We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,126)
Filter reviews
5,126 results
Traveller rating
960
1,708
1,169
674
615
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
960
1,708
1,169
674
615
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviva cafeanimation staffnightly showslasagnanachosstar resortdance lessonskids cluba la carte restaurantsping pongwater shoespaddle boardseither directionnegative reviewsbanana bayplenty of chairsa lot of fun
Filter
Updating list...
2,194 - 2,199 of 5,126 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The good-All inclusive with lots to do: water activities, land activities, ping pong, darts, huge restaurant and buffet, massive commons area, 3 bars serving all day and late evening, huge pool, 6 volleyball courts, organized activities such as water polo and sand soccer. The best entertainment show I have ever seen. Pole climb, areobatics, choreographed dances. Kiddy pool, hot tub, Internet in common areas concentrated around the welcome center and the game room/inside bar.

The bad-Arrived at 10 can't have room until 3. When we walked in we were hit with a salesperson pressuring us to sit through a 90 minute sales speech for their version of a timeshare. Arrived at 10 can't have room until 3. When we made it to the room the phone, lamp, and hair dryer didn't work but fixed immediately after I reported them. The next morning the toilet overflowed and a technician came and unclogged it around 8am but the mess was still in the floor at 2pm. I placed phone all at 8:00am, 11:30am, then at 1:15pm, 1:18pm, 1:25pm, 1:45pm, then at 2:00pm we walked to guest services where we ere told they had called housekeeping and that we could wait another 15 min for a manager. The manager called someone over house keeping and scolded them for not taking care of the issue. He asked what he could do to help the situation I demanded another room, but due to the resort being at capacity it was denied. So then I asked for a refund and was told to come back at 330 and we could talk to a manager. At 3pm we got back to the room and the room was clean but no towels or wash cloths because they used them to clean the mess. We went back to talk with the manager only to be told that if we sat through the sales pitch for 90 min we would be given a 3day voucher w/o transportation back for another visit. I told her I didn't want to come back. She couldn't help and now I'm back at guest services. I finally talked to the resort manager and he promised a refund for 1 night. We received the refund 3 months after we returned from the trip. There are locals peddling seashells, jet ski rentals, and clothing. Very pushy sells and when you tell them no they just sit on the beach and watch you. Gives you an uneasy feeling like they are just waiting for you to leave your stuff alone. We were woke up twice while sleeping on the beach by someone yelling at us from the edge of the property line wanting us to buy something. Guest services knows about the issue and don't/can't do anything about it. There was 1 security guard, but 5 peddlers. Needless to say we will never go back to this resort. A mini vacation was turned into a horrible experience.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank James29673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at this all-inclusive resort from 11/17 to 11/23/12. The price was great for this all-inclusive, but there were some disappointments.

The food was good, except for the Asian restaurant (we waited an hour for our meal). The room was dated; it had two non-working microwaves, one non-working fridge (there was another small fridge that worked), and a single-cup coffee pot. We wondered if this was a storage room. When we arrived, there were two packets of coffee and two tea bags, but no cream or sugar. Only one of the dispensers in the bathroom had something in it; we weren't sure if it was soap or shampoo. We were provided with two small bottles of shampoo and one of conditioner (not True Blue products as promised on the Viva Wyndham website) and two bars of soap. On the last day we were provided with one bottle of True Blue conditioner.

The entertainment did not start until 9:45 pm, too late for us. After that, the music started and lasted until at least 2 am. The loud bass thumping vibrated our room which faced the pool and bar area. Staff members were not very friendly or helpful.

The only other positives besides unlimited food and beverages were the beautiful beach and the free sailing, snorkeling, and kayaking.

We will not return to this resort.

Room Tip: Don't go to this resort unless you like to party all night and sleep all day. Even at that, music started playing as early as 11 am.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest
First of all we would like to thank you, for visiting Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach resort as your vacation destination.
We sincerely apologize for not meeting up to your expectations with the room you occupied leading you to have an uncomfortable experience with us; We deeply regret not having an opportunity to meet with you as we have a duty manager available 24 hours per day, not to mention systems in place to address each concern as they arise. More importantly, we believe that our invaluable clients deserve a worry-free vacation.
Please be advise that we do have 2 a la carte restaurants which are Viva Cafe (Italian) and Bamboo (Asian) available under reservations with guarantee bookings plus of course the main buffet Junkanoo, snack bars and Pizzeria.
We represent one of Wyndham International fewer all Inclusive resorts, while Viva Resorts offer more focus on activities and entertainment, Wyndham on the other hand has a more larger market and higher in products and service. However we work very hard to meld those two concepts by providing monitoring programs including guest comments surveys which are traditionally positive.
Regarding the reported discomfort caused by some of the Viva Vacation Club personal, we deeply apologize for this inconvenience as they normally works promoting and offering to our loyal guest several benefits and rewards.

On behalf of the staff and management, we would like to say thank you once more for your honest review and for your generous hospitality and hope that you will consider returning for a true and positive experience.


Kind regards,

Guest Service Dep
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Freeport, Grand Bahama, The Bahamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was our first trip together. His first trip to a tropical island. When we first got there we were a little worried because of reviews from other people. After browsing around the hotel we decided that it was going to be a awesome week. It is a little out dated but still beautiful and relaxing. I've seen alot of reviews about the ACs not working but ours worked great! People also complained about the drinks but those were fine to us too! We're young and don't really care as long as we're having a good time. That we did ! It was great they had free use of kayaks and snorkel gear. We saw some pretty fish and deffinitely reccomend using the free gear. One place I reccomend to go is Gold Rock Beach. It is Beauitful. The tour that brings you to the caves also lets you go to this beach.It has to be the the most beautiful beach I've seen soo far. The food got old after a whole week but it was fine. There was always something to eat. The Italian resturaunt was very good. Overall we had a blast! I reccomend this to anyone who does not have high expectations and can make fun out of anything like us :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjoness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamFortuna1, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest
We would like to say thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach as your vacation destination.
We are thrilled to read how you enjoyed your experience here with us and all our staff and were pleased to read how you have enjoyed the food in all our restaurants, specially the Viva Cafe italian, as well the activities and entertainment.
We also are happy about hearing that you enjoyed our rooms as well as what the beach and island offered to you.
We would love to welcome again with us in our resort. Don’t hesitate to contact us at guestfortuna@vivaresorts.com if we can assist you with anything. Our returning guests are the most valuable to us therefore it would really be a pleasure to see you again.

Kindest regards,

Guest Service
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We had stayed at all-inclusives before, and realize that they are not for everyone. However this Wyndham (a chain that we have used before) was a new low. Rooms were very dated, food was terrible in the cafeteria (we might call it a buffet if it was clean, and you didn't have to clear the table from the person before you) and the specialty restaurants promissed were a myth - we were guaranteed two but preassigned one (at a restaurant we didn't want to go to) and another that didn't need a reservation to start with. Hounded by time share salespeople. Forget it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rb0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Sometimes luck goes a long way. Last year, while at Fortuna, hurricane Irene forced all visitors to leave the island, thus cutting my vacation short. (See previous review.) This year, my new (and wonderful) girlfriend and I both knew we were flying right into danger as hurricane Sandy approached. The trip upon the spooky Beech 1900, the aircraft used by United, is another story...though the fears were unwarranted.
Generally speaking, everything that was expected, well, occurred. The power went out. We were moved from a great beachfront room to one hidden from both a view and danger. Plumbing became a luxury of the past. And for about two days life became somewhat uncomfortable. And we had a great time!
I know that sounds odd, and sometimes it has everything to due with whom you are traveling with, but the trip was an adventure I would relive again. Yes, things were not ideal for a quick five-day vacation, but overall the reasons the trip was a success outweigh the negatives that came with circumstances mostly beyond the control of the property. Here are the pluses and the minuses:
I go there for some great snorkeling, the laid-back attitude and simply to retreat from the day to day annoyances we experience so often. Once again, Fortuna is not a five-star resort, but a great respite...if you are looking for nothing beyond that. When we got there, Sandy was already evident, with the snorkeling impossible due to the rough seas...the water is usually so placid and wonderful. We watched with interest as everything which might be a target of the winds was removed. We moved our bags a long way from our original room and settled into the bunker of a room we were sent to. And as the storm eventually moved by, and with the airport flooded, we were held captive for an extra three days. Yes, this cost a few bucks, but since it affected neither of us in regard to work or serious obligations, those extra few days seemed like a great idea. Except for, well, the cold! If you are from Florida, which we are, and even though the weather improved (aside from the lingering wind), relaxing upon the beach or snorkeling in the chilly water was still a job for those from Canada. And still...we had a great time!
Here's the bottom line: We eventually got back to our original room, the power and plumbing returned and, by this point in time, we had become familiar with all of those who also rode through the storm. For those of you who have ever gone to camp, it had that feeling one has by the time that the tents must be taken down. I almost found it annoying when the airport opened and the new campers began to find their way onto the grounds. I miss some of the great people I met through the adventure.
Most importantly, the staff was absolutely awesome. Absolutely! Generators supplied a constant flow of food and beverages, entertainment never lost stride and even the evening shows were moved and altered in a fashion to allow everyone both laughs and activities. And you got to know all of the staff...all with interesting stories and all with a personal and professional way of making your experience the best as possible. They became your friends, and they would huddle up with you not due to a paycheck. Everyone pitched in and limitations became positives. It felt like home.
I apologize that this review says little about food or whatever else you might find important within your trip. But it does try to say a lot about attitude. And the attitude was wonderful throughout...issues were dealt with via experience and always with a smile that was true. Yes, they could have used some more generators! And no, I can't see that beyond that more could have been done to make the guests welcomed, even throughout times that were not optimum.
If you go to Fortuna, get to know the staff. Don't expect the best food ever made, but do expect a friendly atmosphere, a beautiful beach and a chance to really relax at your own pace. Enjoy the Internet or the TVs if you must, but also wander down the beach and catch one of the local pubs. Or catch one of the shows, that are entertaining even if they do not rival Broadway levels. Enjoy the beach! It is a casual result, and know that. I'm easy, and Fortuna makes being easy very easy. Who knows what hurricane will arrive in the Spring, but I'll be there to check out the clouds. They are not that dark if you are surrounded by friends.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the Abacoa division.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Twenty6to2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews