We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$275
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Augusta Bay Bahamas(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Regatta Point(Great Exuma)(Great Value!)
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Mt Pleasant Suites Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Yacht Club(George Town)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Island Time Villas(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$294
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$247
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
796
168
45
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
796
168
45
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa grillbedroom villagolf cartliquor storehigh end applianceswasher and dryerrented a caremerald baytop of the linethree bedroomfull kitchenocean viewpool staffpaddle boardson site restaurantinfinity poolexuma market
Filter
Updating list...
824 - 829 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed at Grand Isle for 5 days (spanning New Year's Eve) - my only wish is that I could have stayed longer. The staff is incredible, warm, friendly and really seems to care that you are comfortable and having a good time. The villas are gorgeous - well decorated, clean and the kitchen has everything you need if you are looking to eat some meals in versus going out (but, if you do go out, the on site restaurant has great food!). If eating in is your thing, there is a grocery nearby (and a liquor store)...in fact, you can get there in 5min in the golf cart that comes with your villa (remember, stay on the left side of the road).
I spent some time relaxing by the pool...a bit of time snorkeling (there is fantastic snorkeling right at the beach connected to the resort)...and took a couple of boat trips (I even found a sand dollar on one trip). If you like snorkeling, you can sign out equipment from the resort (Emerson and/or Justin will get you anything you need). And, if boat trips are your thing...make sure to ask the front desk to book you with Captain Jerry. Among other places, Captain Jerry will take you to Chat and Chill for a freshly made Conch Salad...it's a taste you'll never forget!
Grand Exuma is an excellent island to visit. There is something for everyone whether you like to stay active, or just like to relax...and the luxurious Grand Isle resort is the same!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank circa1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Grand Isle for a long weekend, and had a terrific time. The accommodations are unmatched anywhere else in the Bahamas. We loved that the units are full apartments, and for a brief several days, it felt like we lived in the islands! The staff is very friendly and goes the extra mile for guests. Just one visit and I'm seriously considering purchasing a unit or a fractional and working remotely from Grand Isle for part of the year.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad unit in this entire resort.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stp411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our family of five adults just returned from Exuma, Bahamas and stayed a week at Grand Isle. We had previously visited Exuma 9 years ago, renting a houseboat over the Christmas holidays. Our return this time was luxurious in comparison. Grand Isle is a beautiful resort with outstanding villas. We couldn't ask for a more beautiful villa. The idea of pre-stocked groceries was great and arranged through the front desk. It insured we had food for breakfast due to the Christmas closing by grocery stores. (Although we could have eaten at the resort's breakfast buffet, we preferred to eat in our pj's on our balcony patio table). We did bring along a ham and 2 pounds of frozen hamburger that was handy for sandwiches and picnics. It certainly wasn't necessary as the grocery store is well-stocked and just a little more expensive. It was fun to take our golf cart (supplied with each villa) and head to the liquor store to bring back drinks for beach time or watching the sunset. Great Exuma is SO beautiful with its lovely turquoise waters, soft white sands, and kind, friendly people. We felt safe, relaxed and pampered on this island of paradise. Don't miss the wonderful massages and spa onsite at Grand Isle. Emmerson and Justin will help you out at the towel stand with free snorkel gear and flippers, oars and life vests for the free kayaks on the beach, and beach toys and shovels for the kids. They also hustle to cover your poolside chair with a white chair cover and supply as many beach towels as you wish. No deposit or sign out sheet. They just know and trust their guests. Thank you, Grand Isle, for that vote of confidence (unlike some high-priced lodging chains in the USA). They had a wonderful managers' reception on Friday night with half price drinks around the pool and free hot appetizers. Be sure and check out the brochures in the reception area for idea's on activities (rent a boat for the day at Minn's, Captain Jerry's for an island cruise, take the Peace n Plenty ferry in Georgetown for an afternoon at Stocking Island and food, Kalik beers, volleyball, etc. at Chat n Chill). Ignore previous comments about a lack of food at this resort. Enjoy their wonderful food. If you don't see something on the menu, ask Chef Ann. Go over to the grocery store on your golf cart and pick up avocado's as big as grapefruits and beautiful papaya's and onions. Fix some guacamole and sit on your deck and relax. Don't miss Big D's - a beachside restaurant with conch salad, grouper, snapper, burgers, chicken and drinks - just 5 minutes away from Grand Isle. We also ate at Catch a Fire in Mosstown/Hermitage, Santana's on Little Exuma, Chat n Chill for Conchburgers, and February Point (Bamboo Grill). All were wonderful and unique in their own way. As far as the villa's, we appreciated the supply of books to read, 3 flat screen tv's, free wireless (a little slower than usual, but HEY! You're on an island!), soft, white robes, top quality soap, shampoo, conditioner, daily maid service, wonderful soft, white beds, lots of pillows, lots of kitchen tools (including a Cuisinart blender and coffee maker), supplied coffee and filters, dishwashing soap, paper towels, etc.) Even shell napkin rings, cloth napkins and place mats! Spotlessly clean with friendly, efficient maids. Our family has traveled all fifty states and in the past 18 months alone, traveled to 16 countries on business. We all agreed Grand Isle is one of the top three places we have ever stayed (competing with a recent trip to the Fairmont Orchid in Hawaii). Combine that with the Exuma hospitality, Junkanoo, 7 days of sunshine, beautiful, uncrowded beaches (we were the only ones on the Tropic of Cancer beach for 5 hours one afternoon), good values for boating and car rentals, and if you can't tell by now... we all can't wait to return! Thank you, Grand Isle and Great Exuma for a fun, relaxing, and unique trip.

Room Tip: We had Villa 1414 overlooking the pool on one side and the ocean on the other. Perfect location even with small children as there is not nightlife at the bar/pool/restaurant and it is just a few steps from the beach and pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joyfull54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This property is top quality. When they built this place, they spared no expense. Everything about this place is high end. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view room, and we can't not say enough good things about it. The grounds are lush and beautiful. Each room comes with a golf cart, so you can cruise around the entire development, and even take it down the street to the grocery and liquor store. The beach is very nice, and the reef in front of the property is about a half a mile long, and is an easy snorkel.

My wife and myself travel to the caribbean four times a year, and we were not big fans of the Bahamas, especially Nassau. The people in Nassau are surly, and consistantly rude, but here in the Exumas, and especially at this resort, the one thing that stood out in our minds was the friendly and outstanding service. The staff at this property are the nicest people we have ever met. As a matter of fact everyone on the island went out of their way to say hello or wave. So, in closing, great location, great property, and the best service. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LobsterBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Isle from 7/24/11-7/31/11 celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Preferring a property that allows you the convenience of home amenities while still being in a resort setting it provided that and more. The golf cart allowed you easy access to the grocery, liquor store and pizza restaurant at the end of the road. Having general supplies in your condo is lovely as you don't have to organize yourself first thing in order to get breakfast (the hotel actually does not offer breakfast) but does serve lunch and dinner. We arrived on a Sunday most stores are closed but the gentleman that picked us up at the airport took us on route to a grocery store opened on Sunday so we picke up the necessities to get us started.

I read the reviews on trip advisor and mine won't be any different it's a wonderful experience/property, staff are friendly and efficient, if you crave peace and quiet you will get it but still have the opportunity to mingle with the other guests. The pool and beach are fabulous we are going to be hard pressed to find another setting that will live up to that experience. For travelers from Toronto you can't beat the direct 3 hours flight that is being offered.

FYI my husband and I traveled with carry on luggage and it was perfect no long line ups involved at the airport you only need a bathing suit and a cover up during the day and if you use your condo amenities and onsite restaurant which we did, a load of laundry (washer & dryer provided in your room with soap) kept us in clean clothes. Really you don't need any more than that we will never do check in luggage again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louise56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews