We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Resort and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We just returned from seven nights at the Grand Isle Resort. We couldn't have been happier. We have a large family and they were very accommodating, friendly and outgoing. Crystal, the Concierge, is very attune to anything you'd like to do and informative. We were shocked at the grounds--they are spectacular and so well maintained. The buildings were solid and our room (penthouse 1031) was nothing short of spectacular. The beach is wide open and nearly empty, the water is clear and very calm as this is located in a bay. Incredible snorkeling. The pool staff is always so helpful and we were amazed how many times we were asked if they could help us or do anything. Always with a smile. Groceries are expensive and nearby - a short golf cart drive away. The restaurant food is reasonably priced and high quality. The New Years eve buffet was huge and the band was very fun in the Bahamian way. The room is appointed with excellent appliances and the cleaning each day was always prompt and ultra courteous.

Sandals is next door and does not welcome kids - we learned the hard way - but this place is by far and away the classiest on the island.

We left relaxed and wishing we could already return.

Room Tip: there are oceanfront and marina views. We had the oceanfront which was on the third floor and amazin...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haser59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Grand Isle Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 756 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed at Grand Isle for 5 days (spanning New Year's Eve) - my only wish is that I could have stayed longer. The staff is incredible, warm, friendly and really seems to care that you are comfortable and having a good time. The villas are gorgeous - well decorated, clean and the kitchen has everything you need if you are looking to eat some meals in versus going out (but, if you do go out, the on site restaurant has great food!). If eating in is your thing, there is a grocery nearby (and a liquor store)...in fact, you can get there in 5min in the golf cart that comes with your villa (remember, stay on the left side of the road).
I spent some time relaxing by the pool...a bit of time snorkeling (there is fantastic snorkeling right at the beach connected to the resort)...and took a couple of boat trips (I even found a sand dollar on one trip). If you like snorkeling, you can sign out equipment from the resort (Emerson and/or Justin will get you anything you need). And, if boat trips are your thing...make sure to ask the front desk to book you with Captain Jerry. Among other places, Captain Jerry will take you to Chat and Chill for a freshly made Conch Salad...it's a taste you'll never forget!
Grand Exuma is an excellent island to visit. There is something for everyone whether you like to stay active, or just like to relax...and the luxurious Grand Isle resort is the same!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank circa1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Grand Isle for a long weekend, and had a terrific time. The accommodations are unmatched anywhere else in the Bahamas. We loved that the units are full apartments, and for a brief several days, it felt like we lived in the islands! The staff is very friendly and goes the extra mile for guests. Just one visit and I'm seriously considering purchasing a unit or a fractional and working remotely from Grand Isle for part of the year.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad unit in this entire resort.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stp411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our family of five adults just returned from Exuma, Bahamas and stayed a week at Grand Isle. We had previously visited Exuma 9 years ago, renting a houseboat over the Christmas holidays. Our return this time was luxurious in comparison. Grand Isle is a beautiful resort with outstanding villas. We couldn't ask for a more beautiful villa. The idea of pre-stocked groceries was great and arranged through the front desk. It insured we had food for breakfast due to the Christmas closing by grocery stores. (Although we could have eaten at the resort's breakfast buffet, we preferred to eat in our pj's on our balcony patio table). We did bring along a ham and 2 pounds of frozen hamburger that was handy for sandwiches and picnics. It certainly wasn't necessary as the grocery store is well-stocked and just a little more expensive. It was fun to take our golf cart (supplied with each villa) and head to the liquor store to bring back drinks for beach time or watching the sunset. Great Exuma is SO beautiful with its lovely turquoise waters, soft white sands, and kind, friendly people. We felt safe, relaxed and pampered on this island of paradise. Don't miss the wonderful massages and spa onsite at Grand Isle. Emmerson and Justin will help you out at the towel stand with free snorkel gear and flippers, oars and life vests for the free kayaks on the beach, and beach toys and shovels for the kids. They also hustle to cover your poolside chair with a white chair cover and supply as many beach towels as you wish. No deposit or sign out sheet. They just know and trust their guests. Thank you, Grand Isle, for that vote of confidence (unlike some high-priced lodging chains in the USA). They had a wonderful managers' reception on Friday night with half price drinks around the pool and free hot appetizers. Be sure and check out the brochures in the reception area for idea's on activities (rent a boat for the day at Minn's, Captain Jerry's for an island cruise, take the Peace n Plenty ferry in Georgetown for an afternoon at Stocking Island and food, Kalik beers, volleyball, etc. at Chat n Chill). Ignore previous comments about a lack of food at this resort. Enjoy their wonderful food. If you don't see something on the menu, ask Chef Ann. Go over to the grocery store on your golf cart and pick up avocado's as big as grapefruits and beautiful papaya's and onions. Fix some guacamole and sit on your deck and relax. Don't miss Big D's - a beachside restaurant with conch salad, grouper, snapper, burgers, chicken and drinks - just 5 minutes away from Grand Isle. We also ate at Catch a Fire in Mosstown/Hermitage, Santana's on Little Exuma, Chat n Chill for Conchburgers, and February Point (Bamboo Grill). All were wonderful and unique in their own way. As far as the villa's, we appreciated the supply of books to read, 3 flat screen tv's, free wireless (a little slower than usual, but HEY! You're on an island!), soft, white robes, top quality soap, shampoo, conditioner, daily maid service, wonderful soft, white beds, lots of pillows, lots of kitchen tools (including a Cuisinart blender and coffee maker), supplied coffee and filters, dishwashing soap, paper towels, etc.) Even shell napkin rings, cloth napkins and place mats! Spotlessly clean with friendly, efficient maids. Our family has traveled all fifty states and in the past 18 months alone, traveled to 16 countries on business. We all agreed Grand Isle is one of the top three places we have ever stayed (competing with a recent trip to the Fairmont Orchid in Hawaii). Combine that with the Exuma hospitality, Junkanoo, 7 days of sunshine, beautiful, uncrowded beaches (we were the only ones on the Tropic of Cancer beach for 5 hours one afternoon), good values for boating and car rentals, and if you can't tell by now... we all can't wait to return! Thank you, Grand Isle and Great Exuma for a fun, relaxing, and unique trip.

Room Tip: We had Villa 1414 overlooking the pool on one side and the ocean on the other. Perfect location eve...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joyfull54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This property is top quality. When they built this place, they spared no expense. Everything about this place is high end. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view room, and we can't not say enough good things about it. The grounds are lush and beautiful. Each room comes with a golf cart, so you can cruise around the entire development, and even take it down the street to the grocery and liquor store. The beach is very nice, and the reef in front of the property is about a half a mile long, and is an easy snorkel.

My wife and myself travel to the caribbean four times a year, and we were not big fans of the Bahamas, especially Nassau. The people in Nassau are surly, and consistantly rude, but here in the Exumas, and especially at this resort, the one thing that stood out in our minds was the friendly and outstanding service. The staff at this property are the nicest people we have ever met. As a matter of fact everyone on the island went out of their way to say hello or wave. So, in closing, great location, great property, and the best service. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LobsterBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
20.0 km away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
20.0 km away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
559 reviews
18.0 km away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
303 reviews
1.7 km away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: €295 - €875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing