We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Kamalame Cay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kamalame Cay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Three years ago my husband attended a wedding there and came back home mesmerized...three years later he took our entire family.
Kamalame is my heaven on earth, it truly surpasses all the cudos, with their warm hospitality and absolute missions to please. We have two young girls, and their experience was also nothing but pure fun in the sun with us as parents feeling so safe and happy to know the staff is always there to cater and be the second pair of eyes.
Kamalame is truly a virgin land with all the luxurious amenities that treat Mother Nature with love.
#iheartkamalame.
Siddiqa Palmer

Room Tip: Depends on your preference of the creek or the seaside,either way it's magnificent,and peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Siddiqa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Truly one of the gems of the Bahamas!

It is the perfect getaway from your busy life. Whether you want to just relax by the pool, sit on a beautiful sandy beach with views of the ocean that don't stop or come to go fishing, snorkeling or other sporting, you can't go wrong.

A feel of island rustic chic in all of the rooms, but waking up and opening your doors to the ocean is like nothing else.

We have a two year old child and even she loves it every time we go. You can take out kayaks, ride bikes or just let the kids roam with all the open beach! The kitchen is very flexible for you parents worrying about what your child will eat. They can make whatever you need.

David and Michael are always the most elegant of hosts. You feel like you are a personal VIP guest of theirs the moment you arrive.

Oh and make sure you don't miss their Kamalame Cay Luncheon dates. They happen about once a month and are the hottest ticket in the Bahamas. A beautiful family style table set up, locally caught fish, local garden grown veggies, prepared in large sharing dishes with up to 80 people from all walks of life! All of that paired with some amazing wines and rums lead to one fun boozy day!

My wife and I can't say enough about this place, so if you were on the fence, jump to it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kcj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We visited kamalame (pronounced ka-mall-a-may) with virtually no notice on a whim. It was one of the best decisions made in years regarding travel. We have extensively travelled the Bahamas and even own property in the Abacos. This experience was in summary the perfect "5 star out island retreat." You have enough service, balanced with privacy, to perfectly supply an environment to enjoy a very private and enjoyable retreat. My wife and I were looking for a couples getaway w/ out the kids and this was absolutely perfect for us. Unplug and enjoy.

Upon arrival you are greeted by friendly staff, cocktails and a very short ferry ride to the private island retreat. The grounds as a whole are very well maintained and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I don't want to spoil some of the beauties you'll encounter as you get through the casual check in process and start exploring but, I'll say if you're looking for any of the following, just book it: a beautiful secluded island romantic getaway, a high-end bonefish lodge, beautiful remote dive or snorkeling destination, a place to unplug and enjoy an island paradise.

Quick mentions: The residences are very well appointed and beautiful, the oceanfront bungalows are the honest best value experience I've ever had on the high end side of island travel and are also beautiful. Breakfast baskets delivered to your door are fresh and tasty, food and staff at the great house are all far above good for island experiences, pool is great, beach is epic, self serve bar is complete and ample, spa beautiful w/ great availability, golf carts, bikes and kayaks all great. Paddle boards were in terrible shape and need replacement as do some paddles. I'd say the only area the place lacked for us was in the paddle board equipment area which was a big disappointment for us as we were looking for a nice opportunity for exercise paddling about.

We plan to return with our own boat (and Paddleboards) next year. There is a small marina suitable for large outboards or shallow draft inboard vessels.

Fishing: bonefishing, Spearfishing and offshore fishing is available through local guides booked through the lodge. All fishing in the area is excellent but bonefishing is truly world renown and a highlight.

I've loaded some photos that depict the beauty I think. Check them out too. Enjoy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank FlyboyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This is a wonderful place: the house at which we stayed was really lovely, the food was exceptional, the service and welcome were excellent. It is a place where one leaves the cares and stresses of the outside world behind, brilliant for couples, and for those seeking quiet and luxurious vacations. The disappointments were (i) the absence of wifi elsewhere than at reception: having said that this was a wonderful place to leave everything behind, there are nevertheless occasions when one needs internet access to the outside world and this is not readily provided; and (ii) slightly more seriously, the beach is not the greatest in the world (compare Highbourne Cay, which, I see, does not feature at all on Tripadvisor) and nor is the pool. The importance of the latter is accentuated by the significance of the former. The pool needs to be updated and improved before I would give this otherwise wonderful place an "Excellent" review. Having said that, I would be delighted to go back because all the other aspects of this island are just exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GvKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Amazing getaway for couples! It is a little like planes, trains and automobiles to get there but well worth it! We flew into Nassau on Bahamair and then got a private flight on Dove air ( due to the fact that we arrived early and the next public flight wasn't until 3:30) to Andros. Upon arriving in Fresh Creek on Andros, a taxi took us on, terrible roads, about a 20 min drive to the dock where the ferry picked us up. The ferry trip is just long enough to sip a Sampson Special rum cocktail... amazing!

The golf cart picks u up at the dock and once you are checked in at the office, you get your own golf cart to follow them to your bungalow. It was so amazing and opened up to a short sandy path, framed with palm trees, to the beach. Humming birds everywhere, friendly people and wonderful food! Also the bars were self serve honor bars, although often someone was there to assist you. One of my favorite things was the breakfast basket delivered every morning by 7 with fresh squeezed oj, coffee, croissants( chocolate chip were yummy) hard boiled eggs, and fruit or yogurt. So spoiled... I miss that at home:) we did kayak but mostly just relaxed. No tv, wifi limited to office... wonderful to disconnect!

Highly recommend!

Only things needing improvement... biting horseflies and even though they fog every morning, the mosquitos were still a little issue but it was the rainy season.

The spa was a cool thatched roof building on the water at the end of a dock. The couples massage however was in adjoining rooms not next to each other which was unexpected. The cut out glass window on the floor under your head also showed no sealife, which was disappointing.

We did see a 6 foot shark about 10 feet off shore at about 7pm which was so cool!


The flight back to Nassau was on LeAir which was fine.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Andros hotels
69.3 km away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
110 reviews
0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
78.3 km away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
524 reviews
0 km away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
202 reviews
95.1 km away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Andros
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamalame Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalame Cay

Address: Staniard Creek, Andros
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: €588 - €4,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off the northeast coast of Andros, and accessible only by private ferry or seaplane, the secluded family-owned Bahamian island of Kamalame Cay caters to a comfortable group of guests at any given time. Idyllic and isolated, this oasis of breathtaking natural beauty wraps ocean adventure and island romance in the luxury of a private island experience.A quick flight from major hubs such as New York, Toronto and Miami, yet worlds away from Nassau’s trendy, resort-lined beaches, Kamalame’s utterly private accommodations are tucked into 96-acres of swaying palms and flowering tropical foliage. A lush oasis ringed by three miles of deserted, white-sand beach and colourful coral gardens, the warm, turquoise waters just off shore teem with manta ray, parrotfish and blue tangs.Kamalame Cay is an idyllic escape for those whose idea of paradise is a tropical hideaway where a sarong is all that’s required to be ‘dressed’ for dinner.Modern interpretations of classic Bahamian cuisine combined with sophisticated wines and spirits, comfortable elegant island décor, and one of the only overwater spas in the Caribbean underscore Kamalame’s gracious 'barefoot chic’ character.Traced by white sand pathways, the island’s beautifully landscaped jungle of sea grapes, palms and coco plums is banked by pristine mangrove fields and a pristine coast scattered with conch shells and starfish; the wide variety of birdlife ranges from sandpipers, herons and cranes to finches, pink ibis and pelicans.Sliced into the Silver Palms that embrace the island, the Great House serves as a welcoming social hub for dining and cocktails and is just a few steps from the heated, freshwater pool, sweeping ocean views and al fresco beach bar.With myriad diversions – from spa programs to world-class diving, snorkelling, fishing and sporting excursions – Kamalame takes pleasure in tailoring every guest’s experience to individual tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kamalame Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamalame Cay Andros, Bahamas
Kamalame Cay Hotel Andros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing