We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,820)
Filter reviews
6,820 results
Traveller rating
1,764
2,244
1,401
754
657
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,764
2,244
1,401
754
657
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market place black angus level guests tapas bar the mexican restaurant o grille level upgrade all inclusive plan level service all inclusive package lobby bar beautiful beach daiquiri shack cable beach aqua restaurant day pass beach area
Filter
Updating list...
1,297 - 1,302 of 6,820 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

My husband and I recently got back from an anniversary trip to the Bahamas where we stayed at the Melia Nassau. I was shocked at some of the negative reviews when booking this hotel but knew that people were going to have mixed opinions so we decided to check it out for ourselves. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the door where the staff took our bags and showed us to the check in line. They always have someone guarding the bags to ensure no one takes the wrong bag. The front desk staff were hands down amazing! They were very friendly and knowledgeable. (note: if you book on Expedia and receive and "resort credit", make sure you ask for it as soon as you check in - it is a coupon book to use throughout the hotel and they didn't give it to us until we asked). We ended up upgrading to an ocean view room which was worth it. We tried to upgrade to "the level" but they were sold out. If you have a chance to upgrade to the level, do it! You get access to a private lounge, beach and a variety of amenities. The hotel room was newly renovated with modern furniture and an amazing view of the ocean. The bathroom was slightly outdated, there were some breakage on tiles and paint chips but this did not bother us. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly, always saying hi as you passed and smiling (with the exception of the staff at the buffet). There are 5 restaurants; Cilantro, Nikkei, Esta Vida, Aqua (which are included in the all inclusive package) and Black Angus Steakhouse - not the American restaurant chain. This is not included and is slightly pricey. There is a dress code for these so if you plan on attending, make sure you bring a pair of nice clothes. The service and food at Cilantro and Nikkei were amazing! I would recommend going to these as much as possible and make your reservations as soon as you check in as they fill up pretty fast. They also have a buffet which offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. There wasn't a lot of variety but we always found something to eat. The service/staff at the buffet is terrible, this is the only downfall to this hotel. The staff was rude and acted as if they had more important things to do. there were multiple days that we stood around while countless employees walked by us without even acknowledging us. There was one day we were sat for dinner and had no service at all. We mentioned it to the floor manager and he didn't really acknowledge our concern. We paid a lot of money to stay at this hotel and felt very unwelcome when eating at the buffet. That is why i suggest making reservations for dinner at the restaurants. The severs at the restaurants are very friendly and personable. Now onto the beach - the BEST part of the trip!!! The beach is gorgeous and there are plenty of activities to do from snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boarding etc... There are some beach vendors that will walk up and down the beach but they are not pushy at all, you simply say no and they keep moving. One downfall is that there is not enough beach chairs. We noticed that people will go out early in the morning and put towels/books/sunblock on chairs and save them for when they are ready for the beach. There were sometimes where people would not show up for half the day while other people are searching for a chair. Its very frustrating that they allow people to save chairs like that. There was one day where the staff did go out and remove belongings on chair that were left unattended but I think it is difficult for them to monitor all the chairs. If you are searching for a chair and see a group of them unoccupied, go ask the staff at the pool hut and let them clear the chairs. The hotel had activities and shows every night which made the evenings a great experience. Bahamian night was my favorite! Overall, it was a great trip and the stay was nice. We were comfortable relaxed the entire time. If you are looking for an nice stay, I would definitely try the Melia.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travel_love1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Melia Aug 7-11. Been reading reviews all along and was delightfully surprised to find the Melia for us did not reflect back as some of the bad reviews would have you think. We stayed as level guests on the 8 th floor. The room was clean, cleaned daily, and sufficiently stocked. Over the course of our stay we found it necessary to keep the blinds closed when we were not in the room because it would get too hot. We learned that thermostats are fixed at 70 degrees and had we known earlier would have requested maintenance be lower as we had sunrise off our balcony and sunset along the hall outside our room. My only gripe from 5 stars really was this point. If your going to auto stick the thermostat at least put it at 68 it is the tropics after all. It was never really cold but bearable. We were lucky, we had arrived in the morning about 9 am and were prepared to park the bags with the bellman and change in the bathroom to enjoy the facilities instead we were blown away to be able to check in on arrival, if you travel you know this doesn't happen often, it was a treat! Now because we were early we needed some things extra in our room because we were 3 occupants. We went to the level concierge and they were able to straighten out our issues pretty quick. And when I say issues. We needed extra towels, an extra robe, more soft drinks in our fridge. We got ourselves together and went down the beach. When we came back all 2 of 3 requests had been taken care of. We are New Yorkers, living here can be at a frenetic pace remember when you arrive in the islands patience, kindness and politeness count. I have a tendency to call people by name if I can so I will tell you that Diello, level concierge was awesome, he untangled a tangled dinner reservation that we had for the hibachi grill Nekki, other notables were Cedric, concierge at the level beach took excellent care of us with a bucket of cold waters, remembered our cocktails, and always with a smile and Lamont our waiter when we had our birthday girl dinner at the Black Angus steakhouse helped make it extra special for us. I'll attach a pic so you can see he went above and beyond. On a separate note about the Black Angus all I can say is WOW. Food was excellent out compliments to the chef Steaks were awesome, delish, and cooked to taste!!

In conclusion, dining. There is always something you can find to eat, we dined at the buffet for breakfast and lunch most days. True you might consider not waiting until just before if closes to have lunch as the selections are on the decline, same for breakfast if you are a late riser in paradise you may not be happy with what's left, at most all we ever had to do was wait 5 or 6 mins to be seated at either Buffett, the beach is incredible, and the water has made me long to return probably the clearest I have seen, incredible really. The service team did their very best. We used the free shuttle to the Bahamar casino and had a great time there also! We like nice things, but are not high maintenance, we treat people how we want to be treated, and we really enjoyed our stay at the Melia. Thanks for a great sweet 16

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank lildiavolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceMngr, Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hello lildiavolo,

Thank you for choosing Melia Nassau Beach All Inclusive to celebrate your Sweet 16! We are overjoyed to read that you had a great vacation with us, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kenisha
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Hotel was a little outdated. You had claim your beach chairs very early in the morning in order to sit by the ocean. Pool was a little cloudy at times but nice. Staff was very nice with the exception of asking to get coffee "to go" at the buffet at night. Maybe coffee pots should be up and running all day for "to go." Drinks were great and bartenders worked very hard always smiling.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bunnyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceMngr, Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hello bunnyres,

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate that you have shared your thoughts of your experience with us. Your feedback is extremely important to us as we do appreciate both positive and not so positive reviews. Please be assured that we will continue our efforts to improve the property in the near future. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,
Kenisha
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The room was dirty, beds were quite uncomfortable (roll to the middle and quite small), food was okay, booking at restaurants is challenging, some staff were nice, but the beach is the best feature of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't look behind the bed to plug in your phone.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
3  Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PabloCogolludo, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dearest Rachael,

Your review is helpful and thank you for sharing. We appreciate feedback from all of our guests, as this presents to us great opportunities to improve based on our guests’ actual experience. However, we are sorry that there were numerous areas needing special attention that were unacceptable. We will address these issues accordingly.

Warm regards,

Pablo Cogolludo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We found our stay to be better then we expected. Can't say enough about staff, services, and food. Everyone made us feel well taken care of. The beach was great. Wish that there were more chairs. I think it would have helped with all the people saving spots. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank kevinmL2346FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceMngr, Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello kevinmL2346FB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay at Melia Nassau Beach All-Inclusive. We are overjoyed to read that you had the best vacation ever, you loved our associates, food and beach. Thank you for your suggestion, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Kenisha
Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews