We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for a large group”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This photo was before the woodburner was installed.
King
Caverns
North Beach
Lydsep Caverns
Lydstep Beach
Tenby(Balamory)
Manorbier Castle
Manorbier Beach
Highlands is circled
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lydstep, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AbiWE
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a large group”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This house, just 3 miles from Tenby, was perfect for our extended family holiday. The whole house is in good condition; Bedrooms are all well furnished with wardrobes and shelves or drawers. Bathrooms have good showers / a big bath and plenty of cupboard space. There are 4 areas downstairs for people to relax without tripping over each other. The kitchen is well laid out with pretty much everything you need. We cooked 5 out of 7 nights-I even made a birthday cake, although I brought tins with me - and had everything we required.
There is a washing machine in the kitchen - a drier would have been useful given the unpredictable weather, as you can't always use the line in the garden. There is a small clothes horse but it's not big enough for an entire load of washing. However, that's not a major issue.
We did find getting in and out of the drive quite tricky, as the house is on a corner, with a hedge around the garden. Maybe the council could put up a mirror on the opposite side of the road?
We visited Folly Farm, which has been refurbished since we last went in 2011. Our children range in age from 10-14 and they still really enjoyed it. The zoo is fantastic, the activities-especially the go-karts are great, and there are loads of areas for picnics. We also went to the beach at Saundersfoot which is gorgeous, but obviously gets hugely busy on sunny days. We went to the Blue Lagoon on one wet afternoon, which again was a good afternoon out, and bowling in Milford Haven on the other wet day.
We had dinner in the Lydstep Tavern and in the Crown in in Manorbier. Both pubs served good food, and the staff were friendly.
There is loads to do in this part of Wales: walking, castles to visit, pretty towns to see, and I prefer it to Cornwall (which I know is a controversial opinion), as it is not as busy, isn't quite as wet and doesn't require the M5 to get to.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Hi Abi. I'm glad you enjoyed Highlands and had such a good time. I wish you had asked, because there is a tumble drier in the garage, which I could have let you use. I do advise everyone to take their time on exiting the property and I am consulting with the council as to siting a mirror opposite.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmilesGil...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family weekend”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We visited for a long weekend (fri-mon) in early June and had a lovely relaxing break. Welcomed by the friendly owner, Gary, we were staying to celebrate my mother-in-laws birthday. There was 10 of us in all and the house was plenty big enough for our needs, with a lovely garden for the kids to play in. Beds were comfy and the house was really clean and tidy, equipped with all the essentials and everything we needed (except food and alcohol!) It was a great place to explore a bit more of the south west

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house with great facilities”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Gary made us feel most welcome at his house, we really couldn't have asked for much more.
The house is clean, tide and had all the things we needed for a great stay.
Parking was excellent, as were the grounds.
A short walk to Lydstep Beach and an even shorter walk to the local pub.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thanks Kelly. I am glad Highlands fitted the bill. I hope to see you and your crew again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious house, great for exploring Pembroke”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Highlands over the May Bank Holiday weekend; 4 adults and 3 boys aged 2, 6 and 8. There was plenty of space for the children, both in the house and in the garden, which they loved. The house itself had everything we needed for a cosy and comfy stay - the beds in particular were really comfy!

It was a great base from which to explore beautiful Pembroke: Pembroke castle, fish and chips on the beach in Tenby and a walk round Stackpole lily ponds would be our top tips!

All in all a brilliant family get together at a lovely house, and we hope to be back in the future.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$161
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing