-suite was just the same. The beds were so comfortable. The best night's sleep I've ever had away from my own bed!
The food in the restaurant was just divine! The decor in the restaurant was tastfully traditional, the service for the meal was impecable. We were a little disappointed to be told, quite abruptly that they had run out of butter, even thought they continued to offer us delicious home cooked bread. Especially when lots of butter was availble the following morning for breakfast.
The breakfast was, however, just as fabulous as the food from the night before. The service was by a lovely sweet lady, who you couldn't help but warm to.
We cannot express strongly enough how much you have to try the Barley Bree! Wonderful!

Room Tip: i cannot believe any room would not be fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyBredin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had been meaning to visit the Barley Bree for some time and finally been convinced by friends to give it a try. The room is nicely decorated, warm and with a good atmosphere. We visited on a Sunday evening and were surprised to see every table taken as Muthill is not exactly a sprawling metropolis.

The menu is short but with a good choice of dishes. We started with a garden pea soup with smoked salmon which was vibrant and velvety with a good consistency. The addition of slivers of smoked salmon elevated it to something delicious. We also had a poached duck egg with Parmesan risotto which was beautifully cooked and lifted with a pungent truffle dressing. The third starter was seared pigeon breast that was perfectly cooked and served with a pear puree and hazelnuts and was nicely balanced.

My partner had roast beef for her main course that was cooked medium and served with vegetables and a fantastic sauce; thick, deep, rich and glossy. Fantastic. My main course was confit chicken leg with lentils and bacon. It's always nice to see confit on a menu and this was very good, offering a really good flavour with a perfectly prepared accompaniment of pig and pulse; lentils offering some resistance, salty, smokey bacon and another sauce of incredible clarity and depth. Desserts were also good; a lemon posset with white peach ice cream and blueberries and a fig and almond clafoutis.

Service was attentive and friendly if a little slow at times, but we could forgive this as we were so impressed with the food. It has to be said that we were genuinely shocked by how good the food here actually was. It's not as if we expected a poor meal, but in a small village such as this we didn't expect to find a very very accomplished chef serving food of this quality. Every dish showed a fantastic understanding of the ingredients and the technique used had obviously been gained through years of experience. It is no exaggeration to say that there were aspects of this meal that were as good as those in many one michelin starred restaurants we have eaten in. There was one last shock for us as well, the bill. For two hours of great food in a lovely room with several glasses of wine our bill came to just £71, which is incredible value for money for food of this quality.

If you live locally or are staying in the area then this is a 'must visit' restaurant if you enjoy good food. You will enjoy every second of it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cocopop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have eaten at the Barley Bree regularly over the last three years but this was the first time we had stayed. As usual the food and service were of high standard. We were part of a large group (12) celebrating a birthday. All of the party commented on the friendly professional service and the superb quality of the food. I have always appreciated the quality and presentation of the food at the Barley Bree and the range of seasonal as well as local produce.

The room we had (room 2) was well appointed, spotless and with a very comfortable large bed. The shower room was reasonably sized and included a large walk-in shower.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Barley Bree for food and /or accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had dinner here recently to celebrate a family anniversary. Dinner was absolutely superb, cooked by Fabrice. We had suggested the venue to family as we had been there a few times before. We were not disappointed & our family were very impressed. Lee is great as front of house and helped make the eveing special. Lovely, food, lovely venue and lovely staff.

Stayed: May 2011
Thank Springwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Had food two nights and both times absolutely superb, all three courses. Had accomodation aswell and it was excellent with superb rooms and spotless. We shall be going back there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterkipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muthill
5.2 km away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
586 reviews
10 km away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
806 reviews
3.3 km away
No photo provided
The Highlandman Station
#17 of 27 in Crieff
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
7.4 km away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,606 reviews
0.2 km away
Gowanlea Bed & Breakfast
Gowanlea Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Muthill
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barley Bree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley Bree

Address: 6 Willoughby Street, Muthill PH5 2AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Muthill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muthill
Price Range: €103 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barley Bree 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In beautiful Perthshire less than an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. Award-winning restaurant with 6 guest rooms all ensuite. The menus showcase local food, such as hand-dived scallops, venison carpaccio,apple tarte tatin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Barley Bree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barley Bree Hotel Muthill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing