We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is a DUMP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The Place is a run down dump, poorly run and maintained. I understand the place was damage by the storm, there was a contractor there working on that. I'm talking about the way the staff is operating and maintaining the place. The staff gives new meaning to the word slow. They were all friendly, but could care less. It's like you are bothering them when you ask for something

The place is very dirty. There was something spilled in the elevator that was there for days. The room was dirty and who ever heard of no shampoo. The maintenance staff couldn't even fix a toilet seat never mind a door lock. We were locked out of our room for a day because of a broken door lock. First the front desk kept reprogramming the keys. She wasn't bright enough to figure out if it wasn't the keys there must be something wrong with the lock. A couple hours later security showed up. A half a day later when maintenance eventually showed up. That was amusing to watch, beating on an electronic lock. The door looked like the room had been broken into, or out of anyway.

I got the breakfast buffet as part of a package. They turned me away, eventually only one person at the front desk even knew hot to look it up and enter it in the computer. Way over priced for what you get. I guess the high price is to pay for the fresh ants on the food.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

At Pelican Bay you have the best of everything! Beautiful marina and bay views from your terrace, meticulously kept grounds with flowers, palm trees and 3 pools to choose from. Instead of one big hotel, Pelican Bay offers mid rise buildings scattered throughout the grounds painted in different shades of pastels. The staff was friendly, so accommodating and a pleasure to be around. Ellie was amazing! We dined at Sabor, an open air restaurant overlooking the marina several times- best chicken wings I've ever had! Each dish we ordered was spectacular. We walked to shopping, restaurants and bars. Our suite was comfortably chic with terra-cotta floors, cushiony furniture, wet bar with wooden cabinetry and oversized sliders. We walked to the beautiful beach just across the street and used the water taxi to check Taino beach out too. Our stay was too short-only 4
nights. Recommend Pelican Bay highly. We stayed the last week of May through Memorial Day

Room Tip: Ask for a room with both a view of marina and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lisaann3851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely disappointed. Very expensive rooms in relation to the poor quality -not the best cleaning quality. We were asked to pay 10$ to even sit on the chairs by the pool of the hotel we have paid good money for!!! Then although we had asked for specific rooms they still ignored our request (though they had promised) and got something completely different. 100% would not recommend. We had problem with fixing the umbrella by the pool and we kinda asked so many people to help and it took them 40 minutes!! Disappointing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank katetatani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

I was there for a short stay due to a business trip and this is my favorite hotel since it combines a pleasant stay with quitness required after a hectic day.

The staff wass pleasant and always available. The rooms are quite despite some maintenance was in progress.

The room was clean and decent for a short stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Basil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We stayed at Pelican Bay for seven nights in 2 side by side waterfront rooms. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and personable. Good breakfast buffet every morning. The food at "Sabor" was delicious. They will even clean and cook your fish that you catch!!. We had an amazing experience with H20 Bonefishing company. I recommend using them for any type of fishing adventures plus our outstanding guide, Paddy Wildgoose, who showed us all the best spots on the island. Check out the Bones bar with the infinity pool and swim up bar. Lots of shops and restaurant within a few mins walk, very relaxing atmosphere, good food.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank katia31984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 km away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
258 reviews
0.6 km away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 km away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.3 km away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
3.3 km away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Bay at Lucaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Bay at Lucaya

Address: Sea Horse Road at Port Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: €120 - €375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Bay at Lucaya 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Grand Bahama Island's most hospitable hotel, the Pelican Bay is a joyful mix of colorful Bahamian architecture and the finest guest service in the Caribbean. Unique waterside rooms and waterside state rooms enfold you in comfort, while offering special guest touches. Renowned standards of hospitality and attention to guest happiness assure you of a memorable stay in the Bahamas.Part of the Pelican Bay experience is located within steps of your room. In addition to our waterfront Sabor Restaurant and Bar, more than 30 restaurants, bars, shops, live entertainment, the Dolphin Experience, scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep-sea fishing trips are a short stroll away.Immediately across the street are two miles of white sand beach, a full service spa, four "Grand Slam" surface tennis courts and a casino. All this is the happy Pelican Bay experience, one you will remember with fondness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Bay at Lucaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Hotel Freeport
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Freeport
Pelican Bay Lucaya
Pelican Bay At Lucaya Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing