We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Augusta Bay Bahamas(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Regatta Point(Great Exuma)(Great Value!)
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$309
US$252
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$657
US$558
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Exuma Palms Hotel(Great Exuma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Cut Villas(George Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (4,382)
Filter reviews
4,382 results
Traveller rating
2,521
1,093
479
177
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,521
1,093
479
177
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrunken duckfrench restaurantbutler servicequiet poolmain poolil cielopiano barthe pubemerald bayla parisiennecafe de parisbutler suitered lane spaisland routesjeremy muttonocean safariswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 4,382 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

I am a sandals fan and having been to eight now have noticed consistency throughout, not a bad thing. This resort has what you would expect in terms of sandals meticulously manicured gardens, almost wonder why they need to start mowing at 7.30 am when the grass hasn’t grown but with the size of the grounds it’s understandable.

The room we stayed in (building 4, floor 2) was more than adequate, it’s probably the largest concierge room we have had and had no problems with the room, one night their was an AC issue, it was fixed in 5 minutes of the call, in fact any call we made whether it was for more beer, wine or an issue was answered and delivered in under 10 minutes which is fast for any resort. Minor issue was the hallway smelt of machine oil on the way to the room but it didn’t permeate to our room.

Food at sandals is consistent to all resorts, breakfast buffet is a mirror image of them all as is lunch, however if you can catch the Caribbean buffet lunch it’s worth it, especially the West Indian lamb stew - delicious, only problem was when it was gone it was replaced with something else not quite as good.

The real star of the restaurants is Bombay. We dined twice and couldn’t have been happier, I am a big Indian food fan and this was something way better than I could have imagined especially the tandoori lamb chops and rogan josh. We took two couples who had never had Indian cuisine before and they have been converted. One slight negative is with all the presentation is the small bowls they put in candle warmers looks great but they slide everywhere and a number of times they fell onto the table and it wasn’t just our table (not due to drinking either!) all in all food was average to good however Bahamas bay was a let down and the one I personally disliked the most.

Entertainment wise it’s thin on the ground, however this could be due to the weather and the strong winds but this apparently is unusual. The beach was red flagged 6 of 7 days, the water remained the bluest it could be but no activities were going on in the water. Water volley ball didn’t happen at all during our stay however no one seemed to care.

Age wise of the guests was certainly older for sandals, even I felt young at this resort and I am 41! This might account for how laid back it was. I also didn’t get the connection I normally do with the bar tenders however Elvis at the drunken duck and naoko at the swim up bar were very nice and accommodating.

Now I will say the photography team were excellent TJ and Kevin took excellent pictures throughout, we were never hassled and we got some great shots throughout. They were that much on hand that we didn’t need a photo shoot as we got great pictures every night.

Summing it up, it’s a pain in the behind to get their, but’s it’s beautiful and laid back when you do, a perfect spot to relax and go very slow maybe a little to slow but you are on vacation right??

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Out first time to Exuma, second to a Sandals resort (Grand St Lucian last year). Four day anniversary trip to this resort. While we had weather issues for two days, no fault of the resort, the overall trip was fabulous.

We rated this trip as four stars for two reasons: 1) we did not receive the room selection that we initially chose; 2) the room was a little run down and in need of some updates. We had booked a beach house one bedroom Butler suite. Instead, we were place in a beach villa butler room. While this is an ‘upgrade’ per Sandals standard, it did not have the room layout/amenities (separate bedroom, sitting area, soaking tub) that we wanted.

Good points: the resort is well designed and beautifully landscaped. Pool and sport amenities are great and the golf course (although front nine was closed due to rainfall) was fantastic. We tried all restaurants and they exceeded our expectations in both food and drink quality and had excellent staff service. Our butlers, Valdez, Greg, and Quenton were superb and provided all that we desired. All resort staff were very friendly and courteous to us, offering a smile and welcome each time we passed.

The beach was immaculately clean and the water crystal clear. Ocean sports were limited by the high wind with the passing storms, but the view was superb.

Overall, we were very pleased with this resort and will certainly return again.

Room Tip: Make sure that Sandals does not change your choices
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dennisk2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Sandals in early May. We were picked up from the airport by a cab with damp seats. The cabs are independent from Sandals itself, so our ride doesn’t have any bearing on this 3-star rating; however, it would be nice if Sandals would provide better/nicer transportation.

We arrived at the resort and were greeted with cool towels, led to the club room, and given turquoise-colored cocktails (yum!). It was around 1:00 pm, our room was not ready, and we were told we could make our dining reservations and then go eat lunch. We sat down with a woman to make our dining reservations. We indicated that we wanted a dinner reservation at La Parisienne. She asked us which night, and when we answered, she said the restaurant was closed on that evening. We provided her another night, and she told us the restaurant was booked. Ok, lady, you tell US which nights are available! Finally she was able to provide a night that worked. We asked for an 8:00 pm reservation, and she said she would try to get us one between 7:30 and 8:30. Later, she called our room to tell us the only reservation available was at 6:00, so that’s what she booked for us. Ok, fine. Why doesn’t the Sandals rep in the club room have access to the restaurants’ reservations lists? That would make things much easier.

Anyway, we were escorted to lunch at Bahama Bay, and the food was ok. Afterward, we went back to the club room to inquire about our room, and by then, it was ready. We were then escorted to our Beach House Honeymoon Oceanview Grande Luxe Club Level Room in Building 4. The gentleman’s master key card worked, but our room key cards did not. He left to get new key cards programmed for us while we unpacked and checked out the room. We then heard a loud crash in the hallway; someone broke a glass that had been sitting on a room service tray that had been left in the hallway by the room next to ours. When the gentleman returned with the room key cards, there was broken glass all over the hallway right outside our door. He called to have someone clean it up immediately, and whoever swept it up, left glass shards along with dirt/dust in the hallway corner. We also told the gentleman that the lock on our sliding glass door (the glass was terribly streaked) was broken, and he said he would have someone come fix it. No one came to fix it the whole time we were there.

We didn’t have an unobstructed view of the ocean, but we could see it and the beautifully manicured grounds in front of the Cafe de Paris. Our room looked nice at first glance, but then we noticed the fan in the bathroom was broken, there was water damage on the ceiling in the water closet room, a light inside one of the closets didn’t work, the vent for the air conditioning looked really moldy/dusty, the walls could use fresh paint, and there was part of the main door to our room that was missing (perhaps because of damage?). After our first day there, all the water at the resort started smelling and tasting like gas (maybe sulfur?). Gross. These are certainly not 5-star accommodations.

And, during our stay, the maid forgot to leave us toilet paper one day. We made do with what we had left but then actually ran out the following morning! (Good thing we brought baby wipes with us!). We left the maid a note requesting 3 rolls of toilet paper, and that is exactly what she left for us. The following day, we returned from an excursion at about 2:00 pm and found our room not yet serviced. The maid knocked on our door around 3:30 pm, and we declined service but asked for fresh towels, which she provided at that time. She asked if we wanted turn-down service at 6:00 pm, and we said yes (we would be out of the room at dinner by then) but no one ever came.

Service at the various restaurants was good. Waiters and waitresses were consistently friendly. The food was pretty good and the presentation was nice; it was what you would expect at an all-inclusive resort. The food quality wasn’t equivalent to that found high-end restaurants in cities like Washington, DC, but we weren’t expecting that level of quality and were, therefore, happy with the food at Sandals. The best meal we had was at La Parisienne, where the escargot were delicious. The scallops appetizer and the lamb chops were also really good.

The resort grounds and both pools were pretty, and we had no problem getting drinks from the bar at the main pool. The bartenders made us some interesting and delicious drinks when we weren’t quite sure what we wanted. Cabanas were impossible to get because we didn’t have a butler. The butlers reserve all the cabanas very early in the morning. The cushions on the lounge chairs and pool beds are thin and stained, and some chairs and beds were missing cushions all together. The resort needs to invest in replacing them all to make the pools look and feel cleaner/fresh.

The water in the bay was beautiful, and the swings on the beach were fun. The hammocks on the beach provided a nice place to relax. The sand was not as white nor as clean as we had hoped it would be, based on pictures. There was seaweed (understandable due to the daily rain storms) but also a lot of broken pieces of plastic trash and leftover drink cups with fruit garnishes that had ants crawling on them. Only one time during our vacation did we see a waiter on the beach asking guests if they wanted drinks. It would be nice to have consistent drink service on the beach.

On the afternoon of May 9th, I was interested in snorkeling, so my husband and I went to the place on the beach to sign up for a snorkeling trip. My husband mentioned to the woman that he didn’t want to snorkel but wanted to go on the boat with me so that I didn’t have to go alone and to make sure I was ok. Very rudely, the woman said, “You have to participate. No riders.” I thought that perhaps she didn’t understand, so I asked again if he could just come on the trip with me even though he didn’t want to actually snorkel. Again, very rudely, the woman replied, “No riders.” We were very surprised by her shortness and by this supposed “rule.” It’s a couples resort. Would the staff really split up a couple if one person wanted to snorkel and the other didn’t?! Why would it have mattered if my husband had actually gone in the water or not? We left the beach stand really disappointed by the service and angry that I wasn’t going to get to snorkel.

Thankfully, I did get to snorkel the following day on the Swimming with the Pigs excursion. The excursion was booked through Sandals/Island Routes but provided by the local tour company, Exuma Water Sports. The excursion was a lot of fun, and the pigs were just a part of it.

So, all in all, it was nice to get away from the daily grind, but our experience at Sandals Emerald Bay did not warrant the price Sandals charges for the vacation. It really isn’t a 5-star resort. I’ve been to all three Sandals resorts in St. Lucia, and they’re not better. I’ve stayed at other all-inclusive resorts on other Caribbean islands, and those are better. Our next Caribbean vacation will not be at a Sandals.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TheArtLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Over all it was our second great experience with Sandals. Good service,great ametities,friendly staff . beautiful beach, rooms confortables. .we will go back but to another one. Nothing to see or do at George town,rented a car for nothing but for less money than a taxi.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Clara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

It’s all about Heston

Heston is the resorts piano player and is simply a great guy. He has the knack of being very professional and at the same time being very interactive with his audience, doing his best to make everyone have very special memories. He truly became our friends and hopefully we will stay in touch once we are home

Well done Heston you are the star of Sandals Emerald Bay


Thank you

Suzy and Tony x

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Suzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellena H, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

HI Suzy!
Thank you for your review on our Sandals Emerald Bay Resort. It is great to know that you had the pleasure in meeting Heston and he played a great part in you enjoying your vacation. Rest assured that your comments and special mentions will be shared with the resort team, so that everyone who contributed to you enjoying your stay will be recognized for their outstanding service. We eagerly await your return to the Sandals family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews