We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
49
3
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
3
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water closet beach service in room dining manor bar half bath service button memory foam jumby bay an ocean view king room commonwealth restaurant spf sunscreen help guests grand suite big casino marble bathroom resort view comfortable lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There just aren't enough good things to say about the Rosewood Baha Mar. My husband and I stayed for 9 days in July/August, were smitten at the get go and can't wait to return. Not only is the location spectacular, grounds and rooms immaculate and serene, views breathtaking, but the staff's positive and friendly attitude and attentiveness to guests is remarkable.

The hotel has a desk at the airport so we took care of the check-in right off the plane and then it was just a short drive to the resort. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted by the front desk staff, where Trekees, who had graciously assisted with a room request prior to our arrival, gave us a house cocktail, a tour of the property and answered any questions we had. Throughout our stay, Trekees checked in with us and went the extra mile. If Trekees wasn't around, other front desk staff Ana, Shaniqua and Soraya were charming and helpful. After the tour, we were handed off to one of our very attentive butlers, Nadian, who escorted us to our upgraded grand one bedroom ocean view suite on the 7th floor. Did I mention UPGRADED?! The moment we walked in the door, the view of the ocean and grounds was both soothing and stunning.

There are two pools and a hot tub on site and many more just next door at the Hyatt and SLS. As soon as one sits at the beach or pool, someone brings a tray with cold bottled water, a small cup of sunscreen and some aloe vera spray bottles. One day a staff member was passing around lens cleaners for sunglass smudges. An all-day dining menu is at your fingertips and a call button is placed on the umbrellas for quick service. Some didn’t always work but it was easy to get someone’s attention. At the time of our stay, the hotel had only been open two months and the glitches, however small, were still being ironed out. As to the beach and poolside menu, the chicken sandwich and fries were divine as was the conch salad. If one wants to try some less expensive food, there are a few food trucks and stands beachside at the Hyatt. Otherwise, beach and poolside, Ayisha and Marcquelle were two whose names I remember as being especially friendly and attentive. Yet, there wasn't one staff member who didn't take the time to assist in any way we needed.

The beach loungers were extremely comfortable and the Rosewood portion of the beach is sectioned off from the Hyatt and The SLS. All three hotels are part of the Baha Mar property but as others have said, the hotels are separate from each other. Rosewood guests are allowed to wander in all three hotels’ pool and beach area but not visa versa. So it's the best of both worlds with complete serenity at the Baha or a little more action just steps away. We were a tiny bit concerned that there would be too much activity and noise from the other hotels but we never felt it. The beach itself has powdery soft sand and the water close to shore is a dreamy shade of turquoise and crystal clear.

We spent many evenings before dinner in the Manor Bar off the lobby. As with all of the staff, the bartenders and servers couldn't have been more gracious and helpful. Although one gentleman, Henry, was never our server, he was always willing to engage with us, telling us stories about island life, making suggestions or just being friendly. If you like watermelon, try the Island Bliss cocktail. It was suggested on our first night and I sipped one each time we went back to the bar.

We ate dinner on-site several nights. The higher end restaurants we tried were Costa and Commonwealth in the Rosewood, Cleo in the SLS. We wanted to try Katsuya but didn't realize it was closed the two days we wanted to make reservations. The menu items were outstanding as was service at all three. Prices were high though and almost everything is a la carte. Advise to make reservations early because they book up. We ate at The Swimming Pig Pub off the Casino floor our first night and were nonplussed.

We took a few trips into town and tried some local places for lunch and dinner. Mama’s Bahamian Cooking had great steamed grouper among other dishes. We also went to Drifters in the Fish Fry area. I give it a 1 star out of 5. Stay away. The conch fritters were out of this world, but we were targeted with "add on pricing," attitude when we asked about menu items and even more attitude when they delivered the wrong order. This was the only place we visited on New Providence where we were treated with disdain. Yes - it was bad.

The casino connects all three Baha Mar hotels. It was clean and vast with a sports bar on one end, a high roller’s room on the other and everything else Vegas style in between. Access is right off the hotel lobby.

We realize the hotel had been open less than two months so we were unfazed by any slight bumps. Only one issue with a door not properly closing merited concern and it was promptly adjusted. Due to some inconvenience, Nadian, surprised us at the end of the day with a bottle of chilled champagne next to a full bath peppered with flower petals shaped like a heart.

The head of the butler staff, Mohammed, checked in with us the same day and took great care of us the entire stay. He is a consummate professional. We had several chats with him about his own history in the hospitality industry and his dedication to making the Rosewood an unparalleled experience for all guests.

One last item is in regards to room type and choices. We are very picky when it comes to beachfront property. We like to stay as close to the ocean as possible with straight on views of the ocean. This property is tricky since the hotel sits back from the ocean. None of the rooms are directly oceanfront, but if the floor is high enough - probably 6th or higher, you'll have a good ocean view. Some may be a little angled but still good. If this is important to you, I suggest getting clarity when booking.

Room Tip: Best Ocean views from higher floors.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RW_Baha_Mar, General Manager at Rosewood Baha Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Greetings LRMcG,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your detailed review of our resort. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and you and your husband had such a wonderful experience while staying with us. It is great that you thoroughly enjoyed every corner of our resort from your property tour with Trekees to your time spent enjoying the pool and beach and being taken care of by Ayisha and Marcquelle to hearing Henry's stories at Manor Bar. I will be sure to share your kind note with the entire team. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best,
Luigi Romaniello
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Traveled to Rosewood Bahamar for a long birthday weekend with my husband. This property had just opened so we were unsure what to expect. From the moment we arrived, our stay was flawless!
Check in was a breeze, we arrived very early and our room wasn't quite ready so we had a fabulous lunch at Costa, the Mexican restaurant poolside. The guacamole was amazing and mojito's refreshing.During lunch, our butler came to introduce himself.We actually had three amazing butlers, Tariel, Chrishnel and Laurentino.
They took care of everything for us. Dinner suggestions and reservations were made with ease. They were only a text away.
It was my birthday weekend, and almost every day, I walked into a surprise. A hot bath with rose pedals, balloons, caviar and more.
We spent most days in a cabana poolside where Lyndell took very good care of us.
The resort is elegant, sophisticated, quiet. Exactly the level of luxury Rosewood strives for.
Kudos to everyone at Rosewood Bahamar and thank you for making my birthday one to remember!

Room Tip: Book a 1 bedroom suite, great sunrise and sunset views
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAnn808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RW_Baha_Mar, General Manager at Rosewood Baha Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Greetings TravelAnn808,

Thank you for sharing the details of your birthday weekend at our resort. It is great that you had such a memorable birthday from your time spent at Costa, to your time spent lounging poolside in our cabanas and your daily surprises by our butlers Tariel, Chrishnel,and Laurentino. I am delighted you had such a wonderful visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,
Luigi Romaniello
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

First off my wife and I love the Rosewood brand.... so much we held our wedding at the Rosewood Mayakoba. I have found their intuitive approach to service refreshing and quite enjoyable over the years. So this review comes with some sadness and disappointment.

This story begin when we heard of the Rosewood opening in the Bahamas. We had been wanting to go to the Bahama but skipped it due to the reviews we had seen on other hotels. So with the hotel opening we booked.... We kept waiting for some reviews to show up on trip advisor but nothing ever came. ONE week before we were to leave we received a call from the Rosewood. They informed us that the hotel wasn’t finished and we would have to say at a different hotel. So they booked as at and older hotel that but was about 20 year past due for a remodel. I was presented with a certificate for the rooms we booked and I was reassured that once the resort open we would be able to book our stay. Four years later the hotel opens and we try to books our rooms..... ( I think you know where this is going)..... that is right......they don’t want to honor their certificate for our stay. While I recognize there have been significant challenges at the Baha Mar, I never fathomed that the Integrity of the Rosewood Brand would be brought into question. Otherwise I would have asked for my money back. This is all very disappointing to my wife and I as we love Rosewoods and desire to visit all of them. Furthermore, any of you that have stayed at the Rosewood recognize that they aren’t bashful about their prices. So with seems pretty petty really. Obviously, this is a money issue for the new owner and they don’t want to honor the prior bookings. I have spent over $100K with them and am dumfounded at this penny wise pound foolish approach. In a nutshell “buyer beware”.... its not the Rosewood you have come to know

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trail570331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RW_Baha_Mar, General Manager at Rosewood Baha Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Greetings Trail570331,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. It is unfortunate that our first correspondence is under these circumstances. We would like to apologize for the series of unfortunate incidents you encountered and would like an opportunity to speak with you in further detail. Feel free to reach out to our team via carolina.insignares@rosewoodhotels.com . We look forward to connecting with you.

Best,
Luigi Romaniello
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Staying at a brand new resort, especially one the size of the Baha Mar, can be quite dubious and we experienced that first hand a few years ago at a brand new resort in Mexico. Not so at the Baha Mar Rosewood. From the moment we stepped out of our taxi to the moment we stepped back in the taxi for our departure, we were treated to excellent service. My husband and I had read the negative reviews and were prepared for poor service and/or disorganization. Again, that was not our experience. In fact, we kept saying how we really couldn't come up with a negative from the whole trip.

The one thing that stood out above all else was the genuine friendliness of EVERY staff member we met.They were all incredibly nice and not just because they were wanting tips. We found the Bahamian people to be very kind people across the board, whether we were on the property or off the property. When we passed by any of the staff, they always spoke a word of greeting.

The property is beautiful and expansive, plenty to do whether you want a flurry of activity or to be low-key. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable, and our room was on on the 11th floor with a great ocean view. Reviewers have posted that there is not enough storage/drawer space. I always have a tendency to overpack and I didn't have any problem with the drawer/closet space. The private Rosewood beach is wonderful. Just looking down the beach at the crowded Grand Hyatt/SLS beach confirms that. The memory foam cushions on the chairs and the electronic service button was a very nice touch. Again, great beach staff-attentive and delivered quick service. Fitness Center was very well equipped, albeit a bit hard to find the first day. The Sports Book was a great place to watch the opening day of college football! Go Dawgs :)

We only had one dinner on property and that was at the Swimming Pig Pub. It was pretty good. We did eat breakfast and lunch every day on property and no complaints there either. Drink prices are high, which is a given being that you are at a resort. So its kind of hard to complain if you do your homework and know that going in.

Word of advice for the ladies: the casino "mall" area is quite chilly. Bring a jacket!

One constructive criticism: a printed map at check in would be a plus and would save some early frustration. The place is huge and the only map is an interactive map in the casino. A printed nightly entertainment schedule would be a great thing too.

Overall, a wonderful stay. About the same fight time to Miami for us, so we may have found a new place for a quick getaway!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank cclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RW_Baha_Mar, General Manager at Rosewood Baha Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Greetings cclis,

Thank you for taking a moment to share such a kind review of our resort. I am delighted that you and your husband had such a wonderful experience while staying with us. At Rosewood Baha Mar we pride ourselves in having some of the friendliest and professional team and it is great that you got to experience this for yourselves. We appreciate all constructive criticism and will make sure to share your map suggestion with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best,
Luigi Romaniello
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We had an absolutely amazing stay. The grounds are beautiful and pristinely maintained. The butler service is executed perfectly... thank you Anisca, Ricarra and Stephen ...you really made our anniversary special!!! if you like a service minded getaway this is the place for you!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hockster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RW_Baha_Mar, General Manager at Rosewood Baha Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Greetings Hockster4,

Thank you for taking a moment to share the details of your recent visit to our resort. Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing our resort to celebrate such a special occasion. I am thrilled that this was such a memorable vacation for you and you were able to experience firsthand our Rosewood service. I will be sure to share your kind note with Anisca, Ricarra and Stephen. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best,
Luigi Romaniello
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews