We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,014)
Filter reviews
7,014 results
Traveller rating
1,828
2,304
1,430
775
677
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,828
2,304
1,430
775
677
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market place black angus level guests tapas bar the mexican restaurant o grille level upgrade level service all inclusive plan all inclusive package adult pool beautiful beach lobby bar daiquiri shack aqua restaurant cable beach beach area
Filter
Updating list...
3,965 - 3,970 of 7,014 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2015

We enjoyed our experience at the hotel. First the negative: The Check-in process was not as pleasant. The ladies behind the desk were not very friendly. I stood in line for a while as a few gathered behind the desk without as much as an acknowledgement. They finally acted once a lady behind me raised a complaint.

The Positive: The rooms were clean and well appointed. We chose the Premium Ocean View room and were pleased we did. Our view was EXCELLENT. You should not miss the breakfast in this hotel. The Omelet station is likely the best I have seen anywhere. Before our arrival, we had also booked a private dinner on the beach via their Romance package. IT WAS THE BEST.

The restaurants are also good, but make sure to book for dinner as soon as you arrive because they fill up. Our favorite was Cilantro.

Our entire stay was great and the staff was great and friendly. The location of the hotel is away from the busy part of town. I hear the Prime Minister lives a block from there so security was stellar.

Room tip: Book the Ocean View
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VezNkomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

Went here with friends. They include watersports such as Aqua cycle and snorkelling. The beaches were beautiful. The staff very friendly. The food was good.

The resort isn't located far from downtown and would typically cost around $5 -$7 to get downtown with a taxi.

The casino near the resort is closed, but you can always go to Atlantis.

We had a great time here and would recommend returning here for anyone.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Departore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015 via mobile

I was a bit worried after reading some negative reviews from TripAdvisor but luckily, things went well for us. Small details did bother us like pool bar closures or painting going on but being at that beautiful beach made up for it. I recommend all inclusive! We went for a family vaca and we were a big party so it was hard for staff to accommodate us at the buffet and the restaurants. Luckily, Luis the restauranteur, Chef Juan, Chef Arturo, Chef Carlos and Enrique went above and beyond to solve or correct any issues we had. They were amazing and made our experience nice! The food is so so but its a buffet so what do you expect. The restaurants available for reservations are good. I loved Cilantro! Best fish tacos. Our lifeguard, Ashanti was awesome. She went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and I appreciate her for that. Those people truly made the experience a pleasant one. Thank you! The local vendors on the beach are great too. Haggle with them. Sassy Andrea for jewelry, John the "Duke" for tees or key chains but will bring you anything you ask for. Richard "Roxy" with the conch shells took us on a tour of the island. Very nice. Just be wary about handing any cash upfront. It was truly amazing and I would recommend this place to anyone. The beach alone, is reason enough with ideal weather of course, but those standouts made it a great experience.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank erika_viel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

We arrived to the melia with a warm welcome and the interior of the jotel was impressive. This place is huge. We requested a king bed and got an upgrade upon arrival which was great! The room was big, bed was really comfortable, great views of the pool (we were in a deluxe pool view) and the room has everything you'll need (hair dryer, fridge, snacks, great wifi access-even works great on the beach!)

The food at the buffets were pretty decent. There's a lot of variety so you can always find something you'll like. The service at the buffets was decent but be prepared for a slower service...seating at the buffet was very slow but once you were seated and if you top the waitstaff, they remember what you like and treat you really well. I think more people need to remember and make the effort to leave tips here and things would be better for everyone.

The a la carte restaurants were better than the buffet. The beat a la cartes we have been to in the Caribbean (we've been to Cuba, Dominican and Mexico before). The Mexican we went to once and chose to take a miss the second time (not much on offer for main courses, more like Mexican tapas). The Asian was awesome especially the hibachi table (where they cook in front of you, the beef was spectacular!). The Italian was good just a little heavy on the salt overall in most restaurants, but this is pretty much the way wherever you go for an all inclusive.

The beach here is gorgeous and the water is beautifully clear and turquoise. Was a bit windy when we were here but nonetheless beautiful.

Things to improve on...the air in the room blows right on your head which wasn't ideal. The staff seem slightly disorganised and not entirely motivated to move quickly and provide a high level of service (but more tipping of waitstaff would help fix that!). The casino was closed in February which we didn't realize (they should def make this more obvious). They also started to do renovations during our stay so they closed the swim up bar and main pool, partitioning off a lot of the main pool area which was a bit of a downer. We totally get that they need to upkeep but it was out of commission (a makeshift bar in its place) for 4 days in a row.

Generally you will get anything you need if you ask for it but the attention to detail wasn't really there entirely. For instance towels and water in the gym was hit or miss, your fridge may or may not be stocked upon arrival (but they will gladly right this wrong upon request).

This place has amazing potential. With a strong management team pushing a higher level of service and a better attention to detail this place really could be great!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I are mid 30s, no kids, frequent travelers down from NYC. Have been to Bahamas 10-12x. Generally always stay at The Cove Atlantis. But have been tiring of Atlantis- they've gotten lazy (for the price) and it shows.

Decided to save a few bucks and try Melia. What a relief. No crowds, no $5k weekend bill. Simply a pretty resort on beautiful beach for reasonable price with NICE people. Did the all-inclusive. Food isn't great, but it's fine, and we ate off property for most dinners/ loved the fish fry and hanging with locals.

I think they could do a better job for an "all-inclusive" in stocking room fridge and having a room service option. But just small complaints. We had the "Level" option so there was a separate bar and lounge area to grab this stuff from. But why not stock the room?

The staff and service were great. We really enjoyed the evenings as they had a DJ with good music and a young crowd. Lots of dancing, a nice place to come back to for a few cocktails and some scene after dinner.

Overall, it just feels much more Bahamian and much "easier" than the overproduced, overhyped, overpriced, overrun zoo the Atlantis has become. And at 1/3rd the price it's perfect for those looking for a simple long weekend getaway with some sun and beach and no massive crowds. You are a 5 minute cab from Atlantis. Stay here go there for an evening if you want.

Melia is not 5 star but neither are you paying that. It is terrific value at its price point. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
13  Thank AlanB_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperienceMngr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Hi AlanB_Usa!

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your recent experience at Melia Nassau Beach. It always gives me such a great feeling when I read about how much fun our past guests have had during their stay. Our entire team extends our sincerest gratitude to you and your family for giving us this opportunity to serve you this time around as we know that you could have stayed anywhere else on the island.

I am happy to inform you that as of December 22, 2015, room service will be an added feature in our al-inclusive. We appreciate your feedback with regards to the stocking of our mini bars and other areas of improvement. I will certainly address this with the team in our next meeting. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our nightly entertainment, that you got an opportunity to hang with the locals and that you felt that you got value out of your stay.

It is our hope that this experience will bring you back to us in the future. We would love another opportunity to make your dreams a reality.

Kind regards,
Jacob LeBlanc
Director of Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews