We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
8
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish liz bain alton habitat boats bone resort
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Party of 6 at the Mangrove Cay Club - fishing was excellent (some days easy, some days hard, but that is fishing) and the weather was great. Everything from the rooms, the service, the guides, the staff, the food......wow!

Room Tip: All rooms great
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

First, I want to say that the food & accommodations @ the Mangrove Cay Club are outstanding. Liz & her entire crew do a wonderful job of making sure guests are well cared for, & the evening meals are as good as we've had anywhere. However, we came for the bonefish, & the "hotel" aspect was secondary relative to our needs. We would choose great fishing over great accommodations. That said, we did not feel one of our guides was experienced enough to be guiding clients. Mangrove Cay Club's rates are steep, so ALL their guides should be top tier. Sadly, we did not find that to be true.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
6  Thank flyfshngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I and 5 others just returned from a fine Bonefish fishing trip to Mangrove Cay Club. I have had a chance to fish a number of places for these great sport fish and have to say this is the best I have experienced. Reasons? Flyfishing for bonefish is a crazy fun sport and the experience is dependent on guiding, water and flats available and a good population of bonefish . All of these are top rate at this place. Literally hundreds of flats that are large. Also, because of the location in the "middle bight" of Andros there are many ways to the fish at any time without much depending on tides. One of our party landed (and released) a fish of 8 lbs and one of albs. I would say that the average fish size is healthy 2 to 3 lbs in all honesty. This average is a bit better than other places I have fished. The guides are professional. Of the 8 guides available more than half have been guiding at Mangrove Cay Club for 10 years. Guides are very good. Boats are set up for 2 anglers and have ample room for what little gear needed and places for 6 rods (which is 5 more than needed). The "step" and front of the boat is snag free and perfect for standing up there and casting. I think the boats are all "Dolphins". One of the staff is on full time as a mechanic for the Yamaha motors on the boats and during our week the equipment performed without a glitch. Flies....if you go there make sure you have a "red headed gotcha" in size 4 on tiemco 800S hooks. They have them in their proshop if you don't tie. Just add red yarn around the eyes and back about 1/8" behind the eyes and get ready..these babies work.
Accommodations? Wow. Liz Bain designed and built the Mangrove Cay Club about 15 years ago and the set up is by all means the most comfortable accommodation I have experienced while bone fishing. Check out their website and you can see how the rooms are set up with a/c in the bedrooms and all have great showers and sitting rooms. The food? Iyke has been the chef for the 15 years since Liz built the club and is one incredible cook. I have never had food as good as this in a week of fishing anywhere. Each day a boat pulls up at the dock in front and Iyke goes down and purchases fresh fish caught minutes or just hours before from a couple of reliable divers. Simply fresh and very fine dining. So hat's off to Liz and Alton Bain for their jobs as hosts. The staff is just the best, very nice and accommodating. Again, this is the best bone fishing week I've experienced.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenirving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

You get what you pay for and it you are seeking the best lodge on Andros to stay at after a long day of fishing this is it. Everything about Mangrove Cay is really perfect and I'm a difficult to please customer with high expectations. Why is this place the best: the place is immaculately maintained, the suites are very comfortable when you are not hanging out in the main lodge passing the cord to the stereo around as everyone is taking their turn at being aDJ with their iPods, the meals...best dinners anywhere...seriously major city 5 star quality yet just like home, being able to pack your own lunch for the day of fishing...brilliant, cold beer waiting for you with hot appetizers when the boats come in...really nice. The guides are the best I have fished anywhere in the world, professional, helpful and a lot of fun to be with...no Captain Bligh need apply. Ask for Kiki, best guide we had, we became fast friends. The other think that makes this the best is the people the lodge attracts, many repeat customers and a very comfortable bunch. No need to tell fish stories everyone enjoyed everyone else's company. Many couple's fish out of the lodge and even if one of you wanted to take a day of the property is a beautiful place to hang out. Finally, Liz and Alton are professionals in every positive sense. They know their clientele and the expectations they have and they just nail it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReelBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The guides are very knowledgeable, fun and boy can they cast a fly line. They are very good flying casting instructors for those who may be somewhat new to the sport and really help you improve in a short period of time. Liz runs the place perfectly and has only the best staff. Chef Iyke is the best seafood chef EVER. He could go face to face with any big city chef, and win! I can't imaging bone fishing anywhere else, best place I've been to in the Bahamas for fishing.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank CourtneyJ415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews